We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've stayed at the Amora a few times now, even back to when it was the Duxton, and all I can say is its been on a downward sloe now for some time. Getting very shabby , in need despersately of a complete overhall. We had a delux, hmmm, room on the 1st floor. the whole area around the halls and lift stank of cigaret smoke. The place is looking tired and worn. We went to the bar for a couple of cocktails before dinner, not hard ones a manhattan, which Im happy to relay how to make. The bar manager thought dry vermouth was the same as martini rosso, and when I explained the difference he couldnt see why he couldnt make it with the dry. Even saying that they dont get much call for martini people only ever ask for it in "shots", what? Then he mised up the gin and tonic and rum and coke and put rum and gin in thehttps://c1.tacdn.com/img2/x.gif same glass. Not great.
The one saving grace was the waitress at dinner and the meal which we had that was really good. Down side again the same, person that was serving bar was manager of the restaurant for the evening, set our table for starters, which we hadn't ordered and put the cutlery in the wrong places. Now I could forgive that if it was the only mistake of the night, but I think that guy needs to go back to school and learn his job, and he needs to smile once in a while.
So no we wont be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Alisabinhyde,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We note and take on board your comments regarding the room and corridors. I am very disappointed to read that your experience regarding the food and beverage services at the hotel was substandard, we aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland.

I will speak with the staff member concerned and bar training will be provided to the entire food and beverage team.

Alisabinhyde, I would like to personally welcome you back to the property and offer you free (proper manhattan) cocktails when you next decide to stay with us. Please do contact me directly on gm@auckland.amorahotels.com and I will make all the necessary arrangements.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope you will allow us to show the true spirit of Amora hospitality on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a nice stay at the Amora in Auckland. The room was spacious and included a refrigerator, 2 burner stove, and microwave, which we didn't use, but it would be handy for someone who didn't want to eat out. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel was located up the hill from the harbor but was walkable to there and downtown. Internet was available for a fee, which was a bit disappointing in this day and age.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viking4866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear viking4866,

Thank you for posting such an encouraging review of your stay!

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here. We are about start the installation of complimentary WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance the guest experience.

I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel Auckland in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'm flying often to Auckland and unfortunately this time all good hotels were packed for some international event.
Amora hotel is defintely not cheap, and not at a walking distance of the City center.
I wished to have a beer at the bar (very small and sad by the way) at 7:30pm - I was alone, I had to ring the waiter (who is hared with the dining room), and the drinks menu is very limited.
Then I wish to have dinner. Dining room is small and very boring, perfect place to feel depressed when you are on your own. I went for a steak, thinking that NZ meat would be just amazing, and it was just average.
However I have to admit that my room was huge, a duplex indeed - maybe too big for me alone.
But the bathroom is really oldish with limited ammenities.
Last but not least, NO WIFI in the room only cable ! So if you wish to use your ipad, you can only do it from lobby, but... you have to pay for it.
So unless you are punished, don't go to Amora hotel - there are far nicer places to stay in Auckland for same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear BLshanghai,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you found the food and beverage services at the hotel limited, we aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland.

I am glad to inform you that we are commencing the installation of WIFi Internet throughout the property which will enhance the guest experience during their stay.

BLshanghai, I do take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked 2 twin share rooms for a girls weekend and were pleasantly surprised. Two queen beds in each room with lots of room. The full kitchen (however, no dishwasher), washing machine and a bath in the bathroom were added bonuses. The beds were super comfortable. The only negative was the TV did not work properly. We did only stay Friday night and paid an excellent rate - I am sure the rate goes up for other days of the week. Paying $20 to self park your car in the basement was a little steep. The hotel is probably in need a makeover soon but it definitely suited our needs and I will be back. In my friend's room she discovered that someone had put some graffiti on the bathroom mirror that could only be seen when the mirror was misted over.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your girls weekend away at the hotel.

We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and I do take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

we had booked a deluxe spa room, arrived to find Smelly sheets that had obviously been slept in by someone else, room was definitely not 'deluxe'. room was cold, heater didn't work. had meal in restaurant, waited 40 minutes for meal to arrive. Bearing in mind the main courses are not cheap, the quality of the food was appalling, ordered sirloin steak which looked more like the sole of a shoe had dropped off. sent steak back and ordered chicken which was supposed to be served with risotto. Definitely not risotto, just rice which was not cooked properly, and not particularly warm. We ended up eating separately. we were told there was normally a sous chef and a head chef but today there was a new chef!!! We sat next to 2 guys who both also complained about their meals. this totally ruined a night away for us which was supposed to be a surprise. Will never go back again - ever!! Staff were pleasant enough, and felt for the waitresses in the restaurant with so many people complaining about the food.

Room Tip: Go to any other hotel in Auckland!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear George & Jill,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland to all our guests.

It is rather disappointing to see that all our efforts made on the day, to ensure your stay was comfortable and your preferences met including a complimentary room upgrade to a one bedroom suite and two glasses of wine were inadequate and did not warrant a mention in your feedback.

George and Jill, I do apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service for the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Greytown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the past and it's gone down hill. The room was ok but not as nice as last time. the bathroom was tired, especially the towels and there was no shelving to put things on. The hotel could do with a good facelift. will probably not be back

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Rob H,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel.
We aim to provide a quality experience at Amora Hotel Auckland and we are currently looking at improving areas such as guest amenities, beds and luxurious linen for bathroom and bedrooms for all our rooms which will enhance the guest experience.

Rob H, I do take all of your feedback on board with an aim to improving our product and service.

Thank you for choosing to stay us and I hope we will see you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

It is very well situated for getting in and out of Aukland and to explore the city itself. The staff were all very helpful, in particular front desk who within minutes of our arrival when we found our case lock had jammed sent someone to deal with it successfully. Breakfast was very good, we particularly liked the local varieties of meusli and the stewed plums, and our room was very clean and bright with good views over Myers park to the rear. Car parking was very handy as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmoraHotelAuckland, Hotel Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Malcolm&Margaret,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your comments regarding the location and cleanliness of the hotel and room alike. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with the entire team.

I am pleased to note that the team took good care of you and were able to assist with your case lock without delay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback in relation to the service from our staff.

Thank you once again for providing such encouraging feedback, and I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to “Amora Hotel Auckland”.

Yours Sincerely,

Homyar Desai
Hotel Manager
Amora Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing