We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK........just”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This B and B is in an excellent location and Ulrika who we met on the second morning was a good host. The overnight caretaker was also friendley and helpful. However the initial welcome and assistance from another colleague can only be described as no more than adequate and courteous. The breakfast is not to the standard of other B and Bs in NZ and the rooms appear to be a bit dated and in need of some freshning. The wifi arrangements are complicated but free.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
There are newer reviews for Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

My dad and I stayed here during the Rugby World Cup last year and couldn't have been more comfortable. The rooms were clean, neat, nicely decorated and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The location wasn't bad - it was within walking distance to some sights and within range of a number of buses to help us get around. We had a car and parked it there. The hosts were friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very good location to explore the city if you have a car as it is almost the same distance to all interesting places. Nevertheless bus stop is not far away. Big and clean room but very small bathroom and very, very small shower. Breakfast was average. For a B&B quite many rooms so you get talking to many other tourists but not to locals as in most other B&B. German speaking hosts who are very helpful and give you hints for some good off the beaten track sights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernd_Wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The room is okay with regard to the size and contents. Only the TV is missing. But one can watch TV in the living room. The breakfast is good with lots of choice. The hot food is prepared on request. Wifi was working well. And a PC with Internet is available

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nc0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The B&B is loacted perfectly to visit the city, but you don´t get enough value for the money you spent. We already had 2 weeks in B&B in New Zealand and we always received a good value for our money,but not this time.
We had no TV on the room, the shampoo and soaps were like in low cost hotels.
On breakfast we were greated with "Ooh another 2 - I have to must clean a table". I wanted to feel at home but I didn´t mean I want to have a lack of service. When she recognized that we
understood her she started to be a little bit more friendly. But the value of the breakfast was very low. No homemade marmelade, no scrambled or fried eggs ("We don´t do that here") - This was the standard in all our B&B.
We booked 2 nights, but we had to leave at 10.00 p.m. on the 2nd day - means we were not able to use our bed a second night - we had to pay the complete price (not even the breakfast from the 2nd day was reduced).

This B&B is not worth the price. On the entrance is a sing "B&B Hotel", but even in Hotels we felt more at home and welcome with a better service than in this B&B - what about the famous "Kiwi-hospitality"? Be a little bit more Kiwi than German.

Room Tip: no recommendation for a room - the furniture looks old, no television
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasSchwarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a wonderful surprise to find a real gem B & B in Auckland. The charming owner Ulrika made our stay special, warm , friendly and well informed this intelligent and charming owner had attended to us and made us feel welcome and at home. Bavaria B & B is peaceful, and we had an excellent rest in a cozy, clean and fresh room with a comfortable bed, walk out onto a balcony.
Ulrika offers a superb breakfast and made us poached eggs herself - made to a perfection.
The food choices including cooked sausages

We actually considered canceling other reservations just to return and have another interaction with this lovely lady.

As a mature couple we sincerely recommend Bavaria B & B to those seeking a quality accommodation at a value price. The free Internet access with B&B's computer was an additional wonderful feature. Thank you Ulrika it was our pleasure to have met you.

Room Tip: Cozy, friendly B&B run by a quality, friendly, caring and intelligent owner the German way ( com...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradicional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The property is quite big for B&B. It is run professionally by a German couple. Free internet and plenty of parking space. Good lounging area, computer for guest use and near to supermarket and shops. The price is reasonable for all these facilities, there is really no compromise.

Some small problems with the shower on the first night and it was promptly fixed the next day. This is the place I will stay the next time I visit Auckland again.

Room Tip: I had the first room from the entrance. It had a double bed and the shower is bigger.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wreckit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.2 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
319 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
2.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Address: 83 Valley Road | Mt. Eden, Auckland Central, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $92 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming small hotel in quiet residential location, close to city with excellent connections to town, Mt. Eden summit with panoramic views easily accessible,immaculate quality rooms with en-suites, phones and internet access for your laptop,healthy breakfast buffet-style,complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits, sunny lounge and peaceful garden, good shopping, cafes, restaurants and internet cafes nearby,off-street parking, friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Ask us for advice on rental cars, tours etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing