We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Great Hotel!!! Clean rooms, great service, great location, great view of the harbor! Stayed for 3 nights total and left our luggage while we traveled to Queenstown and staff did not have a problem holding it for us! Close to Airport shuttle and everything else in Melbourne. There are restaurants attached to the hotel that are great. Also the "Sushi Train" is right in front and greatly priced!. We used the Auckland city internet which is a great value if you dont want to use the expensive hotel internet. If you stay there I recommend you get a water view room!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
There are newer reviews for The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2010

great location right by the waterfront, busy with bars/restaurants ect. rooms have little kitchenettes and washing machine - there is a small shop out of the main doors turn right 100meters for bread/cereal ect. Comfy beds, nice bathroom. my room had no view, and the aircon was a bit dodgy - why can't hotels have windows which open? I miss fresh air! Not exciting, but perfectly good.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagpuss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

In an excellent position next to Viaduct harbour with lots of restuarants nearby. The room was a good size including a kitchette with microwave, free washing machine and dryer. Our room view was overlooking a road and car park but no traffic noise. Convenient for walking round the city. Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We spent two nights in the Sebel Suites hotel. We really enjoyed the great location of this hotel as well as the nice room and the frindly service. It was the perfect place to recover from the 12 hours jet lag and to start discovering Auckland. Great restaurants and bars in the area. We stayed there at the middle of the week. That's maybe why we didn't suffer from any noise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgianJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I had to write this as after being disapponted with the Sebel Trinity Wharf, I still felt the same here. Yes, I booked a Harbour View deluxe again and yet again it did NOT look like the picture and now having read your review of a customer who got upgraded to a 2 bed apt,I realise yet again that it was that room that was probably the elusive publicity shot that hooked me in. I even showed the receptionist my print out on arrival and said "Does the room really look exactly like this?"-needless to say she said it did and it didn't
The joke is Mirvac keep e mailing me for my opinion which they can (and I am sure do) read here. "Be honest with your photos else we will dump you."

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneChris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very glad we booked this hotel. Efficient check-in, and a lovely suite with a big balcony and views over the Viaduct Harbour. We got a great rate for a Marina deluxe suite through WOTIF, with a continental breakfast tray included each morning. Suite was spacious, bright and well-finished and we appreciated the washing machine and dryer. We were on the 5th floor but noise was not bad. Location is excellent - right in the centre of things. If we returned to Auckland we'd definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank A keen traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon to New Zealand and Australia in December 2009 on a room only basis.

I love this hotel! Our room was modern and spacious with a balcony overlooking the cityscape. The bathroom was lovely with a fanstastic walk in shower. The kitchenette was really useful as well. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bed was king size and fantastically comfortable.

The location is perfect. Right on the harbour next to every bar and restaurant you could ever want to eat or drink in. It's just a stone's throw from the ferry terminal and tourist information centre which was really useful.

It has great underground secure parking where we left our hire car when we got back too late to drop it at Avis.

There were a couple of niggles which didn't really bother us but you may want to consider.
- There isn't all that much storage space for clothes and luggage
- There is noise from revellers on a Friday and Saturday night right up until the early hours
- No free internet (but this seems true of most hotels in Oz/NZ)

This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in and I would love to return one day to try out a harbour view room. It's the hotel we measure others by now!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $123 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing