We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Laptops Stolen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Penang
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“2 Laptops Stolen”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed in Brown Kiwi from 28 January. On 7 February, I paid to extend my stay until 14 February. Upon returning to my room I realized my laptop was missing and reported to the guy who works at the front desk. And when he asked the other residents in the same room, apparently another laptop was missing too.

I was using my laptop the day earlier before lunch and only returned at 9pm, the light was already off and I went straight to bed. The red laptop was in my backpack, there were 3 others laptops on the floor, the missing black laptop was charging when it was taken while the other white netbook and black laptop (in a pouch) was left untouched, which is weird.

The room has a big window facing the street and we left it open at night for ventilation. Anyway, I didn't make a fuss about it as there was a locker provided (although one is broken). The management suggested me to make a police report and was happy to refund the rent that I have paid earlier the same morning. I was in a shock and forgot to ask to see the CCTV (if any).

It has been a really nice experience staying with them until the incident. Below is the original review I wrote for The Brown Kiwi while I was still staying there:-

I was being referred from another backpacker in the CBD as they were fully booked for the long weekend. It was tucked behind the busy street of Ponsonby Road with all the restaurant and cafe. And only 15 - 30 minutes walk to New World and city centre.

The building and rooms are old but well cleaned everyday. If you get the front room downstairs, be prepared to the constant door slamming during daytime.

The fridge is always full. Coffee and tea are available. For those who cook, the kitchen has all the ingredients you need: oil, salt, spices etc. Donation is welcomed.

I stayed for a week and opt for the 1.2GB wifi for $30 washing and cleaning have since increased to $4 each. The shower and toilet are really limited. There is one at the backyard with attached shower and toilet. And separate male and female bathroom (with 2 shower and 1 toilet each).

The management should advertise about the patio aka secret garden at the backyard. It was lovely. Being one of the two Asians there, I rarely have much communication with the other residents.

Yes I've seen many Germans travelers, they tend to hang out by themselves (who doesn't especially you find your own friend in a foreign country) but they are generally friendly and will smile back at you, if you offer one :)

Room Tip: If you stay at Room A or B with windows facing the main street, make sure you put your valuable belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niels f, Owner at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
security is one of our top concerns the only way to gain axcess is via front door
unfortunatley our security is only as good as those who stay with us we have key entry and a code entry and we encourage guest always to lock there room doors some one came in with a guest and dorm room was left open , the person has been caught by police so we are thankful for that. We have fortunatly very fee problems in this area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    23
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
34
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a lovely house with a cute little patio. The people at the reception could have been more friendly and ready to answer a few questions. They seem to be more worried about having no trouble than in being nice to their guests, and that had consequences on the atmosphere in the hostel, with people not chatting so much with each other. That was disappointing, because the well equiped kitchen, with its little space to move around the huge table, could have been a very relaxed and cool place to hang out. This of course also depends on your fellow travellers, but the people working for the hostel seemed so unhappy to be there that it was weird.
The tight dorms are ok, with clean beds, scare light, no individual lockers and banging doors because of the two lockers on it. The shared bathroom only has one toilet and is cleaned every day
If it was not for the location (15mn walk from the center) and availability in high season, I would not have stayed there so long

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chikoulini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

For anyone who is moving to New Zealand, this hostel is the home away from home, Niles, Hennas and Mike go out of their way to make you feel at home and I’d go so far as to say even part of the family. The hostel sleeps about 32 people; there are two 8 bed dorms, one for male and one for female. There are two 4-bed dorms and 4 double rooms, 2 of which have a double bed and the others have I believe 2 or 3 beds. It attracts a broad mix of people, nationalities (they are not all from Germany as others have said) and age ranges, so beware; it’s not a party hostel. This is home away from home.
There is a great social kitchen with plenty of storage space and a living room off that which has a TV and DVD player. The back of the hostel has a smoking section which is in a lovely leafy garden area. It’s a bit of a suntrap so don’t forget to wear sunscreen. You can do your laundry for $2 and dry your clothes on the washing lines. You can use the dryer also for another $2.
A few people have complained about the fact that there aren’t enough showering facilities. That is true, but I believe that the ambiance, the people who work there, and the people who come to stay at the hostel really make this place special, and in all honesty, if it was perfect, you’d have to book years in advance to get in!
Go stay there if you can. And Ponsonby is a great neighbourhood.

Room Tip: if your a couple ask for a room out back! and if not there ask for the second double romm by the lad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciaran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

Horrible place. Full of long termers (Germans) who are not friendly to any other travelers which is odd as this is what hostels are for..

They gave us a room with a head height of 3.75 meters....yep....just over 4 foot. Not joking. Its called the 'Loft' and they charged us 48 bucks.

Needless to say , we left and i have complained to the council about sub-sub-sub standard accommodation.

Shameful management. What some people will do to earn a buck. Disgraceful and a blot on New Zealand Tourism and BBH hostel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landcruiser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niels f, Manager at Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
We do not advertise the loft room it is mostly for storage but in an emergancy we allow people to stay. This couple needed two nights, they where told we only had one night available in normal doubles . They where also told off the loft and decided to take that option obviously not to there liking .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

General:
typical 'youth guest hostel' with a few long-term guests; lots of German boys & girls in their late teens or early twenties; crowd seemed a bit unfriendly towards more international guests but that can change every week;

Rooms:
ok, but not more. worn down, 2 rooms are at the back - they are better but also more expensive, would not recommend the smelly 'dormatory rooms'. be prepared to share (freezing cold) bathrooms.

Staff:
Guy at reception is pretty, helpful (but german). lol.

Summary:
if you are laid back and relaxed, then go for it. if you want to have a warm and cosy guesthouse - keep on looking, thats not your place. location is quite central, you can walk to bars; starbucks around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCitizenOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.K
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2007

Sweet little hostel, not as modern as some others but had a homly lived in feel. this did not make you feel uncomforatble here but part of the furniture and very relaxed considering its a city hostel. Long termers could be clicky but when an effort was made they proved to be a weath of knowledge, willing to share not only their experiences but their lives in Auckland. Rooms a good enough size, bunk beds best i have slept in. Not enough or very modern bathrooms however, but nice to have a seperate male and female bathroom. Lovely outside area, good recycling facilities. expensive internet but a free phone. Lovely big tv wiht comfy sofas and well equiped if a littel hard to navigate around kitchen. This is made up for by a great big table that i wanted ot take home! Good parking and friendly helpful staff. ot perfect but where is in N.Z ( apart from Global Village Greymouth) overall very lovely place.

  • Liked — Friendly small cheap
  • Disliked — shabby, not enough bathrooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FanningB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling the world
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2007

We arrived at the Brown Kiwi late at night and didn't have much issue with the late check in. We did have an issue in that our double room was in the backyard, and we had to walk through the courtyard to use the restroom. We have experienced this before, but the weather was a little suspect so it made it tougher. The front desk was relatively helpful in booking a rental car and suggesting things, but the crowd there was very clicky. We are american and some of the long term residents were rude to us (based solely on our nationality). This is the only hostel I visited in New Zealand that I would not stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank FligthPlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 108 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.1 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 108 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel

Property: Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel
Address: 7 Prosford Street | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi and welcome to Brown Kiwi, a funky little hostel in the heart of the best central Auckland suburb. We have a lovely sunny garden, a farmhouse kitchen where you can share cooking with new friends and a cosy TV room to watch DVDs. We welcome travellers and provide advice on your trip, buying and selling a car, finding a job and how to make the most of your NZ experience. Brown Kiwi is 2 minutes walk from shops, banks, cafes, bus stop, 5 minutes from supermarket and 20 minutes from the centre of Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown Kiwi Backpacker Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing