We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sort of Tragic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sort of Tragic.”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

To begin, there were a few things I did like: the room was quite clean, reception upon arrival was quite nice, and the location is pretty central. The size of my executive studio room was notable.

Otherwise, this experience was kind of a bust. I particularly want to address the dining situation, which was abysmal. I first went to dinner at The Grill restaurant, and the wait staff looked genuinely confused by my presence. Understandable; there was no one else in the entire restaurant at 6pm. Red flag #1.

I ordered dinner, which was mediocre at best (the 'three cheese tart' was particularly awful, which looked and tasted like it was a microwaved frozen snack. ew.) Because I was the only one there, I thought service would be stellar. I was mistaken. The wait staff, while generally nice, had no idea what to do and I was made to wait for a long period of time before each course and before getting my check.

Breakfast was not much better. It was a sad buffet, things had been left out too long, not much selection. They didn't do hot food that day so they gave me a "big breakfast" which was sort of tragic and involved soggy bread, canned mushrooms, and bacon that was mostly fat.

All of that would be understandable given the tripadvisor rating of the hotel, as mediocre as it was in person, except for the food was SO EXPENSIVE. 4.5 star prices for 2 star food. I was torn between being embarrassed for them and feeling like I was being robbed.

Another thing-- not updating hotel facilities does not make it a boutique hotel. I'm not sure where they got the idea that this was a boutique hotel. Someone needs to take them aside and let them down gently.

On a lighter note, everyone who spoke to me was very sweet and accommodating. That was pleasant.

Room Tip: I was on an upper floor, which gave me a heart attack because something is up with the lift. Yikes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    327
    248
    106
    52
See reviews for
113
385
65
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location is a bit strange - just outside the CBD is very convenient, but opposite state flats and 200 yards from K road you see some interesting sights!!
It's all very functional, yet dated in it's decor and this continued when I got to my room - it looked fine, until you started to use stuff... the TV took a few goes to get working, while the bathroom not only had the bulb over the bath blown, but as soon as you turned the shower attachment on it blew itself off the wall, soaking you and the room!!
we seemed to have arrived on everybodies first day; the 3 or 4 waiting staff were all fussing around the 10-20 people in the restaurant meaning that each round of drinks took a while to appear.
All this said, the room rate was reasonable - we ate in the CBD and crabbed croissant on Queen St for breakfast rather than taking the exorbitant breakfast option in the hotel.
The CBD is very accessible and a walk down Queen St acts as a good workout in the morning so a very OK experience

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmytaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken for your feedback.

Sorry to hear that you had a bit of wait for your drinks, it could have been one of those days where we received too many orders at the same time. Did you mention this to our staff upon check out or at the bar? We will surely address this with the restaurant supervisors.

As for the bulb in the bathroom, perhaps our reception staff could have sent the maintenance if you would have informed us about the problem.

However we do apologize for this, and we hope we can have you stay with us in the near future.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in the deluxe spa king room and paid $200 a night. First of all, the spa was out of order. We wernt happy about that. Then late at nite the spa in the bedroom kept making sounds it was difficult to sleep. Everything is worn, and old, chipped and peeling paint, small tv, lift was not functioning properly with a sign up saying 3 people maximum when the standard amount said 11 people. Obviously maintanence problems. When I left they did not give me a receipt. I had to go back to reception to ask for one. Ive been to Amora hotel in the past and it was never like how it is now. It looks as though that place has gone to the pack. I have been to many high class hotels and if you were to compare the amount you are paying, to the standard of the room, hotel and facilities I would not reecommend it. Unless, there is serious upgrade and maitanence done. Very disapointed... despite the problems we experienced, the service was good.

Room Tip: None at the moment until maintanence and upgrades done
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayneKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to write us a feedback.

So sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay. Our reception staff is available 24 hours, If you would have mentioned to our friendly staff about your spa bath making noise they would have immediately come over and had a look at it.

As for the elevators we have had issues in the past where too many people get into it along with their luggage and that causes a lot of problems, hence better to be safe than sorry we have put that notice, however we are working on getting it improved. So while the work is ongoing we have this displayed.

It is a one off incident where the reception staff did not offer you the receipt all our staff are well trained and they usually offer the guest if they want a copy of their receipt. However I do apologize that this did not happen in your case.

We hope to have you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hawera, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We booked through a grabone special for a night in Auckland for our anniversary. The deal included deluxe spa, bubbles, chocolates and breakfast with a late checkout.
My husband forgot to book the room a day out from heading to Auckland, on phoning we were given the option to upgrade our room to an Executive room as deluxe spa were no longer available.
It was truly disappointing. The whole place is tired and In need of updating.
Our bathroom was not cleaned properly and the spa bath was a joke only room for a single person. The bubbles was a cheap bottle of Lindaur with a bar of chocolate totally not one would expect.
Breakfast was good, a full English breakfast provided and the service was friendly and efficient. The dining area to me was way too cramped. We were pleased that we took the initiative the night before to go into the city to have dinner as we felt with what we had observed we would have been disappointed had we stayed at the Amora to dine.
We gave feedback and requested that they contact us to discuss the feedback however, a week later we have not heard from them.
We would not return to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: Do not choose an Executive suite it is not worth the $s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liljojo05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Despite booking the deluxe room with spa bath it was disappointing. The room and hotel can best be described as "tired". It needs a complete refurbishment. Otherwise the service and amenities were adequate

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to know that the service and amenities were adequate.

We are looking into a few changes in the hotel, however it is an ongoing process.

Hope to have you stay with us shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Rooms very clean with a good kitchenette. Particularly like the rooms with 2 person spa, but they seem to be rarely available. I guess they are popular with others too. I use Wotif to make sure of a good rate.

Room Tip: Book early to get a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Yes indeed our spa rooms are very popular, however if your preference is a spa room I would recommend calling our friendly reservation staff and making a booking much in advance.

We do look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hi there. We booked and paid our accom online (2 nights including fully cooked breakfast) through wotif.com on 5/9/2013 (checked in on 18/10/2013). The hotel had no record of our booking and tried to make us pay twice without even checking their system to confirm our booking through wotif.com. They did that twice - once for the room only, and second for the breakfasts (despite us telling them the first time it included the breakfasts). They finally checked the booking and confirmed it as we had booked. In the morning the woman in the restaurant AGAIN tried to make us pay for our breakfasts without checking her bookings. Terrible service, so we won't be going back there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kiri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
944 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing