We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so clean, not so convenient, but very, very cheap.”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #11 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not so clean, not so convenient, but very, very cheap.”
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We did get the cheap room and shared a bathroom, so we didn't expect much...but it wasn't the best place in the world either.

No air conditioning...or at least not that we noticed.
Not exactly clean by my standards.
Not exactly conveniently located unless you REALLY like to walk up hills...a lot. But it's still within walking distance.

On the plus side - the staff were really great, very helpful and very friendly.
AND there was free breakfast which was really a budget saver and not too bad if you don't mind toast, cereal and fruit in the morning (I don't).
Also, I think it worked out to USD$15 per night...which is insanely cheap especially when you add breakfast.

If you're on a budget, go for it ---If you're picky about where you sleep and shower...maybe spend a little more money... At least walk through the door knowing what you're going to get.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    202
    147
    52
    41
See reviews for
57
199
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

i think i must have slipped into another dimension when i flew into auckland because when i arrived and checked into aspen house it was nothing like their website showed. i looked around online for a cheapish place to stay in auckland as i was only around for 4 nights and came across aspen house and saw their website and looked at the photos of the rooms and though to myself jeez this is a bargain.....what the website fails to show you is what MOST of the rooms actually look like. dimly lit, furniture from the 50s thats on its last legs and well thats about it because this was very basic. i also thought it came across as quite dirty and it was quite a noisy place as the walls and your room door are very thin you can hear anyone and everything go past at night it keeps you awake for hours. i honestly dont know how aspen house can sell itself based on the photos on the website because when you get there youll see its nothing like it, if like me you booked on the basis that you would be getting a room anything like the photos on the website then your mistaken. i booked 4 months in advance and i got a cold musky smelling damp room, and thats even after i booked online and requested one of the nice rooms they show on the photos area. i didnt eat breakfast at this place after i saw the dirtyness of the rooms i would have dredded to have seen the kitchens and how the foods prepaired. the funniest thing about this place is that theres a big sign outside saying "boutique hotel" and what made me laugh the most was the fact there wasnt an arrow below it pointing you elsewhere because this certainly isnt boutique and certainly isnt a hotel its a glorified hostel which cant back up its claims!

  • Liked — when i checked out
  • Disliked — when i realised i have been dupped by the website
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn-Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenHouse, Murray Mackey (Assistant Manager) at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, December 16, 2008
We are one of Auckland's most affordable budget hotels but we don't hide this fact.
We are sorry this guest was disappointed with his room. But we don't hide the fact we have two styles of accommodation.
Budget private rooms with shared bathrooms (from NZD $ 49.00 (£18)) and there is a picture of one of the these rooms on the website. We hope to add a range shortly.
The other wing is the more modern full ensuite bathrooms. (from NZ$99.00 (£36)) We have 30 of each as the website says.
We have one of the most spacious sitting and dining rooms of any hotel in the CBD where our continental breakfast is served daily. It is provided FREE within the budget room rate.
In regards to the cleaning, all our rooms are cleaned daily by our experienced staff. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel at home, our guest books reflects this.
We are sorry this guest didn't let us know of his disappointment so we could attempt to improve their experience.
Murray Mackey
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2008

A smart clean hotel in a good location. Beds are comfy, breakfast was cereal, toast etc. The reception team were friendly. Not a five star but a good hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CartersYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I admit, I was probably expecting more than what the Aspen House really was. My fiance and I only needed a one night stopover in Auckland, but we were looking forward to the "boutique"hotel... it really was just a glorified hostel.

The rooms were dimly lit and all the hallways were painted dark gray?! I couldn't understand that. The beds were pretty comfortable but not good if you like a firm bed. Also the bathroom/shower left much to be desired.

The people at the front desk weren't overly friendly or polite, but weren't outright rude either! Basically, if you are on a budget, it's a fine place to stay. It's in a pretty good location... but in my opinion, you could probably pay the extra $30 and stay somewhere nicer!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tokyochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My partner and I stayed at Aspen House in April 2008 for 2 nights. We booked this 'Budget' Hotel as the very first stop of a long world trip and we really didn't know what to expect. We arrived at 7am but it was too early to check in so they allowed us to store our baggage in a safe locked room. They also let us check in 1 hour early at lunchtime. We payed $66 per night for a Double Room w/ Shared facilities which included breakfast. Breakfast consisted or cereal, bread, fruit, yogurt, juice & coffee. Our room was downstairs at the end of the hallway, with our window being right on the 'Smokers' patio. It was quiet most of them time expect late at night when people wanted a smoke after a night out. The room was small-medium sized with not a lot of room for our bags & was dimly lit. The bed was old, same too pillows & bed linen, however it was comfy & the room was kept clean. The shared bathroom facilities were down the hall. There were 2 toilets & 1 shower to approx. 8 rooms. The doors to both toilets & shower were old & not very secure. The bathroom was stuffy & there was always water on the floor from the shower so it was not very clean. The toilets were clean enough but probably not as clean as most people would like. Staff were helpful enough but not overly friendly. The best part about Aspen House is the location. It is centrally located & within walking distance to the city, harbour & ferry. Transport is also easily accessible. If you go to Auckland, I suggest taking a 12 minute ferry trip out to Devonport for $7 per person. We would not stay here again but if you are young, single & on a budget this place would be okay for you. Aspen House is more like a Hostel than a Budget Hotel. The photos on the website are a little misleading. However, we have heard they now have a new wing of rooms that are more up market & private. My advice to you if you stay at Aspen House (especially if you are a couple), pay the extra to book a newer upmarket room in the new wing. It would be worth it.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom & Toilets
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareandMichaelPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Our stay there was nice. The hotel is walking distance to the city and, more importantly, to the free city shuttle stop as well as the shuttle the takes you to and from the airport. the bed was comfortable. plenty of floor space for our suitcases. the ensuite bathroom was very nice. the shower is large enough to fit two people. the windows were a bit tough to open but oh well. it is close to a small park and may be a bit noisey. but then again we were there during some kind of festival so fireworks were going off. i would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank galaxyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed there only one night in a double room. I chose the hotel because of its excellent location, close to the railway station. The room was OK, but the light was poor. The bathroom was nice. There is a kitchen that guests can use (we didn't), it is actually the kitchen they use to prepare breakfast.
Overall, it was OK, but maybe a bit expensive for what you get.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing