We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personality Nil, Convenience 10 though don't call the Dr out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We stayed here for 3-4 nights recently and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and well maintained, the front desk staff reasonably informed and ready to answer any questions (we had many!).

Whilst centrally located, the area has little in terms of personality and not a huge amount on it's doorstep for a nice brunch and the like.

My one issue was with the lack of explanation of the fee charged for a dr call out when literally 10 doors around the corner a Dr advertised non registered appointments for $60 (later reinforced by a separate Dr in Russell). The charge was $280 and when we called to request the dr, we were given the number to call yet no-one explained that this would be the charge, or that if we fancied walking we could get a dr at a fifth of the price. That is the honesty I would expect from a hotel.

But if a clean, central base is what you're after, then this apartment hotel will more than meet your needs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justinekp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 970 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2009

I really enjoyed my 2009 new years here...But i wasn't told that the room had a kitchen,i would have been more orgnised and taken stuff for brekkie,Loved the spa bath and how you can open the bifolding doors, Also had a meal brought to room it was very average and was glad that it wasn't too expensive.(the chips where just the ones you get out of freezer) I thought the products like shampoo etc where very nice.
It was a great way to spend the new year !

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmilou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I spent the weekend at this hotel with my partner and we were amazed at how nice the rooms were for the price we paid $130 per night. The deck was a nice feature. beds were very comfortable. Nice bathrooms too. We had a nice view of the skytower from our 5th floor room (room 504). there is a nice outdoor pool and spa to relax in which overlooks the park. the only thing i could complain about is the washer/dryer. its both in one machine, i successfully washed the clothes but it would not dry them.....and the directions were confusing to say the least. all in all though a very nice hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naths1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

My husband and I enjoyed the penthouse suite we stayed in but our visit was let down by the lack of service on arrival. Our booking included valet parking so we were amazed when after checking in reception made no enquiries of our car and we had to ask for our car to be parked, and this was attended to like were asking a huge favour. We were also left to struggle with five large suitcases and bags on our own until one of us worked up the courage to ask for porter service. This was provided by the front desk attendant but we were surpsrised that this sort of assistance was not offered to guests as a general matter of courtesy. Front desk staff lack warmth and seem only interested in getting a copy of your credit card.

Room itself was modern and stylish with plenty of the everyday conveniences you would expect. The washing machine however did not work and the instructions / diagram provided did not make sense. I had to call room service and hand over a bundle of my underwear for laundering which they did at no cost. They admitted the washing machine had not worked for other guests in the past but instead of fixing it I think they just hope that few guests use the laundry facilities.

Food ok for the price, internet access via public computer a little steep.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloomGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

Have stayed here in the past and loved it. This time we were chrged over $130 for an average meal. Although it was after 9:00pm and only 2 other parties in the restaurant it was almost 30 mintues beforeour order was taken and longer before it arrived. THe food was average at best. tables bare with cheap paper napkins - waiter said this is an "ecological management decision".

Although we arrived at 9:00pm a request for a later than 10:00am checkout gained the response "it will cost you $25 per hour because the hotel is full tonight". For the record, rooms were available for that night on the hotel's website Also the message that they were willing to inconvenience incoming guests provided they were paid for it tells a sad story in itself.

The final straw, however, is that we filled in a guest comment form including our contact details and checked a box labelled "tick this box if you would like to be contacted regarding the issues you have raised" (or something like that). 2 months later we have hd no response.

Clrealy this hotel is now inder new management and the new management want to make money and don't care about their guests. Our advice - go elsewhere - we will in future. Such a pity to do this to a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravelerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Would never come again. We had booked by phone and said we would pay cash. No mention was made of a bond. On arrival we were asked for $100 bond as well as the room rate.We drove to mt mothers in West Auckland and borrowed $100 and returned. The rudest receptionist embarrassed us and refused to take cash and asked for a credit card. We then had to leave or miss our concert as well. We had to spoil our evening and drive back out to West Auckland and stay at my Mums after the concert. It was supposed to be a special night out in Auckland. I believe she owes us an apology.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
3  Thank timeoutAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

booked through a travel agent, taxi driver from airport said "are you sure" with a strange look, when given our destination. large room with kitchenette (not needed). table had a loose leg which would have been a compensation seekers dream for a set-up accident! very noisy room, emergency vehicles all night long, plus the refuse collection at 4:00 am. did not mind the location as walking suits us. restaurant service & food average.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $120 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing