We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner city comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just spent a week at the Amora, and found it comfortable and convenient. We needed a wheelchair accessible room, and had no trouble booking one. It was very spacious, with a really well set-out bathroom, and the kitchen was very useful. We slept well in the comfy bed, despite the frequent sirens from the fire station next door! Our room had a small balcony, which like the spa and swimming pool wasn't accessible in a wheelchair, however our room was comfortable, and the CBD location made up for any small inadequacies, including the rather interesting and very noisy air-con. The staff were quietly friendly, and we'll certainly stay again on our next trip to Auckland. I think this was the best accessible room we've ever stayed in, and I certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Westerly facing rooms are pretty hot by the time you get back from a hard days shopping in Queen Str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inapinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 971 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for my birthday in January and we got the Deluxe Room- I would highly recommend staying in these rooms as it was a two story hotel room with two bedrooms, full kitchen, spacious lounge and 2 fantastic bathrooms. We felt like we were in a penthouse! The check in staff were great and the next day we had breakfast in the restaurant. I really liked how they did breakfast as they had the cereals and wide variety of fruits and breads etc as a buffet but it was nice that we got to order our hot meal so we knew our eggs and tomatoes, mushrooms etc were fresh off the grill rather than sitting in a buffet area. I thought this was different and a nice touch.
It was only a 10min walk down Queenstreet to the shops, bars and nightlife so very accessible to everything.
Would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Even Aucklanders wanting a nite out!

Room Tip: Get the Deluxe room for something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently had a one night stay and was pleasantly surprised. Clean, modern, bright and quiet room.

Very central to K road, Queen street and an easy stroll down the hill to the Viaduct.

Only problem was the portable air-con which was extremely noisy. I needed it as the room got full sun and had warmed up by the evening.

Otherwise lovely accommodation and I would stay again definitely!

Room Tip: I had a room on the 8th floor looking down toward the water. Just gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Some of the positives were a good sized room, a half hour walk from the water front, very good breakfast buffet and a decent dinning room if you want to eat dinner in. The negative was that our room had a broken vent from the portable air conditioner which we didn't think too much about as the large sliding door let in plenty of air. Worked well the first night. The second night there were loud people (drunk) walking in front of the hotel until early morning, making it impossible to sleep. I would really suggest a room as high up as possible and towards the rear of the building. The room was a bit dated but clean.

Room Tip: Take room in high floors away from the noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good location and fairly priced, it was a memorable stay for my wife and I, the room is clean and well appointed, really enjoyed the quiet and green surroundings with easy access to the town centre, the airport shttle bus stop is quite close by just across the Park.

Overlooking the trees on Greys Avenue and the view of the Casino Tower is exellent, a very nice relaxing stay.

Definitely a top choice when we return to Auckland next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fish7yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in January for one night on the grabone deal. This deal was great value for money and included car parking and a two course dinner with wine. The location of the hotel is great and the staff at reception were friendly and check in was nice and fast. Our room was located on the first floor and was showing signs of wear and tear (nothing a good coat of paint wouldn't fix), the kitchen was well equipped and the in-room spa bath was fabulous. The one thing that did let our room down was an extremely loud air conditioning unit. It was so loud we were unable to sleep (or even watch tv) with it on. Being a hot summers night made this a very uncomfortable sleep. I did approach reception earlier in the day about a room change, but after checking with her supervisor, the receptionist advised me that all the rooms had the same units. Not sure if this is actually the case.

We really enjoyed our meal in the hotel restaurant. The food was excellent, freshly prepared and the maitre d provided excellent service.

We would hesitate to stay again unless the air con problem is resolved.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wellywooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i was talked into giving you guys another chance after a really terrible stay six months ago, and i am really happy to write a better review this time round. stayed with my friend on friday night and the hotel was much quieter this time. the staff were really friendly and helpful (one gentleman helped us organise a taxi about midnight by first ringing around for a quote then booked it for us which was really great of him) and after a lovely breakfast in the morning i went to reception to ask what time check out was as it hadn't been specified on the voucher, he basically told us that yeah it hadn't been specified so when would we like to check out! that was a really nice touch and put a lot of stress off us. on check out we were thanked for our stay and wished a happy weekend (MUCH better than the extremely rude person last time) so with all of that i would like to thank Amora for showing great customer service and i hope you guys keep it up coz reading recent reviews it seems to have its moments which is disappointing as its a really nice hotel. anyway i will be back in future, hope this review boosts your staffs moral and remember even a tiny bit of effort and service with a smile will make a huge difference :)

Room Tip: i stayed on the 9th floor which looked over Myers park, very nice view and quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Meg_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
985 reviews
1.0 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
795 reviews
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $119 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing