We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Auckland
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel was chosen because of its location next to the cruiseliner wharves. We had just a short walk to board our cruise ship as well as being central city. The staff were fantastic.

The hotel has a restaurant and tapas bar on their top floor. The views from there are terrific; however we found the food lacking with one meal being sub-par. We felt that the food even though not overpriced was not good value.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will make this out base again when we visit Auckland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear you will be using Mercure Auckland as a base for your return visits to Auckland.
We do pride ourselves on our food and beverage product and disappointed to find this was not to your satisfaction. We are about to change the menu shortly and look forward to your thoughts on your return.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    872
    845
    349
    208
See reviews for
383
1,056
296
534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at the Hotel at 8pm after getting a taxi from the airport, to be informed that our rooms (2 rooms booked and paid for 3 months prior) had "maintenance issues" the rest of the hotel was full, and so was the rest of the city. But they had found a hotel for us back at the airport! We had things to do in the city that evening, and a conference at the Viaduct first thing in the morning, so even though they paid for the taxi fares to and from the hotel at the airport we were significantly inconvenienced, and shocked at our treatment. The "Maintenance Issues" was obviously an excuse, and the real reason was that we had been bumped for other guests. They said they had been trying to get hold of us, but only since 5pm, and we were on the plane by then.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank andboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We do apologize for relocating you to another hotel, however due to our maintenance problems in a few rooms this was unavoidable. We do try to relocate to the nearest hotel but as Auckland city was full the nearest hotel with availability was at Airport.

Regards

Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The service is pretty awful, the rooms look grubby and the only wifi is in the lobby. It costs $6 to use for 30 minutes in one sitting only. Impossible to do work.

I asked if I could check out at 11.10 instead of 11 as I had a meeting that finished at 11 and was told I'd need to check out there and then.

It's quite expensive for what it is. The food from room service was a joke. I wish I had refused to pay really.

I won't stay here again. It's a crap hole once you leave the lobby.

Location is handy tho but for the price you can get way better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antspants04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are currently looking at a refresh of our rooms and hope to start this work sometime this year. This will greatly improve the standard of the rooms. We are also dealing with our Internet provider looking into offering services at a lower cost in the future.

I do apologize for the standard of room service you received during your stay and this certainly isn't the norm. We have a new Executive chef starting in March and one of their first projects will be to freshen up all our menus.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

2 Deluxe rooms booked in mid 2012 for use Feb 2013. On arrival our check in was delayed as a supervisor needed to allocate rooms! No reason given. The 5/6th floor corridors have shabby decor (wall paper dirty and peeling, splinters & chips in all the wooden surfaces), the theme carried on into the rooms. Rm 520 rejected due to large holes in carpet which was also threadbare and had been patched, water stains in bath which had an eggshell finish which comes from age and poor maintenance plus mould in the grouting. Room 602 rejected due to nail sticking out of wood next to bed, shelving loose over bath, hole in bathroom ceiling & panelling loose by sink. Also the centre lift did not stop flush with floor (staff unconcerned with this trip hazard).
The supervisor and staff, despite being pleasant, seemed unconcerned that guests, who are allocated these rooms (which I would describe as sub standard) and experience the dour corridors en-route to them, may have cause to complain. The stock replies of "there is a refurbishment programme in progress" (re the rooms) and "it's a known problem" (re the lift) do not auger well for a hotel of the Accor brand charging NZ$300/night.
I and my party checked out within an hour of arrival as the staff did not offer us an acceptable alternative or compromise.
I utilised the Accor chain of hotels Worldwide and believed that their standards, level of service and reliability was guaranteed so was very disappointed with this hotel.
Other reviews have been upbeat and I can appreciate the benefits, if a re-furbished room is allocated, as the hotel is in a great location, has a nice reception and may well have a very nice restaurant with views.
Had the hotel advised us in advance of it's "deteriorating room standard" or that an un-refurbish room may be allocated then this review would not have been penned.
Hopefully our other 29 nights booked with other Accor hotels in NZ and Asia are not like this one.

Room Tip: Insist on a refurbished room or you will probably be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertie525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We do allocate rooms if you have booked in advance and we apologize for your room not being ready on your arrival. Auckland is very busy at this time and guests are choosing to have extended checks outs.
We are looking at refreshing our rooms this year and when completed we hope you choose to stay with us again.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is a little bit tired but the biggest issue that I had was that they had no Parking onsite and it cost $40 a night to park the car and the internet cost $30 a night which made this a very expensive stay. For the money I eventually paid I could of stayed at a far better hotel with free wifi and free parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James76_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Parking is costly in CBD and unfortunately we do have to pass this cost on. We do have free WiFi situated in the lobby and the restaurant for 30 minutes each day and are in discussion with our WiFi provider to lower our rates. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade. Our queen bed was a bare base and matress, no valance so you can see the mismatched matress. Bathroom is shabby with old repairs, very visible same in the bedroom. Position in the city was the only saving grace and the bar and restaurant are also an excellant surprise, with great views over the harbour and city.All in all,very disappointed with this hotel as was my guest from Australia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_anderson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean S, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

I’m sorry that our rooms where not up to your standard. We are currently looking at a refresh of our rooms and hope to start this work sometime this year. This will greatly improve the standard of the rooms and we hope to have stay with us again.

Regards
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location, but the airconditioning system was a let down. It didn't work in my first room and thankfully they found another room. It did work in the second room, but rattled all night. Great view of the harbour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureAKL, Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor.

I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and views of the harbor. I apologize for the air conditioning during your stay. Our maintenance team is working hard to fix these issues due to the warm weather we are experiencing in Auckland. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards,
Sean Slattery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.3 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.3 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Property: Mercure Auckland
Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing