We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of Jucy Snooze

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jucy Snooze
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I recently stayed in a twin room with share bathroom. Located just a few minutes walk to Queen Street. The building is quite old and could sometimes be noisy if the guest staying on 1st floor is "running". The room is clean and bed is clean, overall quite value for the price. Staff are friendly. It would be better if there is a heater or more blankets in the room, as it gets quite chill in the morning.

Room Tip: avoid the room near the stairs if you want some good sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Hi Elaine-

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.
It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found our rooms and location good value for money.

We work really hard on our customer service, so it’s great to hear that you found that our staff friendly. I have passed your comments about the extra heating in the 'hostel rooms' to the hotel management as we are always looking to improve our service.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

I recently stayed at the Jucy hotel in Auckland. I had a single room without bathroom ( just down the hall ) and was quite pleased for the price. It is centrally located just off od Customs St.and and an easy walk to Queen st,Sky Tower etc. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was located in a safe area. I paid only $ NZ 51 for a single room with a towel, sheets and bedding provided, which is quite good for a central city location. They can provide a simple continental breakast for $5. There are also dorm rooms for around NZ $30.
The bed and room were pretty spartan, but hey everything was clean, they had hot showers and you could use computers for the internet. Jucy also rents cars. Nothing fancy, but good value for money!

Room Tip: My room was quiet, but it was not real busy. Room 9 on 2nd floor had a view of a blind wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Hi Scott

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. We really appreciate it!

I’m glad you found our staff friendly, the room clean and enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Auckland and need time to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The decor is very modern and colourful - a great bright start when you're feeling a bit 'new' to the whole travelling 'thing'. Friendly enough staff and clean rooms. Great size social room with sofas, big telly and DVDs, nice set up. The location was perfectly close to the centre without being noisy.

Only improvement that could be done...The bathroom and kitchen could have been checked a little more often as bathmats were sometimes dirty and simple things like putting pots away weren't always done by others.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

Hi Amanda

Thanks so much for your feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, including our bright colours and friendly staff!

We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom and kitchen. I’ll pass your comments onto our hotel manager to make sure that hotel cleaners keep on top of these areas.

We look forward to seeing you again if you’re ever back in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

P.S Love the photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Kia ora Jucy, thank you for the main ingredients that I look for at any hotel/motel etc. Fire Alarm (in my room anyway), Emergency Fire Exit & a bed. :))

Early morning flight from Welly (Sunday 10th, the final day of lady Gaga concert) my first time to Ak (apart from Nth Shore..Is that AK) booked for 1 night I arrived at the hotel about 9am (I knew I was early but I wanted to drop off my day pack & suss out the city) I didn't realise I was booked in at 2pm but hey sweet as... I had time to spare... First thing I need to look for, Vector Arena wow it was just around the corner so to speak.

Then the city, "So Jucy" I didn't have to pull out my map which I had printed before leaving Welly... ALL amenities, the city, Sky Tower, Ferry's, Trains, cafe's, Buses..etc... I am an outdoorsy person, a hiker , you didn't need tramping boots (not that I took mine).

I return to the hotel to find my room ready (thank you to the dude on the morning shift Sunday 10th) he RAN to check if the room was clean & ready, great Customer Service's CHEERS BRO! I then head out again met up with my bro, & return about 5pm to listen to a group of happy drinking ladies laughing & yahooing, (I gather the lounge was directly above my room seems they were next door). But it didnt go on...I was ok with it.

At the end of the day all I needed was a bed & a mirror...lol I was out more than in...& for the price I paid I can concider staying there again, I had a great sleep after the concert, as I mention I'm a hiker, & we can pay far more on a "Great Walk" track. Jucy it & Use it... Ka ki te (cul8r)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikoi255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you found our staff friendly, rooms clean and our location great!

I hope you enjoyed Lady Gaga (I’m jealous) and we look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Booked a twin room on the hotel side when my daughter and I made a quick trip up for the Frankie Valli concert in April. Room was excellent, warm and clean and, as I thought when booking, it was within easy walking distance of the Vector Arena. Car parking a bonus too. Would definately stay here again on any trip to Auckland - so handy to so many things.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our facilities suited your needs and our central location great!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Had nice stay in Jucy, nights were not noisy and we had good sleep, staff was helpful and nice. Hotel itself needs a bit renovation, at least bathrooms... and kitchen should have more cups. Otherwise would definately recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Taavi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hi there

Thanks for your feedback – we really appreciate it!

It’s great to hear that overall you had a great stay & you found our staff helpful and friendly. I’ve passed all of your feedback onto our hotel manager, so thank you as feedback like yours helps us to continually improve the experience we offer our guests.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

This place simply gets it right. It is the most basic of hotels but the rooms are extremely clean and very large. We got a twin with ensuite bath, the shower was huge and everything was super comfortable.

There are facilities such as a kitchen and lounge which we did not make use of, but when we looked they seemed very nice. We needed a parking space that was safe (vital in central Auckland) and the hotel had very reasonable rates for in and out parking. Like most backpackers there is some traffic noise but it is not excessive.

If you are doing the Auckland tourist experience (I was visiting family but wanted some privacy), then you are walking distance to the Sky Tower, Waiheke & Devonport Ferry, and Queen Street. There are plenty of places to catch a bus if you want to visit Ponsonby or Mt Eden you are 5 mins from the Link Bus stops. The airport bus stops just around the corner.

The real star of this show is the staff though, they were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and simply made the stay.

I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel to anyone wanting an inner city hotel with no frills but good comfort. We paid around $220 for 3 nights in a two bedroom ensuite - that's very good value for money. I didn't have a Jucy car but if you do parking is FREE, they gave me 2 nights for free because I was a member of the now defunct Jucy club.

Just a great place and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenemalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jucylucy_11, Customer Service Champion at Jucy Snooze, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2012

Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your recent stay with us.

It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms, facilities and location all suited your needs.

We work really hard on our customer service, making sure that everyone who comes through our doors (or rents some JUCY Wheels for that matter) has a fantastic experience. So it’s great to hear that you found that our staff were the stars of the show!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Auckland and need a place to stay.

Cheers
Lucy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
#9 of 62 in Auckland Central
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 131 in Auckland Central
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jucy Snooze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jucy Snooze

Address: 62 Emily Place | Downtown, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Jucy Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland Central
Price Range: $48 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jucy Snooze 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JUCY Snooze combines the best of hotel and backpacker accommodation. With 60 rooms ranging from contemporary twin, double or triple rooms with en-suites to standard single, double and triple rooms with shared bathroom facilities- there is plenty of choice for the budget traveller without the need to share a room with randoms. WiFI available ( surcharge ). JUCY Snooze is within walking distance of Vector Arena, as well as all major attractions and main transport centres." Get your JUCY Experience here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jucy Snooze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jucy Snooze Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing