We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kiwi International Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$274
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abaco On Jervois(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$219
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$247
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$154
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
VR Auckland City(Auckland Central)
$123
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$188
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (747)
Filter reviews
747 results
Traveler rating
87
302
246
68
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
302
246
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomk roadtravel deskupper queen streetbasic hotelairport busplace to sleeprooms are smallwithin walking distancesky towertea and coffeeshort stayfirst stoppleasant staynew zealandconvenient locationcity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 747 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. The room was compact, but had everything you needed except hanging space. The bathroom was one of the nicest that we had during our month long stay in New Zealand. After some near scrapes, we parked our car in the free under hotel parking area and walked to everything we wanted to see or do, including the ferry to Devonport. Front desk staff were especially helpful. There was also an informative travel concierge. Having an elevator was a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for the great review. It's always gratifying to have such positive comments from travelers who have posted so many reviews during their travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff here are not particularly helpful. No basic information given upon arrival such as a local map - just cursory directions to room. We asked one of the reception girls if there was wifi in the rooms and she just replied "yes". We get to the room and find there's a password. We call reception to ask for it and were told we had to go back downstairs to get the password. She could have given it to us while we were down there. That's the kind of attitude the staff have. The wifi signal also drops every minute or so which makes doing anything other than sending emails very difficult.

On the plus side, the rooms are a good size though smell a bit funny, and the bathrooms are ok. Not too noisy and the location is good, being just a 5-10 minute walk from the bars and restaurants around the central district. The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant is a rip-off at $20. Much better off going to one of the nearby cafes where you can eat for half that price. A budget hotel charging $20 for breakfast doesn't make much sense to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owl_428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for the review. It's unfortunate that the reviewer didn't have a good experience with our reception staff as they usually get very positive comments from reviewers. The reviewer also quotes our breakfast at $20 as a ripoff. A somewhat misleading comment given that our breakfast items start at $12 with the highest priced item being $20 which is a massive cooked & continental combination that is actually really good value. In fairness the reviewer did highlight a number of positive aspects which undoubtedly contribute to our No. 1 TripAdvisor ranking in the "Best Value" category for Central Auckland Hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

At first it wasn't the best start! But after asking to be moved to another room they quickly accommodated me. The first room was on the top floor, has not undergone any renovations, at that time, but the the first and second floor were remodelled. My first room kinda smelled a bit like urine, but please understand it was a very old room. Once they moved me to the new one it was fantastic! I chose a private room complete with own wash/bathroom and tv. I like my privacy :-) it was close enough to all I needed, I would be out by 9am and crawling through the doors of the Hostel by 9pm! Fantastic walk abouts out there! The staff was friendly, the chef was awesome and OMG those delish kiwi nachos always finished off my nights there. They have internet/pc you can also use. I would definitely stay at the Kiwi Nternational Hostel again. Hope to go back to NZ for a third time!

Room Tip: My trip was actually in February of 2010 so hard to say considering changes may have been done since.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ser07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Wow - that's nearly 4 years ago. We're a different place now. We are no longer a hostel but a full service hotel although at the budget end of the market and... we're rated No.1 on TripAdvisor's "Best Value" category for Auckland Central Hotels. So no more hostel but a range of great value private hotel rooms. Thanks for your review. We would look forward to hosting you again on your next NZ trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I were looking for a temporary place to stay and after traveling to various backpackers and hostels, we found that this hotel had the greatest value for its money's worth. We were specifically looking for a place with minimal noise and we found that the location and the general structure of the interior made the noise level more than tolerable. The room was spacious, compared to similar accommodation around the same price level.

We were also surprised that there was a boiling water kettle, tea, coffee, a sink and a closet to hang clothes. We were not expecting so much for such a reasonable price. Happy with the room, we decided to book another night and were given a discount by the receptionist Sophie. She was very helpful and friendly. Overall, we were very happy and would definitely recommend Kiwi International Hotel to any travelers on a budget as we were in the cheapest double room available. As a result, we cannot comment on the more expensive options.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Na_ee778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thank you for your positive review and recommendation. It's great that it suited you and that you both found it excellent value. These guests stayed in our double economy room and as they said did not comment on our regular ensuite rooms. Hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed at the Kiwi International in October 2013 in a family ensuite room - very suitable for 3 adults - room was very clean and maintained daily - noise level OK and kept window open all night - handy location to walk to downtown - easy ride on airport bus to hotel - wifi worked well - desk service very good - common bar and restaurant dated - lots of restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindaLLondon_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thanks for your review. We pleased it suited your party of three and that overall you had a good experience. Thanks also for mentioning the reception service - the staff always appreciate that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews