We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amora Hotel Auckland
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$252
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$191
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$104
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$131
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$137
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$116
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$199
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$103
$93
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
211
400
283
112
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
400
283
112
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmyers parkgreys avetree lined streetwashing machineaotea centrek roadsky towerqueen streetsmall balconyquiet locationcentral citydeluxe roomnice roomwould stay againnew zealandfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
682 - 687 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked a room for 2 adults and 1 child and got a queen size bed plus a rollaway. The room had a kitchenette (cooking plates, microwave, sink, laundry machine) and there was a bathtub in the bathroom.

The airconditioner is not mounted like a regular heat pump, with the noisiest part outside. It's an indoor unit with an exhaust pipe out the window, tightly sealed through the glass. Very noisy and ineffective.

Upon placing the cot for our baby next to our bed, we noticed that the carpet was wet. This was due to a leak from the bathroom, where we had taken a shower. We immediately notified the reception, the janitor came up for a look, and claimed that there was not a leak. He said we should just place towels on the bathroom floor. The reception called our room and echoed this message 5 minutes later.

This hotel will have serious problems with humidity, mildew and mold, and probably leaks to other rooms as well pretty soon. Why they don't care I don't know.

There's a playground in the park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhileasFoggish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Good location 5 minutes from main shopping street and 10 minutes from the dock area. Comfortable and clean; helpful staff; reasonable price. Not much in terms of amenities besides an outdoor unheated pool. Great deli right next door.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I agree with several other reviews---hotel is reasonably priced, well-located, with friendly staff who strive to help you out, but they are understaffed. The portable air-conditioning unit in our room was very noisy and spit water out onto the upholstered chair next to it. Room was on the sunny side in February so we definitely needed the air-conditioning. Glad we only stayed two nights. Was very disappointed by the charge for the internet. Even the free 30 minutes allotted to guests in the lobby was poor, connection kept dropping out. The couple of laptops available in the lobby were not functional either. Most hotels do much better than this. Had one dinner and one breakfast in the hotel restaurant---nothing special, slow service. I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to know that the air conditioning gave you a bit of trouble, if you had called the reception they would have sent the maintenance person to have a look into it and fix it for you. Perhaps when you must be around one of our staff members must have gone on a break, as we always have 2-3 members in one shift.

The internet charge is $15 per day, however we are looking into getting WIFI in the hotel. I shall address the Food & Beverage staff about the slow service, however please note that this was a one off occasion, our staff are very efficient and on top of things.

Once again thank you for the time taken and we shall be looking into improving our facilities. hope to have you stay with us shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days at the end of our 7 week trip. Mainly due to how good the sister hotel was in Wellington. Well, no where near. The staff all very friendly and did their best.. it seemed very short staffed and the team were there for long hours it seemed. The rooms are very tired. My biggest gripe no WiFi and charges for in room internet for only 1 PC.. REALLY in the 21st century? You get free WiFi at most places these days.. come on Amora Auckland. Shame as it clearly is not in the same league as it sister hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Sorry that you were disappointment with Amora in Auckland. We are working on the WIFI facility as we are aware that it is a MUST in today's day and age.

As for the staff, none of our staff members work more than 8 hours shift, and perhaps it could have been one of them was on a break when you came around, as we always have 2-3 staff working at any given time/ shift.

We appreciate your feedback and shall definitely try and look into improving our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Spent two nights at this property. It feels and looks like a hotel on a downhill slide. The reception area is dull and dated. The restaurant and pool area is in reasonable knick. We had a spa bath room on one of the higher floors with a small deck and nice views overlooking Myers Park. The room was very tired with split and cracked gib around the bath. The air conditioning unit was a bit of a joke. It is very noisy and broke down twice during our stay. The washer dryer didn't work as per the instructions. On the second day we came back to the room during the afternoon after it had been serviced to find wee had no towels. We enquired with housekeeping about this and found out that they were being washed. Surely they have more towels than this although they do appear to have been washed almost out of existence. One good thing in the room was the large spa bath. Having stayed at the Amora in Wellington it is like chalk and cheese. The staff try hard but the owners need to back them up by spending some money on this place to make it the 4star place it is advertised as.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews