We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Room with great amenities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amora Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #25 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Room with great amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The hotel was very good for staying in central Auckland. Lovely swimming pool and spa we also made use of the gym. Great Kitchen fully stocked and washing machine and clothes drier. We were able to leave our car in the garage the whole time we were there and walk everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryvicH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    315
    235
    103
    52
See reviews for
110
372
61
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel room was large and had a spa tub which is what I had wanted. The balcony was small however, the view was to a lovely treed area and a bit of the pool, so it was nice. There was a kitchenette which was handy. One of the wine glasses was dirty which made me wash everything we used. The location is good and handy.
I would stay here again as it provided what I needed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lori m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have always enjoyed staying here. NOT anymore. Firstly $27.50 for a full cooked breakfast consists now of a small (real small) breakfast sausage with no taste, one slice burnt bacon. hash brown, Spoonful of mushrooms not even in a sauce, a cherry tomato and two broken eggs. I would say however that the hot chocolate was very good and the staff very friendly.
The main evening meals were poor as well, Chicken overcooked and dry, the choc tart was tastless and the cheeseboard was a joke.
The room on first inspection was neat and tidy and looked clean, However blood on the duvet, sheet missing and the outer blanket was full of holes and was grubby - Not up to the usual Amora/duxton standards at all. The bedding was changed. I had thought they would have dropped the $30 upgrade fee because of the bedding .... but no.
I am very disappointed with the quality now and my friends and I shall no longer stay here.

Room Tip: Over the park has nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewZealandGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
591 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour package, so I do not know the cost of the rooms. However, it was conveniently located for walking to the downtown area, but you need to understand that Auckland is hilly, so you will have to do some serious up and down walking. We found this to be refreshing and no problem. It is also within convenient distance of busses to take you anywhere in the area, including the museum. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. The view from our room was superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

You can't fault the location, close to Queen St and K Road yet quiet enough. The hotel just has no atmosphere - compared with the Amora in Wellington which is awesome atmosphere wise.
Pros - large room, kitchen and laundry, bed OK, had a wee balcony which was nice and centrally located
Cons - tired tired tired room, weird air conditioning unit with a pipe out the window so the blinds don't close, terrible shower (and over bath), noise from other rooms but ok from outside, surly receptionist who clearly didn't want to talk to us
Not sure we would stay there again. Pool looked good but didn't use it.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms would probably have less street noise, not that there was much of that to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nzweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was the second time I'd stayed at this hotel. The Restaurant (The Grill) is very nice dining, rooms are well appointed and the staff friendly. Rooms are very clean and tidy and the location is perfect for either walking, public transport or driving excursions all over Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valen73nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights. Our room was a corner room located on the ninth floor. Amazing view of the city and the Sky Tower with a side balcony overlooking the park. Our room was pretty spacious and had a kitchenette, fridge and a washer/dryer. The washer/dryer took forever to cyle, it took me three days to do three small loads of laundry. The location is pretty good, a walk down the hill and down Queen Street to the Harbour front (15 mins). The restaraunt was always empty?? - we didn't try breakfast, but tried one of their Dinner specials - 2 courses for $30 per person. The food we had was absolutely delicious! 5 star! We loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The service was good. All in all one of the nicer hotels we stayed in on our trip Downunder.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#20 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Property: Amora Hotel Auckland
Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing