We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #11 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Birsfelden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

nice rooms with a bunk bett (the lower bett is very spacious and fine for two persons)
clean bathroom
nice stuff
parking available for 15dollars a day
Laudary service for 10 dollars
in walkingdistance to the city center
discount for the jucy car rental if you stay a night here, so we saved over 200 dollar for our rental car by staying one night in the Jucy hotel ;)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sabineoesterle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review. Glad you made use of our JUCY Deals and had a great time in Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    201
    147
    51
    41
See reviews for
57
199
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a concert in march. It was reasonably priced and the rooms were a good size. The room was clean and tidy. I would recommend staying here if you need somewhere to leave your bags and go and will only be sleeping there.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aconnor93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. Glad you had a good stay with us and enjoyed getting out and about in Auckland! See you next time.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was an average but adequate hostel for a two-night stopover in Auckland after an international flight from Dubai, and en route to Napier. We slept OK, our room was reasonably quiet (for a hostel : )), the kitchen and lounge was a bit small but clean, the bathrooms were clean enough, and the location is great - we got the bus to and from the airport, and it was easy to walk around central Auckland. Hostels in NZ are surprisingly expensive, so this is a solid choice for those on a budget and in Auckland for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Our room was in the basement so not much natural light but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you enjoyed your stay at the JUCY Hostel! The location definitely makes it easy to explore the city! See you next time.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington,nz
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the jucy hotel in auckland whilst up to attend a concert. We had a room with an ensuite bathroom which was clean and comfortable. Whilst this accommodation is more hostel than hotel, for the amount paid I think it is great value for money. It is located in a quite street, close to britomart and the Vecta Arena. Other hotels in the area are much more expensive. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and were greeted by Toby at reception. He was friendly and helpful. For convenience we took advantage of their parking ($15). The room was clean, with tv, comfortable bed and a good shower. It is very small, but when you are staying a short time, or want something cheap in the city, I dont think you can beat it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellieAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! Glad you had a great time in Auckland and enjoyed the location of the JUCY Hotel! See you next time!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was my fourth stay in Jucy Hotel, but I have to say it was the worst of all my stays so far even though I had a very nice room this time. For some reason I was put into a double room instead of a single on the lower floor where I usually stayed. This was very nice as I haven't slept in a big bed for ages, it was very comfy and the room was spacious - but so far all the rooms I've had at Jucy's were spacious, that never seems to be an issue.

However, the room was right next to a hallway door and guests don't really care much about opening and closing it quietly even in the middle of the night. It also was close to the lounge and even though there was a sign that it would be closed at a certain time, people were still using it close to midnight one night, which was a bit bad because I had to get up at 4am to catch my plane.

Leaving that early also made me "meet" the night portier for the first time. He was snoring away, a bit of drool running down his chin. Couldn't get him to wake up. Looked a bit dodgy and didn't leave a good impression at all. So I left the key in front of him as I didn't see much of a choice about how else to check out properly. Dear Jucy team: if someone gets paid to do the night shift, that person should also be prepared do actually do this job. After all, night shift people even get paid more than day shift people. I know what it's like. I worked night shifts in a cafe until 3 or 4 am in the mornings - but hell, I would have been kicked out if I had fallen asleep during my shift even if it wasn't very busy sometimes!

I found the bathrooms during my other stays nicer, but that was on a different floor. But that's just my impression. Everything was reasonably clean though I cannot comment on the kitchen/lounge as I did not use it.

I actually found an alternative to Jucy which I used for other stays in Auckland but their single rooms (same price as Jucy and even easier to get to from the bus station) were all fully booked, so I thought Jucy was a good alternative. I would still recommend Jucy Hotel to travellers - but simply don't expect too much from staff at night time. They just get paid to sleep it seems.

Room Tip: If you get a single room on the budget side, ask to be downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi Kim,

Thanks so much for your review. We do our best to put customers in rooms they request, but when we are busy we are sometimes left without that option. Glad you found the bed conformable, many of our guests comment on how cosy the beds are!

The JUCY Hotel does have two sides – one side offering basic backpacker rooms with shared kitchen and bathrooms, and the other offering hotel-style rooms with private bathrooms. Sorry to hear you did not get much sleep due to noise in the communal kitchen. We do apologise as this facility is normally closed at 10pm.

The night porter that was on duty that evening was filling in for our full time night porter and we sincerely apologise again for your experience checking out. All of your comments have been passed onto Hotel Management. We do appreciate all feedback, and thank you for taking the time to let us know.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julieb2007
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Rooms were good size and very clean - nice bright green and purple everywhere is great livens it up. Shower and toilets were clean and plenty of them. Didn't use the Kitchen so cant comment. Internet was good and Laundry service was ace!
All in all a good hotel/hostel!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Julie,

Thanks so much for your great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Overpriced for what you get.

They dont even have a laundry room.

The internet was expensive and slow.

They dont have any travel or tour information in reception or even flyers so you have to go elsewhere.

Overall compared to other places it just seemed to be lacking.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champ at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your review. We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We do offer an overnight in-house laundry service at reception to all of our customers. In the reception area we do have a brochure display, which has many of the local attractions, as well as attractions across New Zealand. Our friendly staff are always more than happy to help with any questions or requests that our guests may have.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing