We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is better out there”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #11 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is better out there”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The male receptionist was good and helpful on arrival, he began to seem a bit over it after awhile - maybe i kept bothering him with questions?? Stayed on the hostel side, whilst the colour scheme was nice and cheerful the photos dont quite match the reality. Shared bathrooms (which i was aware of), shower out of order so one for the whole floor - hardly any room to move about. Toilets ok, but people clearly lack the ability to flush - it is disgusting - certainly not the fault of the hotel but seriously is this how people live at home?? Lounge and kitchen small but adequate. Rooms comfortable unless you plan on getting sleep - jucy would do well to change the doors so every time someone leaves their room they dont have to slam it shut - at this time, that is the only way to shut the door - fantastic when you are actually trying to SLEEP!!! The bed was really comfortable and it could have been a good sleep if not for slamming every 15 minutes. Personally, I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HAYLEY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Services Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi Hayley,

Thanks for your review. Our cleaners do go through and clean regularly throughout the day but we will definitely take your feedback on board and make sure we keep a closer eye on the toilets from now on! Sorry to hear you did not get much sleep due to slamming doors though. Many of the guests staying over at the hostel side bring earplugs as it can help with any problems getting to sleep. We do have very comfortable beds though, you are right - many people also comment on that!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    202
    147
    52
    41
See reviews for
57
199
119
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Jucy Hotel is located in a nice little alcove in central Auckland. It's a bit hard to find, but the lime and purple soon give it away! Hostel/Flashpacker.Backpacker vibe. I had a hotel ensuite room, and very glad to have my own facilities! Group of kids staying there were very noisy early Sat morning, yelling at people on the street, generally being loud. Room was pretty cold, as the windows did not have any seals, so you could hear everything. Bathroom was roomy and shower was excellent. Tv has a good amount of freeview channels. Alarm clock in room went off at 4am on first night - some awesome person had set the alarm before me! All in all room was ok, bed was bearable, but the windows and their lack of seals was annoying. Kitchen/communal area was filthy - Both times I went in there, bins overflowing, stuff all over the floor(I did tell reception). First guy I had on reception checking in was pretty morose, but 2nd guy (Jose!) was very friendly and helpful. Free bag storage after checkout too :)

Room Tip: I had room with window facing back out to main street - noisy, and cold and windows were old and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keikolocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback and so glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and found the shower excellent!

We are definitely taking on board your feedback about the windows in the hotel and look into it. The kitchens and bins are cleaned daily and we will also tidy and clean on request, so it was good of you to let us know.

Thanks again, and hope to see you again next time you are in Auckland!

Cheers,
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were very basic, clean but quite dated and mouldy in parts. It was quite noisey at times. The communal area was great and good way to meet fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Sandra,
Thanks for your review, and it's great to hear that overall you had a positive experience and enjoyed meeting fellow travellers! Our staff do try their best to make every customer's stay smooth and pleasant, and I will pass your feedback on to them.
We hope to see you again the next time you are in Auckland!
Cheers
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a long day of travelling, the last thing I needed was to have to deal with a girl on the front desk who was not in a happy mood. It was obvious she didn't want to be there and probably needs to look for another job or take a refresher course in customer service. She was unhelpful and I was disappointed with what is essentially the first face-to-face contact a customer has with a hotel. Other than that, the hotel was nice and tidy. Good bed, good shower, good location, easy to find. There was a man on the front desk the next day that was cheerful and better to deal with. I looked at the Jucy website and liked what I saw in terms of cost, photo gallery, distance to Auckland CBD etc. Would I stay here again? Probably not. A bad start will always leave a lasting impression, and there so many other places to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Front Office Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi there,
Thanks for your feedback. It's great to hear that you found the hotel clean and comfy - nothing beats a good shower after travelling! Sorry to hear that you found one of our receptionists unhappy. It's unlike any of our staff members to be unhelpful and grumpy. We have taken the feedback on board & will be looking into it further. Hopefully you'll give us another go to prove ourselves!
Cheers
Lucy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed here when arriving very late into Auckland so no point spending money on a more luxurious choice. Was $79 NZD for the night and covered the basics well. Clean, bed not the most comfy, but OK. Rooms still a bit hostel-like, but perfectly functional and to be expected for the price. Location was fantastic and staff friendly - even though we arrived at 1am.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaW0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi,
Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with JUCY Hotel. Hope to see you again sometime!
Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had to stay in town after a friend's leaving party, and wanted somewhere cheap but clean. I got a deal for this hotel for $55 for the night, although normal price at this time of year is $89. At $55 it was a total bargain, but I think it would definitely still be good value at $89. Yes, it is a bit like a university halls of residence, and very basic, but it was clean and the bed was comfy. It's fairly central, so there was some noise in the early hours outside, but nothing too bad. The bathroom is a wet room, but functional. It's certainly nothing flash, but for the money, if you just want a place to get your head down, this hotel is ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamarieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi Lisa,
Great to hear that you enjoyed your short stay. Hope your friend's party went well and see you again next time!
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights after our arrival to Auckland. Clean, quiet hotel in great location direct in city center. Good option for short stay in Auckland for reasonable price.If you are backpackers looking for social buzz and sharing travel information there are more suitable options in Auckland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brano_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for your feedback! It's so good to hear you enjoyed your stay at Jucy Hotel!

Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,172 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing