We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #4 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Perfect Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

It is so exciting when you find a place to stay that fits your needs perfectly. My daughter and I stayed there along with my dog for one night. I needed to be at the airport early Saturday morning to collect my husband. It is a challenge to find somewhere that will allow dogs to stay with you. We were in a cabin that backed onto a dog friendly park, so convenient. The décor was colourful and refreshing, the cabin was impeccably clean, water pressure was amazing. Location is the best. We enjoyed breakfast on the verandah after collecting my husband, we paid extra for him to have breakfast there. Breakfast selection was great and well presented. The staff were great and friendly. Just fantastic to have found this welcoming place to stay for the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhangareiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora WhangareiSioux,

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoy being able to accommodate our guests’ furry friends, and love the fact that we have such easy access to one of Ponsonby’s fantastic parks. Please come back sometime soon.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    88
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
43
277
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had a wonderful stay at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel. Gerry, Sally and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Gerry gave me directions to the interesting historical places in the neighbourhood and showed me a nice walk to get to the waterfront. The Red Room, where I stayed, was spacious and airy, well-equipped too, so it was possible to make tea in the evening and relax after a day in the city. Breakfast was tasty and provided an occasion to chat with Sally and Gerry.

The Great Ponsonby Arthotel is a place that makes you feel at home.

thanh-van from France

Room Tip: The Red Room is comfortable and gets nice sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thanh_van2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Manager at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora thanh_van2014

Thank you for your positive comments. Breakfast is one of our favourite times of the day, as we enjoy finding out more about the interesting lives of our guests. We’re glad that you enjoyed our walking recommendations. Please come back and visit us soon.

Cheers

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We started our New Zealand experience in the Arthotel B&B with Sally and Gerry. It was great to stay in an old style building in one of Auckland's traditonal areas. Ponsonby is well located outside the centre of the city but it's easy to get anywhere as the B&B is near to the circular bus route which is quite frequent. Although Ponsonby is an affluent residential area (I would like to be able to afford to live there!) it is also well known for it's shops and restaurants and there are many of them a couple of minutes from the B&B. The breakfasts were magnificent - freshly cooked to order and with all the extras you expect in a five star hotel, fresh fruit, cakes, cheeses and ham, etc. and wonderful coffee! Gerry is very helpful at suggesting the best places to go and how to make the best use of your time there - for those of us who are interested in it, it is an Eco place too! You cannot do better than staying at the Arthotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio room overlooking the patio which was perfect as it was in a building just acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Lesley,

Thank you very much for such a great review. We do love that our location is so central, it makes it easy for our guests, and us too. Our breakfasts are our pride and joy, and we’re glad that we were able to share it with you. Please come back sometime.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. . The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City Center. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk or bus ride to Auckland City Center.

Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful and the service was excellent. My room was spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety.

I will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to travellers.

My initial plan was to stay for one day only on my arrival from LA. i enjoyed the stay so much that i ended up staying 3 more days just before flying back to Los Angeles.

Traveling all alone , the stay felt like staying at home and I enjoyed the conversation with Sally Gerry and the staff during breakfast.


Thanks Sally, Gerry, Holly, Salomi , Max and staff.(PS.: if i got names spelled wrong , i apologize)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NithinNirmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Nithin,

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us, it was great to hear about what you do in the US. We loved that you were able to stay with us again before your flight, please come back for a visit sometime soon.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

This is a terrific and friendly place to stay. The owners are very helpful and outgoing. The B and B is located in Ponsonby - a vibrant neighborhood of old houses and lots of cafes and right on the inner bus line. The walk down to the city along the harbor is wonderful. The cooked breakfasts are really good too. This is a fine alternative to staying in the heart of the city. They can also arrange for you to be met at the airport or taken to the airport by a lovely man and it was cheaper than my taxi fare I paid. This is a good choice!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Sandy,

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you were able to make the most of our vibrant neighbourhood. Our driver, Uncle, is indeed a lovely man, and one of our favourite people here at the Great Ponsonby. Please come back and visit us soon.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We, my partner, teenage daughter and I stayed three nights during the weekend of the Rugby League 9's, Eminem concert etc and loved it! Sally, Gerry and staff are so friendly, helpful, and the service was excellent. Our rooms were spacious, clean, warm, very comfortable and the breakfasts were great in terms of quality and variety. The location of the hotel is ideal, just a quiet street off to the main Ponsonby road and a convenient walk to Auckland City Center. We will definitely stay again and recommend this hotel to travellers.

Thanks Sally, Gerry and staff. Great place, great time...

Take good care
Steve, Shona & Nekea x

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms (yellow & orange?) away from the main house which were large, sunny, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Steve, Shona and Nekea,

Thank you for your positive review. You certainly stayed during our busiest week! We hope you enjoyed our hot chocolates and eggs benedicts each morning, and that you had a good time watching the league. We hope to see you again at next year’s league tournament, give us a ring and we’ll see what we can do.

Cheers,

The crew at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed here on the first and last night of our new zealand tour. From the hotel name we had expected great things. The décor may artistic to some, to us it was a mish mash of colours and styles which appeared garish.
Service was fine but the quality of the breakfast was very disappointing. Choice of cereals, fruit and breads very limited and the cooked breakfast was average at best.
Ponsonby is a great area for restaurants, cafes and proximity to the city. Expect a lot more of a boutique B&B. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally J, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Kia ora Douglas,

Thank you for your comments, we always appreciate guest feedback so we can continue to improve and deliver the highest possible standards. We do acknowledge that you may have not found our artwork to your taste, as the delights of art will always be different for each person. However, we do enjoy the artwork around our property, and find it rich in New Zealand culture. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast that was on offer. The vast majority of our other guests have found it delightful, and we are saddened to hear that you did not think the same.

We appreciate that you enjoyed where we are situated. Our location is one of our main sources of pride, as we love to be able to provide our guests with a place to stay right in the heart of Ponsonby.

Cheers,

The crew at The Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing