We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #5 of 53 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Great location, cute B&B. Walking distance to great shops and restaurants. The staff are personable and provided good feedback in helping us plan our itinerary. They were kind enough to allow us to store our luggage there when we left to the south island for a few days. The food was excellent. I enjoyed the rapport we established with "uncle" who took us to and from the airport. A very warm and wonderful B&B!

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank emilylcsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    89
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
279
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

I just can't believe this last review.
We stayed at the Great Ponsonby 2 nights and I just can say that it was great.
The staff and the owners Gerry and Sally were always very kind and helpful.
The rooms are very nice and classy, the breakfast was excellent and the tips Gerry and Sally gave us about going out or something like that were always perfect.

Thanks for a unforgettable residence!

Jochen

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Jochen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights recently during a 3 week trip to New Zealand.

Upon arrival, our hosts suggested we visit Cafe XXX on the ponsonby road, as it was easily the "best in the area". This was then re-iterated 3 or 4 times in the short journey to our room.

Upon asking our hosts about options in the city (we wanted to go into the city) we were abruptly told that we shouldnt bother and should go to XXX - again. Its one thing to suggest something, its another to have it rammed down your throat without considering that other people may have different tastes.

Unfortunately, this was how our relationship with our hosts continued. On arrival for breakfast we were told that there was no room inside, so they had "set up a table outside in the conservatory". It was cold, raining, and we didnt fancy sitting out there with the dog and cat that roamed around at their leisure. "Whats the matter with you!?" - was the hosts' respsonse to our refusal at this.

The hosts were of course already seated inside, enjoying their breakfast cooked by their "help". We then had to endure our breakfast with the hosts strategising about how best to manage their business/advertise their hotel etc. Basically, as a guest paying a premium rate, I would NEVER expect to have to sit through the owners unprofessionally talking about their business and endure their endless egos.

Onto the room.

The best way to explain it would be small and shabby. I also thought it had the look of "How my grandparents think Funky looks".

The coathangers stuck to the wall are meant to be funky, but to me, it means there's no room for a wardrobe. The bathroom was "half-done". It had some nice tiles, with what looked like a $1 shower cubicle.

If you have any kind of appetite, you can forget breakfast, the meagre portions, while tastefully presented are, i'm sure, helping towards their bottom line!

Everywhere else we stayed in NZ was fantastic value and of a very high quality, don't believe all you see in websites.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank WorldTravellaplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2006

The expected: The Great Ponsonby has everything and more that you would anticipate in a highly rated, very comfortable B&B In the interesting and lively Ponsonby area of Auckland. The proprietors are a marvelous source of information about how to go about doing and seeing what suits. It's quiet - and yet a mere couple of blocks to the main street and convenient Link Bus which runs every 10 minutes around the environs of Auckland for a mere $1.50.

Although there is internet connection in every room, for those who didn't lug a laptop, there's one for guests use in the comfortable skylighted sitting room, a complete array of travel books and brochures about events and history in the general area and all of New Zealand ,as well as thoughtfully provided snacks and honor system bar.

Breakfasts are delicious and beautifully individualized and, for tea-drinkers, they know how to properly brew tea in a pot with loose leaves, strainer alongside the cup.

The magnificent: An emphasis on art from the artist-created tiles on the door of each room, to collections from their travels, to paintings, to windows etched with Maori patterns, to sculpture - even to three flowers floating in the dog's water bowl and a garden stunning, though very early spring. The congenial proprietors know art and artists both on the main streets and out of the way and everybody in town. There are several very fine restaurants within walking distance, many of which feature live music.

I didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — The proprietors were so knowledgeable and so much a part of the community one felt more than a simple tourist - but a belonging
  • Disliked — That I had to leave! Truly, there was not one even small thing that I would have changed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay longer than you intend to - there's a wealth to do in the area. See when their heritage festival is - great time of year to be there.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Art2Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

In June we sold our house to travel around Australia and New Zealand. We stayed at Sally and Gerry's wonderful B&B for 4 nights and absolutely loved it. The B&B is a short stroll to Ponsonby Road, one of the trendiest streets in Auckland. Mainly character buildings but a few modern ones here and there. Lots of big old trees lining the streets. Loads of great restaurants, cafes, bars and clothing and shoe shops etc.

Our room was tastefully decorated with great individual style with modern furnishings . We had every thing you could want when away from home and most importantly the room was clean, very clean. It was just great.

Breakfast was always an enjoyable experience. A selection of cereals, breads, jams etc. yoghurt (homemade) and the best fresh fruit salad ever. The cooked breakfast also top class - such an appetising variety to choose from.

And finally the hosts. Well, Sally and Gerry are really the best of hosts. Certainly the best we encountered in the 20 something places we have stayed at over the last 4 months. They clearly take pride in providing a superior service to their guests. Always a friendly smile or laugh, always ready to provide assistance, helpful hints, travel advice or local commentary on the region and New Zealand. They are widely travelled themselves and understand the nuances of travelling or just being away from home. We cannot recommend their place highly enough. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Great rooms, very clean. Delicious breakfasts and excellent hosts.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Driffill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

I stayed at Great Ponsonby for two nights. The room was lovely. The breakfasts were delicious. The service was warm and very helpful. Lots of shops and services are only a block away. This is highly recommended if you want to go to Auckland and feel right at home.

  • Liked — Warmth
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
librarian
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2006

A workmate of mine recommended it and I went directly to their website to contact them. It was everything she said and more. Sally and Gerry offer you a drink when you arrive and during your stay they are always ready to help you, with great recommendations on what to do or where to eat, plus spirited discourse on New Zealand culture and history. The rooms have every single thing you could need and the whole place is a visual feast with a special Pacific flavor flair. Especially if you have sampled the dowdy English b&b, you need to know that there is a whole other world out there.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
Thank Karen500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing