We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really poor! Do not stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #14 of 60 Auckland B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really poor! Do not stay here!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is really crap! Small, smelly rooms, tiny bathrooms. I could not even bend over in the shower to clean my feet! No tv in your room. The breakfast is seriously meager, just a couple of eggs, 2 of the cheapest sausages you you get, a spoon full of baked beans from the can, 2 halves of one cherry tomato and 2 slices of gherkin! The eating area is full of flies. Staff unfriendly, unless you are a German of course! The biscuits in the lounge are the cheapest rocks you can buy. Someone even stole my left over dinner form the night before. I can understand why though! This place is shiete! Do yourself a favour and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere! Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUlrike, Owner at Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Randell,
We are very sorry that you did not like our place. However, throughout your stay, you never gave us any hint that you were very unhappy as you seemed so content at breakfast and we had some nice conversations together.
You obviously wanted to be booked into a flash 5 Star Hotel by your company but there must have been budjet constraints in your case. The jovial B&B experience is not for you!
It is sad that you did not appreciate and recognise the superior quality of our authentic German sausages made by a Swiss Butcher Factory.
We hope that at least you passed your training course with high marks.
With best regards
Ulrike Stephan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    75
    47
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
109
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I think previous reviewers have captured Bavaria fairly accurately.

We were in room 9 at the top of the stairs (which are somewhat narrow but not overly tall). I was surprised at how large the room was, although the bathroom was very small.

The place feels like a large B&B / quant hotel. It isn't new, flashy or fancy, but is close to the city, has off-street parking, and was well priced. They also have two cots/cribs available for guests.

I also want to note that Jetstar lost our portable cot and we were moving on from Bavaria after only one night. After checking their bookings for the following days, the staff were willing to let us borrow one of the cots (so long as we left a suitable deposit). This was a very kind act - that we ultimately didn't need - and one we greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercury_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This B&B is not run in a B&B style. The host is not available and the service personnel is not really interested in their guests. We were received by an employee who definitely did not want to spend too much time with us. The room was not very clean, the bathroom is very basic and lacks second towel, soaps etc etc. The entire interior has seen better days and would urgently need a refurbishment.
The host herself - if you have a chance to meet her - is in fact very nice and gives good recommendations how to spend your day in Auckland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is okay for one night, but I wouldn't stay longer than that. If you are staying in Auckland for more than one day, then I would recommend that you stay at a normal hotel downtown. The rooms are spacious, but the bathrooms are tiny, with little hot water, and the breakfast is meagre. It's a good place to start your trip to NZ, but don't have too many great expectations before coming in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra Australia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Basically you get what you pay for, in this case a little bit of old Kiwi cottage charm as well

I only stayed one night as I was in NZ such a short tie and wanted to meet some AKL relatives. This was about the cheapest accomodation in Auckland and it was good. The front part of the house is more than 100 years old so you get a bit of Kiwi histroy. Free Wifi bu the Zenbu drops out from time ti time. Free tea/coffee and cookies all the time. No TV in rooms but there is a social area and breakfast room with a good TV and newspapers, and a PC. Breakfast was as much as you can eat cereals, fruits, breads, cheese, sausage etc and there is a cooked breakfast from 7.30, basic eggs, sausage and beans, cooked by the owner, pleasant person

The room in the front had 2 single beds, comfortable and a micro toilet shower but adequate for the purpose. Enough hot water although it took a bit of fiddling to go between scalding hot and cold.

Nice character and better than a sterile motel for double the price.


Recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the Bavaria B&B at Mount Eden, it was okay, not brilliant, just okay, a little dated, we only stayed here one night on the first day of our trip then we stayed two nights at the end of our trip, we stayed in different rooms both times, Breakfast was alright, a little German influence with the breakfast if you like Frankfurters, we just had cereal toast.The elderly lady who cooked breakfast in the mornings, was unfriendly, but we noted that she liked the German guests, very talkative towards them.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs had adjoining balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The owners were on holidays, lots of stairs (and none of help to push the bags up), breakfast smelled and tasted weird, waaay too many guests (10 rooms house is still considered as a B&B?!)..
But maybe we went on a bad day.
Good location, at least!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.7 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: 83 Valley Road | Mt. Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small hotel in quiet residential location, close to city with excellent connections to town, Mt. Eden summit with panoramic views easily accessible,immaculate quality rooms with en-suites, phones and internet access for your laptop,healthy breakfast buffet-style,complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits, sunny lounge and peaceful garden, good shopping, cafes, restaurants and internet cafes nearby,off-street parking, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Ask us for advice on rental cars, tours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing