We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great option in Auckland CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great option in Auckland CBD”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a backpacker hotel with an excellent location for the price you pay. Added bonus is free parking. Very friendly check-in staff. Breakfast selection not the best but hey - its a backpacker and you survive well enough. Some finesse regarding room bathroom cleaning could be good (but was very minor).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for the good comments re the hotel. To clarify for other readers, we are not a backpackers but a full service budget hotel that does appeal to some backpackers wanting a higher quality accommodation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    279
    216
    58
    38
See reviews for
94
203
196
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were looking for budget accommodations in Auckland and this was a good choice. We had a small dorm-like room on the 3rd floor with two twin beds and a private bathroom. It was a little stuffy - we had to leave the windows open, but that was ok. The elevator always worked but gave us a little scare as it jerked to a stop every time... but at least there was one!

We were very happy to have free parking and the hotel was in a convenient location - easy walk to K road and a reasonable walk to Viaduct Harbor. We were also able to checkin early, which was much appreciated after arriving on an overnight red eye flight. We booked our next accommodation and tour at the travel desk before leaving. We did not have free internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and the positive comments re value and location. Internet is free when you book directly with us. The 2 'thin' beds are King Singles - the largest single bed available before going to a double.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Wondered what I was getting into when I walked in. Looked and felt like a hostel

However looks can be deceiving

Room was small but spotlessly clean. Bed was extremely comfortable. Male receptionist was extremely cheerful and provided extra pillows immediately.

Great value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmrsmoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for the review and your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us an we look forward to perhaps seeing you again sometime. Eric (the male on reception) will be peased you mentioned him - thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranfurly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were there for 3 nights, honestly the best place to stay in Auckland, is right in front of the Air bus, so if you are coming from overseas you can get there very easy and cheap, cCentraly located but not too clase as to hear all the noise. Rooms were very clean. We had a private bathroom but sometimes used the shared ones and they were always very tidy and clean. It is a perfect place to recover from your trip. Do not expect partys in here. Only thing is that some rooms have a window right on top of were the garbage truck picks up the garbage and it may wake you up at 6 am. We'll come back when we go there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for the great review and the heads up re the early garbage collection. They're not supposed to be in that early so we'll be getting on to them about that. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location and good value for the price. Very friendly staff - travel desk with helpful and knowledgable person running it. Very clean rooms - we had a double. Didnt hear any street noise.Room slightly small but expected for the price we paid. Breakfast was a reasonable cost and absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked (kiwi breakfast).
Will stay again and will recommend to others who need something reasonably priced

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay8567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great comments, mentioning our friendly staff and your recommendation to others. Glad you enjoyed the 'kiwi breakfast' and your stay in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very nice and helpful receptionist. My single room with ensuite was very clean and quiet. The airport bus stops directly in front of the hotel, a few meters further is the bus stop for the "free" (with Snapper or Hop on, Hop off card, otherwise 50 cents) bus which takes you down to the Britomart.

Auckland is expensive, so it was good value for money, but no luxury.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. Your comment "good value for money, but no luxury" is a fair assessment of what we're offering visitors to Auckland. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my stay - the rooms are clean; staff is excellent - Eric, Joanna, Charlotte, and Philippa the on site tour coordinator. There is breakfast and dinner served - delicious and fresh daily - great chefs who are flexible and everything is yummy!! Loved this ideal location and great price...I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Auckland!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lnkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Many thanks for your great review and positive comments re staff - they appreciate that. We look forward to hosting you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing