We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this Germany?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Ranked #11 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Is this Germany?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

General:
typical 'youth guest hostel' with a few long-term guests; lots of German boys & girls in their late teens or early twenties; crowd seemed a bit unfriendly towards more international guests but that can change every week;

Rooms:
ok, but not more. worn down, 2 rooms are at the back - they are better but also more expensive, would not recommend the smelly 'dormatory rooms'. be prepared to share (freezing cold) bathrooms.

Staff:
Guy at reception is pretty, helpful (but german). lol.

Summary:
if you are laid back and relaxed, then go for it. if you want to have a warm and cosy guesthouse - keep on looking, thats not your place. location is quite central, you can walk to bars; starbucks around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCitizenOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    22
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
34
52
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
u.K
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

Sweet little hostel, not as modern as some others but had a homly lived in feel. this did not make you feel uncomforatble here but part of the furniture and very relaxed considering its a city hostel. Long termers could be clicky but when an effort was made they proved to be a weath of knowledge, willing to share not only their experiences but their lives in Auckland. Rooms a good enough size, bunk beds best i have slept in. Not enough or very modern bathrooms however, but nice to have a seperate male and female bathroom. Lovely outside area, good recycling facilities. expensive internet but a free phone. Lovely big tv wiht comfy sofas and well equiped if a littel hard to navigate around kitchen. This is made up for by a great big table that i wanted ot take home! Good parking and friendly helpful staff. ot perfect but where is in N.Z ( apart from Global Village Greymouth) overall very lovely place.

  • Liked — Friendly small cheap
  • Disliked — shabby, not enough bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FanningB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling the world
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We arrived at the Brown Kiwi late at night and didn't have much issue with the late check in. We did have an issue in that our double room was in the backyard, and we had to walk through the courtyard to use the restroom. We have experienced this before, but the weather was a little suspect so it made it tougher. The front desk was relatively helpful in booking a rental car and suggesting things, but the crowd there was very clicky. We are american and some of the long term residents were rude to us (based solely on our nationality). This is the only hostel I visited in New Zealand that I would not stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FligthPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

I can't disagree with the negative comments in the previous post, however, I enjoyed my stay. The place has a friendly vibe, a nice garden, and an ideal Ponsonby location. My boyfriend and I stayed in a second floor double. It was run down, but I appreciated the quiet nights, and a big window at the head of the bed where I could feel the breeze and listen to the rain.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2006

The Brown Kiwi was a friendly place, but a bit worn down these days. I stayed there because of other reviews, and reading about it in Let's Go New Zealand. I wasn't just backpacking, so had more stuff with me than backpackers, and the room was very small. The price was $58 NZ to get a double room to myself, and it was a very SMALL and run down room. I could have paid just a bit more in some spots for a much nicer room. The staff was great, the other guests were great, but it was difficult to negotiate the stairs to my room with heavy bags (I know--I had too much stuff....partly since I was bringing things over to NZ for my daughter who has moved there), and the room was threadbare and the carpets are very run down. The garden in the back is pleasant, and it's easy to walk up to Posonby Road for eating and wandering....but I wouldn't stay there again. I guess it depends what you're looking for, but I can't imagine that it looked the way it does now with the nice reviews it received a few years ago.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank companero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2003

If you're planning to stay in Auckland for a few days make sure you stay at The Brown Kiwi. It's close to the city but far enough away to escape the hoons that drive round Auckland all night! There is a sweet little garden and it's close to all the funky cafes and bars in Ponsonby. Also near to the super market and the Link bus which will take you all over the city.

Helpful?
9 Thank Feamac74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Property: Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Address: 7 Prosford Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Brown Kiwi, a funky little hostel in the heart of the best central Auckland suburb. We have a lovely sunny garden, a farmhouse kitchen where you can share cooking with new friends and a cosy TV room to watch DVDs. We welcome travellers and provide advice on your trip, buying and selling a car, finding a job and how to make the most of your NZ experience. Brown Kiwi is 2 minutes walk from shops, banks, cafes, bus stop, 5 minutes from supermarket and 20 minutes from the centre of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing