We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location for tourist activities in Auckland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal location for tourist activities in Auckland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week. It is ideally situated, being very close to the train terminus and the ferry terminals. The room was large with two comfortable queen beds. The room was dated, a bit worn and in need of refurbishment. We had a discount deal which made the room very good value for money. There are many good, inexpensive places to eat a short walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. It is worthwhile to upgrade to a higher grade room. They are larger and worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    875
    845
    350
    208
See reviews for
383
1,057
296
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is Ok but watch out for the hidden charges on your visa. They advertised covered parking, when i checked in I was told $40 a night for parking not in advert. Checked out and was told they were charging me for breakfasts which I had already paid for and produced receipts for, possible double charge if I had not checked bill. Charged me for drinks from mini bar, yet everything was still in mini bar when I left the room I did not touch anything from it, been a real hassle to get money back they clipped from my Visa for this. The rooms need a overhaul, the black mould lines around the bath and sink in the bathroom are not cool. Breakfast OK but a little expensive better value in Cafe around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetinker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

If the idea of attempting to get a good night's sleep in the middle of a nightclub sounds like fun, then this hotel is for you. It was SO loud the bed was shaking. We ended up leaving at 6 in the morning because we just couldn't take it any more - never done that before! The service desk didn't do anything to rectify our problem (e.g. offer us a higher room). Ended up taking a long cab ride home. Would not recommend!

Room Tip: Go as high as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JShoeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. The rooms a clean and tidy and the service is good. We had a conference here for the day and the conference facilities are good especially for groups of 20 - 30 people. Checked out on the morning of my departure and valets had my vehicle ready and my bags loaded and ready to go at the end of the day, so no waiting which was great. Great locality close to Britimart and viaduct.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Reuben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Decent room which was an upgrade. Impressive views of harbour, slightly spoiled by a building in front. It felt like a business hotel (although we were only there for 2 nights as touring). It needs an upgrade to bring in the tourists.

Room Tip: no parking which was a pain as had to drive around the city trying to find parking that was not ridi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr and Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here recently, the rooms are very dated and in desperate need of updating, the bath tub was dirty with a noisy leaking tap, there was a hole in the roof above the shower, curtains were hard to open and close, rooms are not sound proof we could hear everyone walking past, the lifts felt unsafe, the service is so so slow, we waitied 45mins on check out for our car even though we called through a half hour before we came down, went to breakfast and while up at the buffet the waiter cleared our table and seated another couple down so we had no where to sit and had to be seated at the bar to finish our breakfast. Buffet was good, good location and thats it. Over all very poor wouldnt stay here again ever!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing