We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NZ trip”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fair value hotel for the price.
Twenty minute walk to the Marina/shops
Room was adequate for two people without falling over each other.
En suite with toiletries were supplied.
On site parking was really useful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edawnedsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're pleased it suited you and you felt it was value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    279
    216
    58
    38
See reviews for
94
203
196
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I wanted somewhere reasonably priced in the city that did not charge for parking (which can be quite hard to find) The kiwi international was the one we chose. The rooms were ok, but it looked like the bathrooms, has been "added on", which made the room smaller, but for the price this was OK. The location at the top of Queen Street was nice & central. The staff were friendly & helpful, and refund they cost of one nights accomodation as we had been unable to get to auckland because of bad weather. This was VERY good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks for your positive review. The staff especially appreciate recognition as you have done. Hopefully we'll see you again on future visits to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked a double ensuite room for 1 night, $99. I really enjoyed my stay and found the room super comfortable and spacious. Most importantly, it was really clean which is so important for me! Only negatives would be the shower temperature was scalding hot unless you had it down quite far over to the cold side, decreasing the pressure a little bit. But it was still a really nice shower. Also, they lock the doors after 11 and we had to wait for someone to come up the stairs and let us back into the hotel when we got back from our concert. Not a long wait but a little bit inconvenient. Overall, I thought it was a great place to stay. Very central and so perfect that the airport bus stops literally right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again on your next Auckland trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Kiwi International Hotel at Auckland. 1 Economy Room, Shared Bathroom (Free Highspeed Internet, Free Parking). We were so worried that we might need fight for parking spaces at the hotel. Actually during our stay in this school holiday in July, we never struggled to find a parking lot. It is very close to auckland art museum, and the harbor. Although the facilities are basic and simple, everything is well maintained and I think it is quite clean. Good place value for money. When the windows closed, you can not hear any noise from the street. You might be annoyed for the noise made by your next door neighbor, especially when they were in a rush to check out in the early mornings.... Internet connection was great most of the time, occasionally u can not log on.. But nothing major. I heard one of the reception can speak very good Japanese with japanese customers. Amazing. Btw, the mattress is sort of hard, so we had no problems at all for sleeping.. We hate those soft mattresses,. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. It seems everything worked well for you. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Auckland visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Not the best place I've stayed and found it particularly small with a toddler and our baggage. The bed seemed comfortable enough but the shower was horrible. I couldn't find a water temperature that was bearable. It was either literally boiling water or too cold. The lower I tried to adjust the temperature the weaker the pressure became. The hotel was in a great spot and easy to walk to cafes etc. Unfortunately I most likely won't return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashdan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for you review. We'll check out the shower in that room as generally our pressures and adjustments are fine with no complaints. Guests should always seek assistance with reception if they have a problem. We're always ready to help but we' re not mind readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I Stayed here in may for 5 days. I was in a basic single with shared facilities. You get for what you pay for here. its basic but great for the budget traveller. I arrived late on a friday night and they still had room for my car. Free parking is a bonus in auckland city centre. Didnt have any meals here but looked like basic pub grub. overall i was satified

Room Tip: see if you can get a room facing away from queen st. might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admin_bandidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're pleased the room suited you especially for a 5 day stay. This guest stayed in one of our Economy Rooms. Most however are standard ensuites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good for the price. Clean, tidy and excellent location. This is not a high end hotel and this is why you don't pay a high end price.
We booked last minute over the phone. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The first room we were provided with had the wrong bedding configuration for what we had booked however this was quickly corrected and we were issued with a new room.
Car parking is limited however it mentions this on their website.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing