We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Ranked #63 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't go there”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The only good thing I can say about the place is the location. The staff is not friendly at all. The Price for the Internet is insane! They told uss the Prices for the Internet in Auckland is really high..but why can Queenstreet Hostel down the street offer it for free? They would like to make Money with every thing. Fitnesscenter 5 Dollars, Laundry is too expensive (4 Dollars Washing Machine another 4 Dollars for the Dryer). We booked a camper trough the Travel Agency from Base for a week and also prebooked two nights after our Camper trip before heading to Australia. We wanted to leave two bags there but they wanted to charge us 2 Dollars each bag. We decided to cancel our booking and go instead to Queenstreet Hostel...luggage store and WIFI for free!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinniwinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    183
    225
    155
    176
See reviews for
23
188
307
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I've stayed in lots of hostels around Oz and New Zealand, and this place is one of the better ones I've stayed at. The location is GREAT! near everything that is in Auckland. The staff were all really nice especially Andrew - he was always really nice, energetic and helpful! Bathrooms were alright, although some showers were out of order. It's also pretty clean too, the housekeepers do a good job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed there in August for one night and left our luggage there as we were going up to the bay of islands. Very helpful, but we got conflicting information on the price ,to pay for keeping our luggage there. In the end we didn't pay a cent, which was great!
We got the same room even when we came back from the bay of islands, on the 4th floor, pretty basic but we were close to the ladies bathrooms and the door was squeaking pretty badly.. Add people sitting in the lift lobby close to our rooms drinking and making noise, and the extremely thin pillows and saggy mattress, it was a really bad night.
I guess you get what u pay for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank putehg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This place used to be an office block and you can tell by the rooms. The room was clean enough, but our double was a small and basic box room with no windows, only slightly improved by the presence of a small fridge. The pillows were so thin they were almost non existant, resulting in a very poor nights sleep.
As expected given the price this attracts a young crowd of backpackers on a budget, this is in no way a negative, just a comment to give you an idea of what to expect.
The communal kitchen was too small for the number of occupants, but was relatively clean. Showers were clean, but had a push to work tap that required almost constant pressure in order to maintain any kind of stream. The bacon sandwich was as budget as they come (hence the cheap price) and the buffet breakfast looked very limited. I would recommend avoiding getting breakfast here and advise going out for breakfast instead unless on a very tight budget.
On a more positive note the staff were friendly and this backpackers has a great central location, hence a slightly better score.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepingupwithjoneses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Queenstown
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's close to everywhere, for me its great because I don't have a car! Staff are nice, it's not very dirty.

The only thing I don't like is that I need to check out at 10:00am and wait till 13:00 to check in again and again when I booked a new booking. They can't keep you in the same room :( Shower is too short. The bar downstairs is too noisy when you try to sleep.

Room Tip: higher level, better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona-Albane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we stayed there at the end of july for two nites the staff are so unfriendly it took 8 hours to get coffee and sugar in our room there was old soap left in the shower the shower keeps turning off while u are in there the washes and driers are too expensive as it cost 4 dollars to wash your clothes then another 4 to dry them

Room Tip: go to a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I would never stay at another Base X Hostel after staying at the one is Auckland Central. The onyl good thing about it is it's location. I've never had more uncomfortable beds, I was warned the room would be windowless when I checked in, it was a cave like atmosphere. The showers were moldy and cold. I would never suggest staying there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.3 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 114 in Auckland
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 114 in Auckland
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#21 of 114 in Auckland
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 114 in Auckland
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 114 in Auckland
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Auckland Central Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Property: Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing