We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms but center of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Small rooms but center of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The worst food anywhere for a long time. $16 for a miniscule polenta cake with the smallest mushroom 8 existence. If it had a wow taste factor you could e forgiven. Fire the chef I say. The accompanying burger was half done with half melted cheese. Where do you find these sort of chefs?!?

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda22Rotorua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Executive Chef at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Wanda22Rotorua

Thank you for your recent tripadvisor posting. We recently changed our winter menu and some changes are yet to be made. I am personally concerned about the size of the polenta cake dish and will ensure to rectify this immediately along with the note about the beef burger. Please accept both my personal apologies along with my kithchen team.

Kind Regards

Gaston Phillipens
Executive Chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    872
    845
    349
    208
See reviews for
383
1,056
296
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Mercure Auckland offers one of the worst hotel experiences I've ever experienced - and don't bother complaining to staff or management during your stay - they are simply not interested. I'm still waiting for a reply to my email to management sent during our stay.

We were a late arrival (approx 1.30am). The night manager was disinterested, couldn't find our booking, suggested we may be at the wrong hotel and then found our booking on the piece of paper in his left hand. Ordered room service at 1.37pm - at 2.45am we cancelled the order (soup and bread - as none of the other menu choices were available) as we, shock horror, wanted to go to sleep. Around 3am the phone rang and we were advised that our room service was now ready and that it was on the way up to the room. "But I cancelled that order and you've just woken me up," I said to the man on the person. "Oh sorry - but your food is ready now and it will be at your room in a minute." Ten minutes later it arrives (yes, had fallen asleep again by that stage). We should have just sent it away - but instead took it and ate the bread as the soup was inedible.

By this stage, we were very worried that we would sleep through alarms and booked a wake up call for 7am (in a few hours time). At 8am, I phoned downstairs to advise we had not received the call - and were told "it's not my fault it was on the list". A few minutes later, the phone rang again - it was the wake up call. Upon questioning reception about the claim that it was not on the list, we were told it was there for 8.07am. Can't help but feel the staff were making their own fun that morning.

Running late for our business day, we race up to the restaurant for breakfast only to be told that breakfast wasn't included in our package and we would have to sign for the charges. The staff member was adamant.

I suggested she ring down to reception to check the package - where she engaged in a private conversation with staff and then proceeded to take their coffee orders whilst waving us away from her desk, like an annoyed mother. We seated ourselves and tried to attract the attention of another staff member to order an espresso coffee but were not successful. At 8.30am, the buffet needed replenishing and there were not enough juice glasses.

When we checked out - the breakfast charges were still on the bill.

These are just a couple of examples of our experiences over the past four days. Others include - old and dated rooms, stained carpet, limited amenities, no mini bar refresh for two days, broken air conditioning/heating switch, no water pressure in the shower and an overflowing toilet in one of the rooms (we booked two rooms), building lifts not working, stopping on nearly every floor in the one working lift to share it with staff and the list goes on.

But the biggest bug bear - internet. They advertise it as high speed - it is not, plus there's no wifi in the rooms. The cable is an absolute rip off and only offers you partial usage for a fee of $30 before it charges you per Mb for further use. When we queried reception about its speed and ineffectiveness, we were told "Yeh I know it sucks - we are trying to get out of that contract, it's really bad but hey it's a third party supplier so there's nothing we can do". The speed is so slow that it took more than 3 minutes to load a Facebook page.

Out of all of the places you have to stay in Auckland (and there are many) - this is the ABSOLUTE LAST PLACE you want to stay. Don't waste your money and put yourself through the stress of it all. And if you do ignore this advice, don't bother wasting your time writing a letter of feedback - it will go ignored - and don't tell the staff because they don't care either - one of them told us to just put it on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel - there is nothing good to say here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Susan S

Thank you for your detailed feedback relating to your stay at The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am disappointed in that overall we caused a number of issues during your stay and your valuable feedback will assist in us a number of improvement service areas. May I kindly ask for you to contact me on 09 377 8920 if you wish to further personall discuss this. Thank you again.


Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was a little bit concerned, having read some of the previous reviews. We bought our night as a Grabone mystery hotel. The price was excellent, but I don't think I would stay here if I had to pay any more than I did. The room was nice and clean, but the beds were not comfortable at all. The restaurant has a good view over the harbour, but the breakfast was very dissapointing. Tasteless "scrambled eggs", tasteless processed "sausage", greasy bacon, tinned fruit, and no mushrooms!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear CR11

Thank you for your recent feedback relating to your stay at The Mercure Auckland Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. Thank you as well for the feedback relating some areas that we need improvement in.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Old shoddy building, very outdated. Entrance is nice (deceiving)
Bathrooms are dingy, stain marks, my colleague upgraded to suite and the shower had the old tin/metal flooring!
No wifi at all which is very poor this day and age, Ethernet network is $30 for 24 hours and only up to 209mb which is major rip off. Most hotels are free wifi these days I don't expect to pay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank krtnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear krtnz

Thank you for your feedback relating to The Mercure Auckland Hotel. Please accept my personal apologies you felt the room was not up to standard during your stay. I accept and acknowledge that the internet needs some changing, this is something we are looking at with our internet provider in order to provide a better internet service to our guests.

Kind Regards

Lee Parker
Operations Manager - Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing