We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amora Hotel Auckland
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$222
$210
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$166
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$207
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveler rating
211
400
283
112
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
400
283
112
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmyers parkgreys avetree lined streetwashing machineaotea centresky towerk roadqueen streetsmall balconyquiet locationcentral citynice roomwould stay againnew zealandcomfy bedfull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
777 - 782 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Good location in Central Auckland.....could walk everywhere we wanted to.

When we were there it was in the low 20's celcius outside but the room never got below 27 celcius even with the portable air conditioner running constantly (noisy). Don't recommend going there in warm weather!

Came back one day to find the room still had not been made up at 4:30 pm......called the front desk and they sent someone to look after it about 30 minutes later....no apology received.

Bed was comfortable, kitchenette area was well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed during Easter 2013 in a deluxe room on the 9th floor.

Room was a good size with balcony, separate table, good sized bench to put bags on, small but adequate cloths cabinet, 34cm flat screen tv with a few foxtel channels, and adequate bathroom with plenty of hot water with good pressure (although no exhaust fan).

Bathroom was equipped with the very basic shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, body moisturiser, soap but NO other extras like sewing kit, shaving cream, toothpaste, etc.

There was a washer/dryer in a small cabinet with one satchel of washing powder which could be useful, coffee/tea making facilities and supplies, mini kitchen with sink and various utensils.

Whatever you pay for this room be prepared to add for some basic extras - parking $20 per day (if they have space!), breakfast $27 or $20 on weekends, and wifi $15 per day - so that can add significantly to the cost. So that's and extra $62 before you start!. I'll add my usually rant about how charging for wifi is like charging for electricity and is stupid.

Bed was nice and comfy and the room was clean and not so outdated as other posts have commented on.

As others have posted, room has a strange set-up with the air conditioner. It is a separate floor mounted unit inside the room and ducted to the outside. Because of this it is a bit noisy and could be a problem if you are a light sleeper and needed some cooling or heating at night.

If you have a car then although convenient to park at the hotel, you can park on the street for free on Sundays, public holidays, and from 6pm to 8:30am each day. Saturday street parking is $1 per hour from 8:30 to 6pm. There is also a parking station down the road for $12 per day.

The hotel is located in a quiet street but quite close to Queen St where there are plenty of restaurants and just up from the Aotea Centre which could be convenient if you are coming to see a show.

Rooms at the rear overlook a small park. Check-in and out was easy although it was not very busy. I did not eat in so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozitravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and i managed to get a deal on Grabone for a night here in a spa room with a 2 course dinner for two. We arrived early and while the room was not ready, they did let us park the car in the basement garage early at no charge. the carpark is a tight fit, so if you have a big car, beware. we have a people mover and were glad the carpark at that particular time was not full.

The rooms are clean and tidy, but starting to get a little tired. They have kitchenettes so you can cook your own food in them. they also have washing machine/dryer so if you have an extended stay that would be useful. The bed is large and not split mattress, but i found it a bit soft. I would have liked to have seen some medium or large bed pillows (they were all small).

the shower was strong which i like, and the spa bath clean, although no instructions. each room has an airconditiioning unit, but it was noisy. also you could hear the next room if they have their spa bath on, but thankfully no other human noises :)

the pool area is tired, but has a nice outlook over myers park. However we did enjoy a nice reasonably priced cocktail sitting outside on the patio area.

The service was friendly and willing but far from 5 star. be aware that if you are expecting top notch experience with the service this is not he place for you, but they are trying hard.

the meals were not spectacular. more like a family restaurant quality. they did the trick, but if you are wanting a romantic or special dinner, i suggest booking a meal at a city restaurant. There wine and cocktail list was very basic. I am a caeliac so while they understood this meant no gluten, you could tell i would have to double check with each and every course.


I would have to say that if i had had to pay full price for the meals and accommodation i would have been disappointed, but with the deal i got which was 50% off the room plus the free meals, then it met the purpose well

Room Tip: rooms facing the park are nicer
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzawebbnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here so could attend "Cantina", part of the Auckland Arts Festival. Very convenient location, clean, tidy and roomy twin hotel room. No complaints. Staff were approachable and friendly, knew what they were doing. Brief walk from hotel through Myers Park to the Aotea Centre on Queen St

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leibabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is ok, just minutes from downtown Auckland. Nothing flash about the place but it has nice views if you are facing the park. The car park is a real squeeze so don’t try parking a larger vehicle.

The room was fine so long as you don’t want the air-conditioning unit on. The place was built without it and they have retrofitted an extremely noisy free standing unit in the room that was a real turn off when the room got hot.

Room Tip: Choose one with plently of opening windows so you don't have to turn the aircon unit on.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artmcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews