We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay, better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I booked this hotel through Wotif, one of their mystery hotels. After I read Tripadvisor reviews I got a bit worried, but having stayed here for 2 nights, I would be happy to stay here again.

Check-in was friendly, efficient and fast, as was check-out. Reception was always happy to answer my questions. One night I had room service, and I was very happy with that too.

The room was spacious, clean and well-presented, but a bit lacking in ambience. If you go looking, you can see the odd scuff mark or worn patch, but I find the descriptions of run-down rooms so different to the one I had (601). The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen equipment was basic, but enough to do simple meal preparation. The toiletries in the bathroom were good quality with a pleasant, soft scent. The room was very light and sunny, and had a decent sized balcony, although this may have been bigger than some of the other rooms I think.

My room was at the side of the building, not overlooking the park or the street. Instead it overlooked the synagogue next door, which has a primary school attached to it, and the central fire station on the other side of the synagogue. There were occasional sirens from the fire station, but I'm used to city noises. The school was relatively quiet, even when the children were outside. I don't think it is a big school. There is also a nice deli at the synagogue, which does good coffee.

Finally, there is the location. The Amora is convenient to the Aotea Centre, which was one of the places I was going on this trip. It is also very convenient to the airport bus, and to the red city link bus. The Amora is also within easy walking distance of Karangahape Rd, where there is a stop for the green inner link bus which goes to the Auckland Museum, Newmarket, Parnell and Ponsonby.

I felt like I got a real bargain here. If I had paid full price, then the rather ordinary and functional appearance of the rooms would have disappointed me. If you can get a discounted rate, then it is an excellent base for exploring Auckland.

Room Tip: For a quiet night, remove the battery from the wall clock to stop it ticking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 970 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We would never go there again. Firstly we were given a non spa room when we paid for a spa room.Complained and then were shifted to a spa room. Food at dinner and breakfast was terrible, very over cooked both times. Rooms were tired and needed some love eg; cartpet, paint, bathroom, bed, and the big bulky noisy airconditioner still stuck in the corner. Same furnishings as when The Duxton opened many years ago. We stayed there many times when it was the Duxton as we enjoyed it. Great disappointment.

Room Tip: Just don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJBRSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel is overall good the rooms have a lot of extras ours had a small kitchenette, balcony and a washer/dryer. Beds are comfortable linens are clean and white but appeared worn and ready to be replaced. We made the mistake of trying to use the washer/dryer it washed ok but never dried the clothing we ended up hanging the wash in the balcony (FYI we were not the only room who ended up doing this). Check in / out was fast and efficient and they will store your luggage for free when checking out this was nice since we were not able to get a late check out at the end of our stay. Bar has nice outside terrace area drinks are expensive but not unreasonable for a hotel bar didn't dine at the hotel but the dinning area look nice.

If its going to be hot the A/C might be a concern it a free standing unit in room kind of odd and did not appear very capable but we did not use it so can't say for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and make sure you get it for the best view, let will try to put you on a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Amora is situated in a really convenient location, around the corner from the main roads of Queen Street and K Road, and a ten minute walk to the harbour. The reception was well presented, with comfortable furniture to relax in while waiting downstairs, along with a very nice restaurant and bar overlooking Myers Park. We weren't very impressed by the service at the reception, which was friendly enough but often inefficient, but the service of everyone else working there was fantastic. They couldn't have been more helpful, warm, and friendly. The restaurant prices ranged from fair to slightly pricey, but the food was always beautifully presented and of a very good standard. They also do weekday lunch specials, which is good if you plan on staying there for a while and don't feel like going into the city to eat.

Our room was on the third level, and was spacious, with a balcony overlooking Greys Avenue. The room had all the facilities we needed for a week's long stay, with a great kitchenette, if you want to cook for yourself. There is a bit of noise from the road, but at night everything is quiet and we never had a problem. As others have said, the air conditioning unit does look old and happened to stop working while we were there. But we notified the reception and they had it fixed while we were out. The internet rates are also very pricey, especially if you plan on being there for more than a few days. Otherwise, we were really comfortable in the room and didn't feel we needed anything else.

Other facilities include newspaper delivery each morning, at your request, and there is a small gym if you need to blow off some steam. It's a small range of equipment, but has the most popular: treadmill, spinning bike, weights. Towels and water are also provided, which was nice, and the gym overlooks the park, which makes running on the treadmill a lot better!

I would really recommend staying here. Overall, I was very pleased with the service and don't think you could get a better location, unless you're willing to pay for the price of being right next to the harbour.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room on the park side, rather than the road side, if noise is a big problem for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NtrepidTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

For a 4 star hotel.. There is no customer service! Front desk staff are rude and unhelpful! Some ancient room cooler stuck in the corner of the room "air conditioning". Advertised 3 hours free Internet each day and then said that offer no longer valid. Wouldn't get off the phone while checking us in! Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I do apologise that your stay was not up to your expectation. I can assure you that my team here are not rude and I'm sorry that you feel that way.

We absolutely do not have any advertisement anywhere with regards to 3 hour free internet, Im sorry that you have been mislead. We are also looking into replacing our air-con unit soon.

I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation and very quickly indeed. The staff are pleasant enough although the reception staff find it hard to follow basic instructions. We had an early morning call at 7.30am booked for the first morning , but this continued for a further day which was not well received being a Saturday. i was conducting interviews at the hotel on the Friday so I asked the girl on reception to ask the candidate to wait in reception whilst i had a quick sandwich in the restaurant,....... the candidate was sent into the restaurant causing me to only eat half of my lunch and the candidate to feel very embarrassed.
The rooms whilst a reasonable size, do not have air con or heating so there are portable units in the bedroom and living area , but they are so loud you cannot hear the TV let alone try and sleep with them on. The hotel also backs onto a very nice park which unfortunately is home to late night drinkers screaming all through the night on all three nights we stayed at the hotel.
Choose another hotel in Auckland for business or pleasure as there are plenty better than this at similar prices.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on seventh floor. Good news: kitchen practical, room spacious, balcony small but provided pleasant view of trees and neighbourhood. Not so good: no wi-fi above 1st floor, internet expensive ($30 for 3 days) but slow on a wired connection, air-conditioning was a small portable unit with hot air exhausted via a taped together connection through the window - very noisy and inefficient, charged for a water bottle I didn't consume, staff lacked knowledge of events in the vicinity and provided indifferent service. For this price, try elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $120 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing