We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Chose it for the location but regreting it. Room look tired and old fashioned. Shower had a mind of its own and was changing from hot to cold and back. Ironing board broken and all that for $150. Will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your honest feedback, we always appreciate this.

I have taken all your comments on board and passed these onto the relevant head of departments to action. We do apologise for the faulty shower, Im sure if you had contacted our maintanence team , its easily fixed.

I do hope the negative aspects of your stay did not impede on your time in Auckland and we do hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 983 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had two single night stays here whilst visiting New Zealand. We had a great view from the first room of the Skytower. Can't say that the staff on the desk did anything apart from what was necessary. There was certainly no enthusiasm ! The Myers Park behind is worth a walk through and you are right by the Skytower with only a 10 minute walk. We arranged for our hire car to be dropped off at the hotel. We used Go Rentals. Can't recommend them enough - great service from start to finish. The booking process, speed at responding to emails and queries. The car was a few years old. We needed an estate car for the luggage and one that wouldn't stand out like a rental so was more than pleased. Anyway back to the hotel. The location is its best part.

Room Tip: High floor for good view of the Skytower
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank TheArcticHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for lack of enthusiasm of the front office staff– this is not the standard of excellence we strive to deliver to our guests.

Our staffs are usually commended on their friendly and accomodating service and I am sorry you didnt get that experience. Im glad that you have however enjoiyed our central location.

All our staff are given regular training so we can actively promote a high standard of service. We do hope you to welcome you back.

Thank you and Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location of the Amora is walking distance to Auckland's CBD. It is a tired hotel and would benefit from a refurbishment. I was travelling for work and if I had the option, I wouldn't chose to stay at the Amora.

The greeting from the front desk was efficient but not overly helpful. We arrived with a car and couldn't get into the car park. We were we had to check in first and to just give them our key and they would park it. This means you get stuck with a valet parking fee of $30. Self park is $20 but that option wasn't communicated at the time.

The room was okay, but smelt overpoweringly of room freshener. The bathroom has seen better days with mould in the grouting between tiles. My air conditioning unit was incredibly loud. Thankfully it wasn't summer and didn't need to leave it on during the night.

There is a fitness room, but as a business traveller it isn't overly helpful that it only opens at 7am - most people would need to be working out well before this time. There is an outside swimming pool which appeared to be open, but I didn't use.

Stayed for two nights and the servicing of the room was pretty rudimentary. The bed was made, but that was all that appeared to be done as part of the 'clean'.

The plus side to this hotel is that the bed was comfortable and there was a small kitchenette with a fridge, hot plates, microwave and crockery. There was a coffee plunger in the room but the coffee to use was in the mini-bar and cost $6. That does not impress me. Most other hotels I have stayed have given one complimentary portion of plunger coffee.

All in all it was very average experience and only just deserves the rating I have given it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wazmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Yes I did read the negative reviews of this place, but they seemed minor issues and as the deal they were offering was fantastic we booked! So pleased we did! Best location in Auckland and we stay in the city very regularly. The hotel over looks a beautiful park so you are not surrounded by skyscrapers like all other hotels in the city. Huge rooms. Washing machine and dryer. Yeah the Airconditioning is an after thought and would think it would be better they actually install proper units instead of the portable units. But we didn't have the need for the heater or air o unit ad the weather was never cold or hot.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking park are the better ones and won't infer from road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neatsKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

First time visiting Auckland and this hotel was booked for us.As we had planned to explore only Auckland we decided to use public transport,so caught the airport bus to the required stop and walked a short distance to the hotel UPHILL.The hotel is located halfway up a very steep hill fortunately we had carry on luggage so this was not too bad however for those that have mobility or breathing issues it would be a concern.
The staff were formal and polite and helpful with booking of tours but had little in the way of a welcoming smile,even over our 3 day stay this did not change,. The room located on the street side was clean and bright with a view of Skytower,a standing room only balcony,the usual complimentary items,and a small kitchenette and washer which we didn't use.
We chose not to eat at the hotel but did join in with happy hour on 2 of the 3 nights where we had snack food which we had no problems with
The hotel is within easy walking distance to the bus stops.and the CBD,there are some nice eatery's around the corner The fire and ambulance stations are located close by and sirens can heard at various times during the day and night.
Public transport is very close and easy to use.
A comfortable hotel in a handy location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel was very good for staying in central Auckland. Lovely swimming pool and spa we also made use of the gym. Great Kitchen fully stocked and washing machine and clothes drier. We were able to leave our car in the garage the whole time we were there and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryvicH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel room was large and had a spa tub which is what I had wanted. The balcony was small however, the view was to a lovely treed area and a bit of the pool, so it was nice. There was a kitchenette which was handy. One of the wine glasses was dirty which made me wash everything we used. The location is good and handy.
I would stay here again as it provided what I needed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,443 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $115 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing