We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a street in a big city” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Street

Queen Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.20*
and up
Auckland City Highlights Tour with Harbour Cruise and Sky Tower Admission
Ranked #38 of 255 things to do in Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Auckland’s main street is home to numerous shops, restaurants and entertainment centers.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
202 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's a street in a big city”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Nothing wrong, just unexciting. That's Auckland! The usual shops and traffic. Could be anywhere in the world (that drives on the left, of course).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ortho85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    294
    244
    50
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to Just Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a great time just walking up and down the street. Great shopping and my daughters loved looking at all buildings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarsinOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good shopping Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

One stop Shopping to get all your souvenirs in one go and shop for your self too.
Beautiful Harbour at the beginning of the Street and also Westfield Downtown on the street. Although the Westfield is very small and limited with shops, I still think its worth checking out.


Tip: Always ask for tourist discount :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jassmine54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty average main street”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The end of the street (close to the harbour) is like any big city street in any major town while the beginning of the street is more shady and hosts Chinese shops an restaurants.

Descent experience at daytime. More rough clientel at night.

Helpful?
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beenleigh
Level Contributor
202 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Like Queen St in any big city”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Getting off our cruise ship right on Queen Street, we were able to walk straight up the street to a phone shop to obtain a NZ mobile phone card. The service was very good. We chuckled when we saw "Fush & Chups" on a cafe window, taking off the NZ accent. Going further up the street we enjoyed a park with large trees, near a child minding place. Lots of usual eating places and a good view of the Skytower. Early in the morning the streets looked clean. We looked through some reasonable souvenir shops, and all in all the first thing we saw in Auckland wasn't too bad.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrahamJBeenleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Street also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing