We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inner City Beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornwall Park

Cornwall Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.88*
and up
Wine Makers Experience from Auckland
Ranked #3 of 255 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lovely urban park offers an escape from the city hustle and bustle with oak tree-lined roads, winding paths and grazing sheep and cattle.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inner City Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Always beautiful....Auckland is so lucky to have this gem to walk in, run in, sit in, to enjoy. Fantastic

Helpful?
Thank libbynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    733
    266
    33
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I live near the park and enjoy visiting whenever I can. It does get very busy on weekends and because you have to have a car to get there parking and driving through can be a hassle. Having said that, once you start exploring, you can get away from the road and the crowd. Go to the top of One Tree Hill (the tree has gone now!) and get a view of most of central Auckland. Visit the volcanic crater and see some of the kumara pits that are the last remnants of the Maori pah that once occupied this area. Overseas visitors will love seeing the sheep and cattle - take lots of photos, but mind your feet! The playground has a great flying fox. There's a cafe, lots of photo opportunities, chickens, and informative posters with maps etc. If you have access to a bike this is a very nice way to get around. Overall, this is a nice park and a must-see for visitors to Auckland.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
201 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Gorgeous town park with sheep and restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

something for everyone. Gentle or more vogorous walk orrunning tracks. places to have coffee and lunch or a picnic. Views of Auckland.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank stellamAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A quiet place in the middle of the bustling city !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I explored Cornwall Park a few days ago as I had some spare time in an afternoon. Although it was rainy and overcast my walk around the Park was very interesting as I viewed the many named species of trees along the various footpaths, I was able to walk my dog on a leash and although there were quite a few people in and about the Park, the general atmosphere was one of quiet and peacefullness .. unfortunately on this occasion I did not have time to enjoy a coffee and cake at the excellent cafe/ restaurant situated inside the Park and adjacent to the main car park. Parking about the Park is very easy, there are a number of car paks and on good weather days the provided barbecue and picnic facilities surely come into their own ! Cornwall Park is a very nice place to visit and to re-visit from time to time, it is a very expansive area of countryside close to the central city and I will now place the Park on my list of places to visit more often .. I think that my doggie also enjoyed the long walk, even in the rain !

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
653 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great for a peaceful afternoon surrounded by perfectly manicured beauty. Archery club looked like fun and we loved the sheep everywhere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cornwall Park also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Cornwall Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing