We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Hotel Auckland
Ranked #26 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Work colleagues and I got two grab one deals @ $155.00 for two people. Included a spa room, 2 course dinner, 2 glasses of wine, parking and a late check out of mid day. Checking in was effortless and efficient. Secured parking with easy access to lifts was excellent. The room was beautiful, well equipped with a great view of the park. The pool looked inviting. We asked for our meals to be delivered rather than eaten in the restaurant and that was no problem. Issues included the door key not working, but that was fixed quickly with batteries being replaced. I lost my key at one point and received a replacement without dilemma. The next morning someone opened the door without knocking, apologised and asked what time I was checking out. This happened two more times. I requested an even later check out which I paid for without drama. Overall a pleasant surprise. The staff were very nice. Good location. Good value. I'd go back.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a park view. I suspect the higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WairuaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of Amora Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that in general you enjoyed your stay.Your feedback is important to us and will assist us in improving our guest experience.
We were pleased that you found our team friendly; they will be delighted to read your comment. I would like to apologise to you for the inconvenience with the room keys, cell phones and other static devices can at times remove the encoding and sometimes this baterry operated lock runs out without any warning.

I'm sorry to hear that you were disturbed by our minibar staffs. I will definetly bring this matter to their attention.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 986 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We checked in for the weekend after getting a Grab One deal. The first signs of the averageness was up on the floor of our room reeked of curry! Constantly! The whole weekend! Luckily though, our room smelled good.

The room was nice. The spa bath looked inviting but unfortunately had two loooong hairs in it! Yeek! I still used it a few times and it was good though. The couch in the room was also covered in hair which was pretty gross. The bathroom didn't seem to have an extractor fan either. But other than that, the room was adequate.

As part of our deal we were entitled to a two course meal each and two glasses of wine. This was about $80 value. Unfortunately we had to go somewhere and asked if perhaps we could swap for two continental breakfasts. We were told no. What about if we got it and had room service later? No!

On the middle day we were sitting in our room when we got a quick knock and then someone just opened our door and asked if we were leaving soon. Ummmm, no we'd booked two nights. Lucky we were just watching tv....

As for the other stuff, location was great. It is noisy, but that's Auckland! The best part of the hotel was Daniel, the guy in the restaurant. He was so helpful!

So all in all, average. I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emskitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Thank you for your review of Amora Hotel Auckland following your recent stay.

We are very disappointed to read of the issue you found in the room with regard to the cleanliness. Finding hair in your room is unacceptable by our standards.We often get complimented on the standard of the rooms and it is obvious on this occasion we have failed to deliver and for this I would like to extend to you my sincerest apologies. It is a shame that you did not bring this to our attention during our stay as we would have certainly moved you to another room and followed up with the Executive Housekeeper.

I do apologise that we were not able to swap your dinner vouchers for breakfast. This deal is designed to work for the hotel as well as grabone.As such, the system is pogrammed to accept 2 complimentary dinner. if we keyed in breakfast, it will be charged as the value is not the same, and we will have to do void or adjustments, which will affect our revenue report. However, there should not have been any problems in using the dinner voucher for dinner room service.

The team will be working hard on the points you have listed and we would like to thank you once again for your comments. In summary we are genuinely sorry you did not enjoy your experience and thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good value at $150.00 a night per room. $20.00 per day secure under cover carparking. Full cooked breakfast $20.00 and dinner reasonable prices a bit expensive for what is on offer and basic menu, drinks expensive, limited selection of wines,beers $9.00 each no low carb beers. Pool and hot tub both out side and close to the restaurant and bar so there is no privacy. Rooms are of a good size including mini bar, microwave, washing machine / dryer combined. Central city but away from restaurants and bars, 10 minute walk to them. $15 - $20 dollar max taxi fare and you are on the city water front. Food is very much average hotel quality, service was good and friendly. Not a hotel for kids more suitable for singles or couples. A quieter hotel to stay at compared to most inner city hotels. Personally i dont think the extra cost for the spa bath rooms are worth the difference. Very small spa baths.

Room Tip: Reasonably quiet given location, if you want a quiet area requst a room facing the park and not road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEANDMEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay at the Amora Hotel Auckland. We appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and are delighted to hear that your stay met your needs and expectations and that you found our product to be very good value for money. I'm glad that you enjoyed our hospitable service too.We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Last minute booking, via Wotif, a very pleasant surprise! Well located, clean, well appointed room, with free parking and full breakfast as the 'deal of the day'.

Rooms included washing machine, dishwasher, toaster and tea and coffee making. You could really make this our base for your Auckland holiday.

A shame we were here for just one night.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park, includes balcony with full opening doors, great for fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueLodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thanks for providing a review of your stay. It was good to read of your positive experience with the the location of the hotel and the cleanliness standard of your room, and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always stay at this hotel when i visit Auckland on business also king deluxe spa room.. as a business client that has stayed here over 10 times they could not locate my details in the system ?? The rooms are starting to date and the cleaners need to be supervised better we found a half eaten chocolate bar under the desk and the glasses in the bathroom still had soap scum from the last guest. they must have long term residents in the hotel rooms and we were over powered by curry cooking each time you went into the corridor. the veneer is starting to lift on the desks and the room was just dated in my opinion. I had normally rated this property quite highly however this time i was disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crashpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear crashpalace,
I appreciate your feedback. I was surprised and disappointed to read some of your comments.
I do apprecaited your feedback and the time you have taken to write about all of the events. I wish to ensure you that I have vigorously followed up on your concerns.
I do hope you will consider a return visit in the near future so that we may demonstrate to you the true spirit of Amora hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We booked a deal for a Deluxe King Spa-bath room. The room is spacious and clean and has a small balony and the bed is very comfortable. The rooms do lack a bit of sound proofing but not too bad. The meals are nice [besides a small incident - the waiter spilt a glass of red wine on my husband by accident! but all was fine, they had his shirt drycleaned and posted to him - gave us something to remember it by :)] The staff are very friendly and the waiter very very apologetic. There is a swimming pool outside (not warm enough for me yet! lol) and outdoor seating for drinks in the sun. It is also situated about a 10-15 minute walk into the centre of the CBD. The Link bus from town can get you 3/4 of the way there (very cheap). Myers park is situated right next door if you wish to sit and listen to the birds.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking Myers Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear TheBarrsNZ,
Thanks for providing a review of your stay. It was good to read of your positive experience with the service of our staff, the meals in the reataurant and the standard of your room, and I hope to welcome you back to the Amora Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Easy check in, staff very professional .Room layout great and Park side of Hotel is quite for a city hotel.we dined in at the grill Restaruant service and food very good .A short walk to queen street and Movies ,concert venues ect .Highly recomend this hotel for a relaxing couples break.

Room Tip: Park Veiw side of hotel was great.King Bed very comfy double spa exellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHA2011, Public Relations Manager at Amora Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Gary p,

It was a pleasure to read your comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our superb location and the excellent dining you experienced in our Grill Restaurant. Thanks again, and we hope to see you back again soon.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
542 reviews
0.6 mi away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Auckland

Address: 100 Greys Ave, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Duxton Hotel Auckland)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $113 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amora Hotel Auckland welcomes you to our oasis of calm in central Auckland. Tranquil views above peaceful Myers Park, tree-lined Greys Avenue and out over the city are yours when you stay at our luxury boutique hotel. Offering all the features and services that you would expect in a much larger hotel, the hotel focuses on the attention to detail that serves to differentiate the Amora. The Amora Hotel Auckland is ideally positioned amongst magnificent park surroundings and overlooks Myers Park in central Auckland. With its central location close to the main business district, the hotel is also ideally located within strolling distance to major shopping and entertainment areas, Sky City, New Market and Ponsonby. The Amora Hotel Auckland offers a range of rooms from Deluxe to Penthouse Suites. Classically styled and tastefully decorated, some have views over lush Myers Park and others to the city and beyond. All rooms offer a fully equipped kitchen and a private balcony. Many also feature decadent spa baths with wooden louvre shutter that open out onto the main room.Enjoy high quality, seasonally fresh New Zealand cuisine in elegant surroundings at The Grill or choose to dine al fresco on the terrace by the pool. Come to The Amora Hotel Auckland to relax and unwind, take a dip in the heated outdoor swimming pool ideally situated on the terrace overlooking Myers Park. For the more active, a workout in the hotel gymnasium might be in order, or take the advantage of the local jogging tracks in Myers Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amora Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Duxton Hotel
Duxton Auckland
Amora Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing