We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jucy Hotel”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nice location situated near the city where all the shops and eateries are within walking distance. Not so convenient for those who need to carry heavy luggages as there was a steep slope leading up to the hotel. Other than that, love the ambience and the rooms are clean. The reception staff were very helpful by helping us to carry our heavy luggages up to our room. Nevertheless, we have a pleasant stay and would not mind coming back again.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floor if you have heavy luggages.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parksong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear that you had an awesome time at the Hotel and enjoyed the convenient location to shops and eateries. We do offer guest parking (depending on availability) at the Hotel as well, at an additional cost per day, so if you have a lot of luggage and are driving, that is an option that could be looked at! Hope to see you next time you are in Auckland!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
There are newer reviews for Jucy Snooze
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 537 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Great quiet spot close to queen st and the bars on shortland and fort streets.
The staff are friendly and helpful. I'd booked two rooms by accident online and even though the guy checking me in couldn't do anything about it late at night he made a note and someone took care of it first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms on the lower floor near the laundry. They seem to start washing around 6am fo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dday2046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your feedback! It's awesome to hear that you found our Hotel very centrally located - many of our guests choose to stay here because it's so close to bars, restaurants and other entertainment venues in the central City! Hope to see you again next time you visit Auckland.

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very central location and easy to access the city. Rooms are ok for backpacker kind of traveling. remember not to expect more because it is quite cheap as well. On really bad thing is the shortage of the FREE wifi. It is really weird that this kind of place charge 3$ per hour of the wifi. that was ok 10 years ago. Not any more...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear that you found JUCY Hotel great value for money! Our hotel operates on a "plus-plus" model in order to keep prices reasonable for our guests, many of whom are "flashpackers" - this means that people can customise their stays according to what they need and decide if they want to pay for little extras like Wifi. We do try to make that clear to all guests before and during check-in though!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night to see the Taylor Swift concert and while the room itself was great and the bathroom wheelchair accessible, the stair lift is very small and as I found out, only holds up to 200kg (even though it says 250 on the lift). My electric wheelchair weighs 150, which meant the only way to get up the stairs was to go up separately. Fortunately, I am able to stand with crutches which I brought with me but I would have no idea what people would do if they were unable to stand. The staff were helpful about it but it wasn't an ideal situation at all, and if I had known, I would not have stayed here. PLEASE advertise this fact on your website!!! It's really important people know what they are getting themselves into and whether or not they can access it. It's also located up a steep hill which means a manual is a no go unless someone is driving you. It's a shame because I am coming back to Auckland for a Bruno Mars concert and would consider staying here again but the lift is a dealbreaker.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eringo1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your feedback. This feedback will be passed on to management so we can look into the issue with the stair lift. We will also make it clearer to wheelchair customers next time of any problems they might encounter at the hotel.

Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Very central hotel - although up a large hill. Close to vector arena. I asked for 3 single beds and got a double and a single but luckily one of the group had pulled out. Light bright and mostly clean except for the black hair on the shower walls.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your review! I will pass on the feedback to our hotel manager so we can look at the shower walls and ensure that this doesn't happen again.

Glad to hear that you loved the location though!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We were going to the Taylor Swift Concert on Friday night, so chose this hotel because it's close to the Vector Arena. We found it a lot better than expected, loved the bright colours and the space of the room. Bed was reasonable comfortable, a bit springy but for the price, very good. The window banged all the night in the wind which was a bit annoying. We also weren't impressed and the big wad of black hair on the wall in the shower - wasn't ours, and made us wonder how clean the room was. However, we found it was in all very suitable for a short stay.

Room Tip: Just a warning that there is no lift so if you're mobility impaired you may not be able to get u...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimL1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with the hotel - the Taylor Swift concert sounded amazing! And you are right, we're very close to Vector Arena.

Sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. If you do stay with us again in future, please don't hesitate to notify reception about this, as we are always happy to send one of our staff to help clean.

It's fantastic that you loved our bright colours and found the bed comfortable though!

Cheers,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We really did not enjoy our stay here! We stayed for 2 nights, we chose it because it was cheap and central to the city. We had no vehicle, that was the only plus side to staying here, was that it was close to the city. Our room smelt like urine! As soon as we walked in it hit us, it was truly disgusting. Also the bed we had kept breaking, the foot came off as soon as you leant anywhere near that side. It was not a fun experience in the middle of the night to be woken up by the bed suddenly lurching to one corner. Also did I mentioned it smelt of URINE! Will not be going back or recommending it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay! We haven't had any other complaints about the smell, but it's definitely something we will look into to try and find the source. Sorry to hear that you had problems with the foot of the bed too. We will get someone to look at it now!

Cheers
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $43 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing