We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this really the standard of a Mercure Hotel???”
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Is this really the standard of a Mercure Hotel???”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Firstly I chose this Hotel based upon location and brand name.

Having been a member of Accor, I am familiar with the different service offerings of the Accor Hotels and certainly expected that whilst Mercure is not a Sofitel...it certainly was not below an Ibis Styles.

Firstly, when I arrived at the Hotel reception, no one was available to check me in - the Service person sighted me whilst he was outside moving cars and said he'd be 5 minutes. When he had finished moving cars checkin was quick...my room was on the 9th floor. The foyer to the Hotel is modern.

Exiting the lift on the 9th floor was like I had stepped out of a time machine..but back in time some 25 years...the carpet / decor / walls looked very old.

Upon entering my room, I was really surprised at what I had found..chipped paint work everywhere, no valance on the two single beds bases pushed together to make a queen bed, air conditioning that came from a large old unit built into the wall ledge near the window. The air conditioning was very noisy on low.

By way of example as to how old this room fitout was, the sink plug had a chain on it...I had not seen one of these for a very long time.

Also, no WIFI available in room (only wired internet) - told that WIFI was available in the Bar/Restaurant area - 30 mins for free (there was a data limit...can't recall what that was).

Positives:

- Bar and restaurant area modern
- Bar staff very friendly (I did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment)
- Bar food was very good
- Location - excellent

A refit and this Hotel would truly fit the Mercure standard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    891
    848
    350
    211
See reviews for
388
1,080
297
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We were fortunate when we checked in for our 2 night stay as without any request we were "upgraded" to a room on the 11th floor with wonderful views over the harbour and beyond. As previous reviews have stated the decor is a little tired but our room was clean and more than adequate for our needs. The hotel is very centrally located, close to the shopping centre and bus routes and Auckland is a nice city with lots to see. We were given a resume of what was going on during the weekend we were there and how to reach the venues by bus by the Tourist information office. Bus travel is cheap and easy to fathom out. We ate simply at Brew on the Quay which was an easy walk from the hotel and the food was good with a large choice of beers at reasonable prices for New Zealand. Service was good and the staff were very friendly both in the hotel and at Brew on the Quay.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour and a higher floor which improves the view and will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandTourer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel, despite large placards in the lobby, doesn't recognise Le Club Gold - zero benefits at this property, extremely noisy, and very dated. One night was too many.
They clearly bank on the location but I'd walk a kilometer before staying in this place again.

Room Tip: Don't book here to start with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmartTravellerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night before our cruise. View from room was great, was able to see cruise ship coming into dock. Room was clean and tidy, had dinner in the restaurant which we found to be rather expensive. Location was brilliant, within walking distance of where we wanted to go. Would definitely stay here again due to location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waralene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here five nights on business Feb 2014 room 802.

Location is probably the best in Auckland, if being in the tourist central ferry terminal area is useful to you. Queen Street - main shopping strip - starts here.

Mercure is also immediately adjacent to Britomart rail and bus terminals, so if you need to use public transport to get anywhere, this is where you'd want to be staying.

The hotel itself is more like a vertical motel than a city "hotel". The furniture and fittings in the room are end-of-life, with chips and dents.

The biggest problem from my perspective was the room bar fridge, which was dead on arrival. I aways go to a local delicatessen, buy healthy choice food, remove the hotel's alcohol, "high-energy" drinks and other junk food from the fridge and put my own stuff in there. Including milk and yoghurt. So my milk and yoghurt was totally spoiled the next morning. Seems like this might be a health and safety issue for hotels, not being able to refrigerate food safely.

All hotel bar fridges are pretty useless, but this one was total crap. Not good enough. I'm your customer, not a paying hotel quality assurance inspector. That's your job, Mercure, not mine.

The room was just big enough, bed comfortable. Housekeeping adequate. No problems with elevators. The room air conditioner was barely adequate, Auckland doesn't worry too much about air conditioning in Summer, I gather. They're more concerned with staying warm when it's cold.

Room 802 faces away from the harbour, and was just down the street from a strip club, which occasionally created a bit of noise late at night (motorcycles revving up with drunken hoons yelling) but nothing intolerable by my fairly tolerant standards. It's a city.

If I was paying, not my employer, I'd consider staying here. I don't know what the daily room rate was, but the proximity of the hotel to the docks where massive cruise ships stay when in Auckland means that when the boats are in harbour, this hotel is 100 percent occupancy. Room rates correspondingly high.

I don't know why people go on boat cruises. It's an expensive way to be bored. But I certainly don't understand why people move off their cruise boat - where they've got a perfectly good hotel room for the duration of their cruise that they've already paid for - to stay in a hotel immediately adjacent to the boat. This hotel room would not have been any bigger than the accomodation on a big cruise boat. Go figure. Maybe the cruise boats get a discount on hotel rooms. Maybe people get sea sick and want to sleep on a bed that doesn't move about. Please explain.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheloniusAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Shortly after I checked in, a housekeeper entered my room without knocking. I was undressing to take a shower. Standing there in my underwear, I asked her to leave. Instead of apologizing and leaving immediately, she said she wanted to put some items in the refrigerator. I said, twice, 'maybe later!' She finally left. I felt violated and intruded upon. If she'd come 30 seconds later, she'd have been presented with the holy vision of me standing naked in the room. Hotel manager not terribly sympathetic, offered me a minimal rebate on one of three night's charges, a free breakfast and a couple of drink vouchers, the food an drink being of no interest to me. The hotel has a nice lobby, but not much else going for it. The room's door had a damaged frame, as if it had been forced open with a crowbar at some time. The bathroom door had damaged and peeling paint along its edges. The toilet had a 1930's style flush lever with no variable flush capability (only one of two I encountered in New Zealand during a month's stay). The shower door covered half of the shower enclosure, and swung outward, making it entirely possible to leak water all over the floor. The internet service was so expensive, I decided to do without. I've had much better accommodations at other hotels in Auckland for much lower prices.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We spent two nights here First - the good bits. All of the staff were extremely pleasant, polite and helpful. The bar and restaurant was fabulous...stunning views and good food. This and the foyer of the hotel looked as though it had been recently renovated. Now to the rooms....absolutely horrific experience...the carpet was shabby, worn and lumpy. TV didn't work...the remotes didn't work. There was no prices for the mini bar...which could potentially lead you to believe it was complimentary...the red wine and snacks were stocked with the tea and coffee and the milk was in the fridge with the beers...too misleading.. . the tea, coffee and milk was complimentary but not the rest. We checked this at Reception. By far the worst part of the room was the windows....held together with duct tape and no security barriers. The secondary glass was not double glazed. Therefore we could hear conversations on the street nine floors below! Constant noise, traffic racing and people shouting. At 0300am and showing no sign of stopping we went back to Reception to ask for a different room for our second night. We were given a room harbour side...and the difference in noise was amazing. It was still muffled but so much better. All in all the rooms - in particular the windows and glazing need to be brought up to date. Staying in an airport hotel is quieter!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing