We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2006

We stayed 2 nights in the first week of October, which coincided with one of Auckland's wettest weekends on record. We had flown directly from Houston Texas via LAX so was elated by being met by "Uncle" at the airport and delivered to Sally and Gerry at the Great Ponsonby about 40 minutes later. They had reserved us a downstairs suite on account of our excess baggage [we were starting on a 2 month tour of OZ and NZ). The welcoming pot of hot tea and cookies were exactly what we needed. Gerry is a mine of information both on local places of interest as well as more distant destinations, so be sure to run your travel plans past him. We did.

As said before, the weather was terrible with sheeting rain coming through every hour or so. The local circular bus ride "The Link" runs by the end of the street on a 20 minute basis and will take you right downtown. We found a Continental/Italian restuarant about a 20 minute walk from the B&B that could easily have been teleported right out of Paris. Excellent.

The previous gripe that also covered meal portions needs a detailed slap down. Sally cooks a gourmet hot breakfast from a menu that includes "Eggs Benedict". I suspect she would cook a double portion if asked as yes, these portions are smaller than a standard US or UK B&B breakfast. However, there are ample types of bread, toast, fruit,crumpets, juices, yogurt, mueslix etc to fill up on. We personally think a standard cooked English full breakfast is gluttonous and think the Ponsonby are on the right course.

We were lucky to meet another group of guests (Tom and Linda)with whom we could share our brief time in Auckland. This is probably another positive facet of the G Ponsonby. Its guest list. I would hazard a guess that one could always befriend another group at the B&B as they are all of a more discerning nature and have interesting backgrounds. Yes we will definitely stay at the Great Ponsonby again the next time we fly into Auckland.

  • Liked — Gerry and Sally
  • Disliked — Hill climb to Ponsonby Road
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared for bad weather
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Xlimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    89
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
279
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

My partner and I stayed at the Great Ponsonby a couple of nights last november and I can't think in a better place to stay. We are from Chile and this kind of accommodation is still rare over there. I work in tourism and I was specially interested in try something authentic. The first impression is always crucial and we had the best one, Gerry with his natural charm introduce us to the place and to the city with interesting advice about what to do and where to go. The location was another highlight in our experience, the B&B is located in the heart of Ponsonby, a mix of historic buildings, fashion and cafes full of character. We stayed at one of the palm studios, very quiet, exquisite decoration and inmaculate cleanliness. The next morning we had the plasure to meet Sally in the dining room , who was ready to delight us with an incredible breakfast. We are not use to have such a massive breakfast, but after that morning we became bacon & egg addicts. Gerry and Sally were always open to answer our questions and also interested in to kwow about us, guests from south america are something unusual, but they were very well informed. Their staff were always helpful and smiley, essencial factor to any premier accommodation like The Great Ponsonby. No doubt in recommend this place! A ojos cerrados!

  • Liked — Armosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss the breakfast!!!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

My wife & I stayed at the Great Ponsonby for two nights in November 2006, for the start of our honeymoon in New Zealand.
It is a fantastic little hotel in Auckalnd and honestly we only wish we had allowed more time. It is located in a lovely residential neighborhood in THE nice district of Auckalnd. It is also a ggod starting point for getting around and visit Auckland. The owners are helpful and friendly and will help you in identifying the best things to do and where to go. The rooms are really nice (we stayed in the Orange room) and have everything that you need!And the breakfast is fabulous!!! Gerry (the owner) cooks it for you!! WoW!!!! We will come back and stay There again and again, and would recommend it highly. If you arrive to New Zealand this is the perfect place to start and to finish yourtrip!!

  • Liked — The friendliness of the owners!
  • Disliked — Nothing! This is a great place!
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there and you will not regret it!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank karim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2006

My husband & I stayed at the Great Ponsonby for one night on Oct. 26, before we boarded a cruise ship sailing out of Auckland. What a fabulous little hotel, we only wish we had allowed more time. It is located in a lovely residential neighborhood about 2 blocks from a main road in a very hip area of the city featuring shops and restaurants, you can walk to lots of fun places. The owners are helpful and friendly, but unobtrusive. The inn is very clean and the rooms are large with many amenities. And the breakfast - hot, cooked to order, and fabulous! For an extra fee, they can arrange for a driver to pick you up at the airport, something we found well worth it after a long flight from the U.S. Would stay here again and again, and would recommend it highly.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Tips/Secrets — use their airport pick up service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terryk&mikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. The rooms are very well appointed, the beds are comfortable, the baths are graced with artisan tiles, and there is interesting artwork everywhere you look. They have a warm and welcoming common room with wine at hand, books and travel guides to read, music and wi-fi access.
The breakfast room is the perfect place to begin your day, and the food is plentiful and superb. The best thing about the Ponsonby, however, is the warmth and hospitality of your hosts, Sally and Gerry. I've stayed here many times, and they have always gone out of their way to make sure that my visit was fun, interesting, and comfortable. They have extensive knowledge about Auckland and all of New Zealand, and can recommend places to visit and stay throughout the country. If you're coming in from the airport, I would recommend that you ask them to arrange for Uncle Harding to provide you with transport to the Ponsonby. You'll be glad you did.

Enjoy your stay at The Great Ponsonby. I can't wait until my next visit!

  • Liked — Warmth and Hospitality of the Hosts
  • Disliked — I liked everything about the Ponsonby
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask Sally and Gerry to arrange for Uncle Harding to bring you in from the airport.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzfluteplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2006

My husband and I just returned home after 4 wonderful weeks in New Zealand. When I read the 19 Oct negative posting about the Great Ponsonby, I had doubts as to whether the reviewer and I had stayed at the same B&B.

I can't sit silent and let a negative review keep any one from the great experience we had at the Great Ponsonby.

I can assure you that my husband and I did stay at the Great Ponsonby. We began our stay in NZ at the beginning of Oct with 3 nights there; and because we enjoyed our first stay so much, we decided to spend our last 2 nights in NZ at the same B&B.

We received a warm welcome on our arrival. The grounds of the B&B are beautiful, and the rooms are cozy and comfortable. The lounge was a great place to make and compare travel plans with fellow travellers or just peruse the many lovely and informative books on the Auckland area and NZ culture and history.

The hosts have taken great pains to renovate the building and outbuildings to match the construction style in use in the Ponsonby section of Auckland during the Victorian era.

Our conversations with the people who were staying here--ranging from Americans spending a couple of days in Auckland before beginning a 2-week cruise, to a retired English couple planning an eight-week stay--confirmed our opinion about the place. Guests were photographing the buildings and the grounds of the B&B, actively engaging the hosts in formulating travel plans, or happily chatting about their travel plans.

The hosts are well travelled themselves and were able to offer an amazing range of information and insight to guests. Not only do you get the usual recommendations on where to eat in town, but the hosts also provide names and addresses of other B&B's across the country and an incredible number of suggestions on what to see and do--whether you want to visit a gannet colony, a greenstone factory/store, or a winery.

At no other B&B in NZ did we have the choice for breakfast that we had here. There is a cold breakfast and a choice of 5 or 6 offerings for a hot breakfast. You can have both a cold breakast and a hot breakfast. That's a lot of food, and believe me, I know about big breakfasts...I'm from Texas.

We have friends leaving for a visit to NZ in November. We'll recommend they begin and end their visit at the Great Ponsonby, too, and we'll make the same recommendation to you

There is one downside to staying at the Great Ponsonby. You might just get so cozy and conformtable you won't want to get out and do all the touristy things in your planner!

  • Liked — Knowledgeable hosts, great breakfasts, beautiful grounds, great location.
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything I didn't like.
  • Tips/Secrets — You can ask for seconds at breakfast; engage other guest for ideas on traveling.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank linda&tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Great location, cute B&B. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The staff are personable and provided good feedback in helping us plan our itinerary. They were kind enough to allow us to store our luggage there when we left to the south island for a few days. The food was excellent. I enjoyed the rapport we established with "uncle" who took us to and from the airport. A very warm and wonderful B&B!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank emilylcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing