We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Padua, Veneto, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Spent a few days in mid July 2012 at the beginning of our trip to discover New Zealand - we liked it so much that we decided to go back at the end of August, and that place (and its owners and staff) did not betray us! Quite strategically located in a very dynamic area of Auckland (reasonably close to CBD, which can be easily reached by bus or with a nice walk), this is an elegant and friendly place managed by two delicious, art-oriented people who just love to make you fell at home. Breakfasts are generous and healthy, and there's everytime the chance of chatting with the managers while enojying the food. Free-wifi available. The rooms and the living-room are extremely cosy. We will surely go back!
Blandina and Efrem

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efrem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    93
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
45
283
54
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a wonderful time here. Jared was very welcoming and made us feel very comfortable and at home here.
The rooms are amazing and have everything you need. A lovely big outdoor area that gets plenty of sun, and a great sense of privacy.
Animal friendly with a gorgeous dog, Hemi, who also makes you feel welcome and at home, stealing all the love from his guests.
I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Really enjoyed my two nights at this B&B. Lovely warm room and great breakfast with plenty of options. It's in a handy location to Ponsonby Rd with the city just a short bus or taxi ride (or a good walk) away.
Hosts were v friendly. Sally said she 'doesn't do beige' and the art works and the wall colours definitely reflect that so may not be everyone's cup of tea but i found it lively and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cate3216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in the palm garden suite. Great size, tastefully decored. Variety in breakfast excellent and yummy. Staff especially the Samoan lady lovely and very welcoming. Location close to a park which is ideal for our child and shops only a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We travel to NZ regularly and have stayed in other nearby B&B's, The Great Ponsonby surpasses them all! Gerry and Sally are warm and welcoming, making your stay feel like a home from home. They have decked the B&B out with fabulous art, Polynesian artefacts, some great furniture and other interesting quirks and details, oh and the breakfast was amazing! Really couldn't recommend this place highly enough and really looking forward to our next stay there. Martin and Avril, London UK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARTIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha, Owner at Great Ponsonby Arthotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words and we appreciate your interest in NZ art. You are a warm and enthusiastic couple who appreciate all things kiwi. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kapiti coast nz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Great Ponsonby Arthotel several times(5) now and really should have sung their praises earlier. Everything about staying here is always wonderful, hence the return time after time. Where to start a review though. Gerry and Sally always make you so very welcome. The rooms are like a home from home. Comfy with great furnishings and best of all for me a choice of pillows (I need a slim pillow to sleep well). The grounds are loverly and there is off street (free) parking. A couple of minutes (slow) walk up the road is the fun that is Ponsonby. The loop bus is right there too. The cooked breakfast is so delicious and they can cater for me with my coeliac diet. I cannot imagine that a stay could ever be anything other than one of the best experiences that any traveller could have. Thanks Sally and Gerry for providing a top notch place that one can relax and enjoy. Your staff are all great as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian-nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This B&B is so cheerful ,sunnyand arftisticly deccorated that it seems like summer all year round. Delicious breakfasts, incredibly helpful owners and large well appointed rooms. I have returned at least 15 times and naturally many of the guests one meets have done the same! Ponsonby Rd restaurant strip is just round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
302 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ponsonby Arthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ponsonby Arthotel

Property: Great Ponsonby Arthotel
Address: 30 Ponsonby Terrace | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Great Ponsonby Arthotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in a quiet, heritage, 1890's villa in the middle of cosmopolitan Auckland, just 2 minutes stroll to Ponsonby's vibrant cafes, restaurants and galleries. Fifteen minutes by eco bus, five minutes by taxi to the waterfront or a 30 minute amble through Ponsonby's interesting streets. Close to Eden Park, the Zoo and all main attractions. Qualmark 4 star+ and Enviro Gold. Breakfasts are legendary. They are cooked to order, not just left in your fridge the night before. This is a place to have fun & meet other guests.Free, unlimited wifi throughout hotel, ipod docks, all sky channels in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Great Ponsonby Arthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Hotel Auckland Central
Great Ponsonby Arthotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing