We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met all of our expectations and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at Sebel Apartments over the Christmas period having travelled via Singapore from the UK

As one of few flights out over a snowy weekend we appreciated even more the excellent room overlooking the harbour (they had upgraded us), the cleanliness and great room and the location

Auckland was brilliant, friendly, vibrant and a great place to stay. Would recommend this apartment very highly. Viaduct Harbour is much more about couples than families but this was still a great location for us.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilderness_explorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

As close as you can get to the Viaduct with harbour eateries, night spots and watering holes. Only a short stroll to the Sky Tower and Casino if you are inclined.
One side of the hotel gets fantastic views and the other gets a high rise parking station. I had a cheap room so got a nice view of the parking station. If the view is important, make sure you check with the hotel which side you will be on.
When you select 'internet' or 'breakfast' options it is an either/or decision. I thought the internet was an upgrade to include the breakfast option but it was not.
Also, they are currently renovating the pool and gym (which is next door to the hotel) so if using the gym is important to you (as it was for me) they will give you a voucher/discount to attend another gym a short distance away. Instead of using the Gym, I did a run along the foreshore which conveniently has km markers up until 5km giving you a 10km return run course.
Breakfast at the Mecca is good and you can easily add the meal to the room charge.
All in all a convenient place with nice rooms, all the mod cons you could need and cheerful staff without attitude.
I was content with my stay here and when in Auckland again, would stay here for business.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Sebel is on the quay near many bars and restaurants and a quick walk to the CBD and casino. The front desk welcome was efficient and pleasant. There is room service but no hotel restaurant. The commercial pool and gym are across the street available at a discounted rate. Some rooms have water views. Pay parking is adjacent. The hotel is modern with a clean contemporary look. It is not quiet however. Sounds travel from other rooms. Outside traffic is poorly deadened even by non opening windows. That doesn’t mean it isn’t a good stay, just be aware it might not be as quiet as some hotels. The smallish city side room was very comfortable with kitchenette, oven, cook top, micro, fridge, mini-bar, in-room safe, iron and board, internet $24/24 hours, flatscreen LCD and a large modern well appointed bathroom with hair dryer, tub and separate shower. The hotel doesn’t have the luxury feel of a Westin, but location, cleanliness and the room make it a good choice downtown. Would I stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Stayed twice in September, week long each. Absolutely superb service, value, and location. Arrived late past midnight and the front desk staff were amazingly friendly and welcoming. efficient check in and out, room spotlessly cleaned each day. I would recommend to any visitor to Auckland.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights in the one bedroom city view room.
The room was clean and tidy and the hotel is in a fantastic location.
We did notice that the shower leaked a little on the last day but every thing else in the room was great.
There was a little noise from the clubs on the Saturday night but nothing too loud.
They dont have a resturant but there are pleanty in walking distance that you can try, you can order room service but at the normal cost of room service (expensive).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsv1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed in a 1br marina view apartment which was lovely, great views, excellent location. We were surprised at how quiet the room was at night time, no noise from the restaurants and pubs below. We would highly recommend this property with the only very small complaint being that the bed wasn't that comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Second time I have stayed at the Sebel for a romantic/party weekend gateaway. Great views from the lovely apartment. Both times I have stayed in a marina deluxe apartment. These have two balconies one off main living area and one off bedroom. Nice sized apartments with dining area, living area, kitchenette, seperate bedroom. TV in both lounge and bedroom. Rooms are modern, fresh with a nice full bathroom (including bath). Good to have the kitchenette and large fridge for storing drinks and snacks etc. Great location to go out for dinner, party the night away. Excellent food via room service. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soapieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
3,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#17 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,483 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,645 reviews
0.1 mi away
M Social Auckland
M Social Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $174 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing