We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walked in.....Walked out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walked in.....Walked out!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was part of a rugby ticket package not one we would have normally chosen.
Had an upgrade and was gob smacked to find the room had torn curtains, big parts of paint missing from walls and bed head, stained mattress, dirty windowsills, toilet that wouldn't flush properly.
If this was an upgraded room dog-help those below us.
Obviously maintenance and cleanliness are a low priority.
Went to reception and booked out straight away.
Don't stay here ever...

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Annie R

Thank you for your posting on Tripadvisor relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. If I may, may I ask for you to contact me directly on +64 9 377 7187 or via email on h1721-fo01@accor.com to discuss the matter further. I can assure you we take our cleanliness and maintenance seriously and feel based on your feedback you are owed a more personal apology and explanation.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    886
    848
    350
    208
See reviews for
386
1,074
296
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huonville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Had read the reviews about the Mercure and thought I'll have to take the risk as we wanted something in walking distance to Bristomart. Well it lived up to its reputation ie. queuing up to check in/out, the dirtiest hotel I've ever stayed in with mould in the silicones cracks, uneven carpet, tv that didn't work properly to give a brief overdue. And no it wasn't the cheapest accommodation. Then we paid another $28 or so dollars each for breakfast and there were people waiting for bowls, cutlery and glasses. They need to lift their game.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tassiefunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Tassiefunlover

Thank you for your detailed posting relating to the Mercure Auckland Hotel. Based on your feedback given I believe we have on this occasion failed miserably in the service we provided. May I kindly ask for you to contact me on +64 9 377 7187 or via email on h1721-fo01@accor.com in order I may offer a more personal apology and explanation. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Mercure is in a great location in the heart of the CBD and very close walking to the Harbour and Viaduct area. Easy to get to also from the airport with the Express bus stopping a short walk from the hotel. The restaurant and bar at the top floor has some nice views of the city and harbour as well. Unfortunately the rooms let the hotel down, as they are tired and in need of an upgrade. The bathrooms are where the wear really shows and even the bedding is poor, with lumpy matresses and barely there pillows. I wouldn't recommend the Mercure for a long stay but for a quick stopover where much time is not being spent in the room in any case and location is the driving factor then book away.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor so you can get some view of the city skyline or the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Ben G

Thank you for your recent posting on The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I acknowledge the need for our Hotel to have some refurbishment done in the areas of Accommodation rooms. I am pleased you enjoyed aspects of your stay with us and you most enjoyed the Hotel's convenient location. Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing