We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #35 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Kiwi International Hotel at Auckland. 1 Economy Room, Shared Bathroom (Free Highspeed Internet, Free Parking). We were so worried that we might need fight for parking spaces at the hotel. Actually during our stay in this school holiday in July, we never struggled to find a parking lot. It is very close to auckland art museum, and the harbor. Although the facilities are basic and simple, everything is well maintained and I think it is quite clean. Good place value for money. When the windows closed, you can not hear any noise from the street. You might be annoyed for the noise made by your next door neighbor, especially when they were in a rush to check out in the early mornings.... Internet connection was great most of the time, occasionally u can not log on.. But nothing major. I heard one of the reception can speak very good Japanese with japanese customers. Amazing. Btw, the mattress is sort of hard, so we had no problems at all for sleeping.. We hate those soft mattresses,. :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. It seems everything worked well for you. We look forward to hosting you again on your next Auckland visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 725 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Not the best place I've stayed and found it particularly small with a toddler and our baggage. The bed seemed comfortable enough but the shower was horrible. I couldn't find a water temperature that was bearable. It was either literally boiling water or too cold. The lower I tried to adjust the temperature the weaker the pressure became. The hotel was in a great spot and easy to walk to cafes etc. Unfortunately I most likely won't return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashdan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks for you review. We'll check out the shower in that room as generally our pressures and adjustments are fine with no complaints. Guests should always seek assistance with reception if they have a problem. We're always ready to help but we' re not mind readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I Stayed here in may for 5 days. I was in a basic single with shared facilities. You get for what you pay for here. its basic but great for the budget traveller. I arrived late on a friday night and they still had room for my car. Free parking is a bonus in auckland city centre. Didnt have any meals here but looked like basic pub grub. overall i was satified

Room Tip: see if you can get a room facing away from queen st. might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admin_bandidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thanks for your review. We're pleased the room suited you especially for a 5 day stay. This guest stayed in one of our Economy Rooms. Most however are standard ensuites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Very good for the price. Clean, tidy and excellent location. This is not a high end hotel and this is why you don't pay a high end price.
We booked last minute over the phone. Staff were friendly and helpful.
The first room we were provided with had the wrong bedding configuration for what we had booked however this was quickly corrected and we were issued with a new room.
Car parking is limited however it mentions this on their website.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hamiltonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The first thing to be careful about is that parking here is very limited! We were told that we would have free parking here but when we arrived we were greeted by the sign 'Car park full', which sent us into a panic! I went up to the front desk and he said we should park in a local car park, which I think I remember costing $18. I could clearly see some space left in the car park so I asked if we could park there, he eventually caved and let us. Later on we saw many more cars have squeezed their way in too, so it is worth asking even if it says it is full.

This place has a great location, you are right in the centre of town. The hotel also has a lift to get to higher floors.

The room itself didn't impress me very much. The water pressure in the shower was terrible and the walls were extremely thin. I could hear everything through them. They provide you with nothing, not even shampoo or shower gel bottles! The internet is ok.

Overall - great location and price, but not the best room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarbleMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thanks for your review. Not entirely accurate. Rooms are provided with soap, shampoo, tea & coffee and wifi internet - all free of course. Parking is also free, as is baggage storage and credit card payment (most hotels charge extra for this now). Even SIM cards for NZ mobiles are free. So - all round great value and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

I must say that althought hotel wasn't really to good standard but certainly staff were well trained, friendly & helpful.
Hotel can be enjoyed by everyone. Food was great. Resealably clean room. Srounded by various resturents, bar, takeaways.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Max-anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thanks for your generally positive review. We are probably the best standard hotel in our market segment backed by the consistent TripAdvisor No. 1 placing in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed one night at the Kiwi International.
It was 7degC overnight in Auckland, and the heater was broken. When asking for a heater in the middle of the night, the front desk said there was little they could do. Then after insisting they came with a tiny electric heater and started to argue that the curtains should be closed better to keep the heat as if it was my fault that the room was icy.
This hotel is like a campground. I could have slept outside it would have been the same. Never again.

Room Tip: Dont wake up the guy in the lobby at night. He gets grumpy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racing_egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

"A night from hell" Yes - it certainly was for our staff member who was fearful for his safety having been confronted by this ultra aggressive guest that screamed and shouted at other guest also. This individual has been trespassed from our property and is fortunate not to have spent the remainder of his night in a police cell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#55 of 65 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 65 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#33 of 65 in Auckland Central
229 reviews
1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $46 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Auckland's Queen Street, we offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city. With free amenities such as wi-fi, luggage storage and 24/7 reception our hotel is ideal for both individual travelers and groups seeking location and value for money. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance and we are on the main bus stop routes for the Auckland City Link and Airport Skybus. With an onsite bar & restaurant and handy travel and information desk, the Kiwi International Hotel is perfect for the budget conscious traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing