We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for what you need”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Ranked #11 of 58 Auckland B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Adequate for what you need”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at Jucy for 2 nights in a private room/shared bathroom for 3 adults.

Great price for budget accomodation, bathroom and room were clean, albeit a little on the small size!

The outdoor area was a great chillout area and a great alternative to the living area and kitchen as they were in need of a deep clean!

Close to all the attractions in Auckland, waterfront, skytower, queen st, whilst we were there the tree outside was letting off a horrible smell which unfortunately lingered throughout the hostel.

Would recommend for people on a budget wanting convienient accomodation in Auckland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissy_Loutravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay.

The tree that you are referring to is called a Ginkgo tree, which from March through to the end of winter produces yellow berries which have a terrible stench. This tree is unfortunately in the park opposite our hotel, so we promise it’s the tree – not us!

I’ve passed your comments on regarding the cleanliness of the shared kitchen facilities to hotel management, so thank you.

It’s great to hear that overall you found the hotel suited your needs and was near all the main attractions. Thanks for recommending us!

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    201
    147
    51
    41
See reviews for
57
199
119
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Hotel-hostel combo; we stayed in an ensuite double on the hotel side. Check-in has a budget-traveller vibe; friendly and efficient service. Room was comfortable and clean and extraordinairy value, IMO. Slightly noisy late outside - you are in central Auckland - earplugs fixed it. Unbeatable location, walking distance to the harbour. I doubt any other centrally-located hotels can better their prices.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claw1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi there

It’s great you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback!
I hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland and New Zealand.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Having had quite an enjoyable stay at Jucy myself, I was a little surprised to read the negative reviews. My partner and I stayed for a weekend in a double ensuite room. The room was on level 1 (I think the room number was 107) and on the hotel side of the hostel. I found the room to be clean, quiet though a little stuffy. The furnishings and paint seemed quite new; the linen felt quite nice and there was also a tv in the room. I found the room to be spacious enough, though we were travelling light. The service is not what you would call friendly and helpful - it's a bit casual, but I suppose it is what it is for a hostel.

The location of the hostel is very central. It is located up a fairly steep hill, but 10 minute walking distance to night life, the ferries, and a stop on the airport bus route. You will need to pay separately for internet but when you're on the main streets of the city, Auckland offers free 30min wifi which you can connect through your smart phone. Overall I found my stay at Jucy quite enjoyable - it was good value for a budget hostel that is centrally located, and definitely better value than anything similar in Sydney.

Happy travelling!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs on the 'hotel' side and we had no trouble with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the location very central. We like to think that all our guests are greeted with a friendly smile and excellent service so I will definitely be passing your feedback on about your personal experience as it sounds like it was not up to our usual JUCY Standard and for that I apologise.

I do hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Was looking for somewhere cheap to stay while in Auckland visiting friends for a week and decided to pick Jucy, cheap, great accommodation. The only downside in staying their 5 days my room wasn't cleaned once (Unsure if this is common practice or if I was supposed to ask but didn't bother me). Room backed onto alleyway which was a bit noisy but earplugs from a dairy nearby fixed this without a problem. Great facilities, friendly staff who always asked how my day had been when I came back in at night and I was also allowed to check in early as my room was ready. Overall it was a really great experience and I will be staying there again next time i'm in Auckland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Tane

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent JUCY Experience.

It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. To clarify why your room would not have been cleaned during your stay our property runs off a “plus-plus” model. This means that we offer our guests affordable rates and those guests that would like the extra luxuries (such as housekeeping) can receive these by paying extra for only the services they require. I’m sorry if this wasn’t made clear to you when checking in and I will pass this onto the team.

Wishing you all the best and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

the pictures are a walt disney fantasy. real thing is an old hostel, with wall painting peeling out all around. they try to make it look nice by having everything green and purple but it is just not enough. the toilets are dirty, and the shower had hairs. the rooms are too hot, you have to leave the windows open and therefor you get all the street noise at your bed. all I can say is that i would not recommend anyone to stay here. spend a bit more money and make sure you can rest properly.

ooh, yes, they have computers you can pay for. we asked the guy whether they have DVD and he said 'i dont know', we asked whether he could check and tell us, he said 'no, and the computers are not ours' not even looking at us while talking. terrible...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for taking the time to post comments on your recent stay with us. I’m so sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.

The bathrooms & showers on the shared side of our hotel are cleaned twice a day, both morning and night. If our guests do bring to our attention that they are dirty during the middle of the day we do arrange various miscellaneous cleans as and when required. I do apologise that you felt that these were not up to scratch.

All your comments including the ones about the bathrooms, rooms and our staff have been passed onto our management crew. We do appreciate feedback, as feedback is how we can continually improve the experience we offer our guests.

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We normally stay branded hotels.......we booked this for location.......the location is very central downtown Auckland.near Vector Arena. but in a quiet street......I made a mistake on the booking dates but was over awed about the service we got from reception late at night and a week earlier than the booking made!!! We got a budget budget room on night one.........mmmmmmm very budget and noisy not that clean and shared facilities...not usually our gig!! Next 2 nights again thanks to awesome front desk in a room with facilities...quiet, clean and spacious.

Room Tip: The room numbers G01 to G06 are good maybe there are more.....rooms with just a number are the share...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. It’s fantastic to hear that our team exceeded your expectations with the customer service you received and they were able change your booking and get you into a room.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you had fun in Auckland. We look forward to seeing you again!

Cheers
Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

It's easy to say that the Jucy Hotel Auckland is really cheap but it's all good that I can say about it. The young lady at the reception desk wasn't really enthusiastic about her job. The single room was small and not fresh with almost no daylight. It didn't look as in the pictures. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tygrysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Manager at Jucy Snooze, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi there

Thanks for taking the time to place your feedback. Its good to hear you found us well priced. Regarding the pictures displayed- We have tried to display the room pictures as real to life as we can. We do have quite a few different rooms, Im sorry to hear you thought the single room with shared bathroom you stayed in did not meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feed back, good or bad, we really appreciate it.

Lucy xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Property: Jucy Snooze
Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing