We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a room of four”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a room of four”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

the hotel is situated conveniently, just off the bus station and easy to find. Staff handled request in a nice manner. The upside is we were given free internet access (though with limits) and a room with a clear view of the sky tower; the downside is a small room (for four people) with only one window. All in all, it's worth a short stay given the price range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LingLing_LOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thanks for your review. Good that you enjoyed the location and value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    277
    213
    56
    35
See reviews for
93
200
194
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at the Kiwi International for 4 days in early March 2014. The first impression is that the area is quite downmarket, the entrance is down a dimly lit side road at the back of an apartment block, the reception staff aren't particularly helpful, the (free) wi-fi is unreliable, and the communal areas are very dated. However it is very central, convenient for the bus station, directly on lots of bus routes to loads of other places in the city, and amazingly cheap for the location. The room itself was small and the walls were thin - I guess this is expected from a budget hotel - but it was clean, comfortable and I didn't feel unsafe.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for your review. Pleased to see you appreciated the location and great value. The area is not really down market - Auckland's best 5 star hotel is 1 minute round the corner and the real estate values are among the highest in NZ!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at the Kiwi International for 11 days in early Feb 2014 and then one night before flying out of NZ at the end of March 2014.

I was in Auckland to do some sightseeing and also to go to the NZ v India Test match at Eden Park. The Kiwi was absolutely spot on for enabling me to do this. The hotel is right at the top of Queen Street so it's a very pleasant downhill walk to Britomart to get the train to Eden Park (Kingsland) or you can walk across the bridge to Grafton station instead. Coming back up the hill can be hard work but that's what the red bus is for (just 50 cents per trip). K Road is close by as well as the huge Auckland Domain park so plenty of sights and sounds on the doorstep.

Even though the Kiwi is on Queen Street, it's set far enough back from the main road so you aren't really aware on any traffic noise. In fact, I was amazed at how well I slept. I treated myself to an Ensuite Double room and it was definitely worth paying a bit extra. Very clean and plenty of room to spread out and it was nice to have the ensuite shower facilities.

When I checked out and mentioned I'd need to stay again at the end of my trip, the bloke on the desk gave me a 10% off card which I used when I came back. That second time I just went for the Economy Single as it was only for one night. Again, the room was comfortable and clean but obviously the shower and bathroom facilities are shared when it comes to the Economy room. There's enough choice at the Kiwi to find a room that suits but my advice would be to invest in the Ensuite if you're staying for a decent length of time. Go for the Economy if it's just a night here or a night there.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Auckland thanks to the quality of my stay in the Kiwi. I really feel it offers the best value for accommodation in central Auckland. Next time I'm there I'll definitely be staying at the Kiwi!

Cheers guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pricecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed it and pleased to see you took advantage of our returners 10% discount offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Kiwi International served as a great place to lay my head after two days of seeing the Auckland sights. It's nothing special and looks a little tired, but it's cheap, cheerful and most importantly clean! Take your earplugs as noise travels easily within the building and from outside. A great place to stay if you're on a budget and literally just need a place to sleep and shower. There are also some great Korean restaurants on this stretch of Queen Street. Would visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The clue is in the title.
I have stayed in army accommodation more salubrious than this hotel.
Car parking was a nightmare.
I am required by Trip Advisor to use a minimum of 200 characters for my review.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
A disappointing review, at the budget end of the hotel guests expectations in relation to what they are spending can vary widely. Yes - parking right in the centre of any large city is a nightmare. Consequently most of our guests are grateful to be able to park at their central city accommodation - but to get if free as well is almost unheard of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

For a spotless clean hotel at budget prices with lovely, helpful, friendly and charming staff, I cannot recommend the Kiwi International Hotel highly enough. The hotel offers ever level of accommodation from single economy rooms to full en-suite with TV and all the works. The bar and restaurant are affordable and offer good value for money. The location is central to Auckland and you can walk to most popular destinations within 15 to 20 minutes from the hotel including the Sky Tower, Viaduct, shops, museums and galleries.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suephilbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We're pleased it suited your purposes and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our Girls Football Team stayed at Kiwi International while attending ACFC U17 Tournament.
A Fantastic place to stay with a group! Staff very accommodating. Meals really nice and plenty to keep everyone satisfied! The packed lunches were made fresh each morning and ready to be picked up as we finished breakfast - even included home baking! While it is an older Building, The rooms were warm and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms Modern and serviced daily. Will happily book in again next year! Many Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 963Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for your great review. We're glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing