We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kiwi International Hotel
Ranked #32 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very basic hotel, but it was clean and extremely reasonable. The room and the bathroom were both small but adequate for our needs. A plus is the direct local bus service to and from the airport as well as access to bus service around the city. Several local restaurants are close by. Our upper floor room overlooking a park was quiet. Since we were out and about most of the time, Kiwi International was perfect for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the value and location we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    277
    213
    56
    35
See reviews for
93
200
194
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night and I would say this hotel is very convenient for its price and location. Although it is situated in the city, it offers free parking, which is a big deal in Auckland. Just park your car at the hotel and travel by foot to the city center which is just 10~15 minutes walk from the hotel. The rooms are basic but very clean. All in all it is perfect for any budget traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenaturefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for you complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mssunshine12
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed one night in a single ensuite and although the decor was rather bland and basic, it was quite pleasant overall.

The hotel is situated at the top of Queen St near to K Road. This made for a bit of a gruellng walk up with my luggage in tow so I suggest you take a bus/taxi if coming from downtown. Check-in was quick but in order to get to the 3rd floor, you have to take one lift to 2nd and another to get to 3rd. It was a bit 'maze like' so ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room to avoid lift insanity.

My room was fairly big, clean with a comfortable bed, well stocked tea/coffee making facilities, nice flat screen and the bathroom was decent too. Had a great sleep too, no noise outside. Only negatives is the shower wasn't powerful so water kind of dribbled out and there is nowhere to hang your clothes. Otherwise, its probably the best value in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mssunshine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your positive review. We agree that the 3rd floor can be a bit frustrating to get to as that wing was added later and the showers there are not strong like the others but the rooms are quiet and have nice view over the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Friendly, efficient staff. Room was very clean and nice, also bigger than I expected and had a wash basin and reading lamp. Only downfall is that it is almost at the very top of Queen Street and so it was a bit of a hike up with heavy bags... but if you have reasonable luggage (unlike me) it would be fine.
I had a private single room with shared bathroom... no problems, everything was clean and there was lots of hot water.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applekoko19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for the very positive review. If you have to come from downtown there's a 50 cent bus that goes every 10 minutes and stops almost directly outside us. (as does the airport bus both ways) We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A reasonably priced, clean hotel... a step up from a hostel. Crappy neighborhood. Not much around, but it was walking distance to the Intercity bus terminal, which made it convenient. Front desk staff was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markmardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you found it good value. Interestingly the only reviewer ever to find the location not to their liking. Thanks for mentioning te front desk staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed in an economic room with shared bathroom and showers. The room was clean and functional with a sink and a small desk. There is central heating in the room, which was a good thing given the poor insulation standard of buildings in New-Zealand (single-layer windows thin walls etc.) Unfortunately, no heating in the showers, and the window was a piece of plastic, so it was pretty cold in August. This is probably my only complaint. Showers and toilets were very clean.
The breakfast in the morning is not worth the price, but there are plenty of cafés withing walking distance. The hotel is well situated at the end of Queen street, within walking distance of the CBD.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plut0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very good
5 star or Langham it is not but the amenities were clean and all usable and the staff worked at making my stay hassle free
Would stay there again with out thinking about it twice
Easy walking distance to everything and a above averageBreakfast kitchen rounded off the whole experience

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi_mark411, Owner at Kiwi International Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for your very positive review and confimration that we met your expectations. Staff always appreciate a mention. We look forward to hosting you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.0 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiwi International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwi International Hotel

Property: Kiwi International Hotel
Address: 411 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kiwi International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet yet centrally located and of a size to provide the facilities that modern travellers expect while retaining a sense of comfort & friendliness. We offer friendly & affordable accommodation in the heart of New Zealand's largest city - free wi-fi, free baggage storage, no surcharge credit card payment and friendly 24/7 reception & service. Some parking is available on a "first come first serve" basis. Spaces are not guaranteed and cannot be reserved. Ideal for travellers and groups seeking quality, value and location. All the city's major attractions are within walking distance - Skytower, Skycity, Aotea Square, Viaduct Basin, the central business district, 'K' Road, theatres, restaurants, universities & tertiary institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kiwi International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiwi International Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing