We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

We spent two nights in the Sebel Suites hotel. We really enjoyed the great location of this hotel as well as the nice room and the frindly service. It was the perfect place to recover from the 12 hours jet lag and to start discovering Auckland. Great restaurants and bars in the area. We stayed there at the middle of the week. That's maybe why we didn't suffer from any noise.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    469
    117
    49
    23
See reviews for
90
565
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

I had to write this as after being disapponted with the Sebel Trinity Wharf, I still felt the same here. Yes, I booked a Harbour View deluxe again and yet again it did NOT look like the picture and now having read your review of a customer who got upgraded to a 2 bed apt,I realise yet again that it was that room that was probably the elusive publicity shot that hooked me in. I even showed the receptionist my print out on arrival and said "Does the room really look exactly like this?"-needless to say she said it did and it didn't
The joke is Mirvac keep e mailing me for my opinion which they can (and I am sure do) read here. "Be honest with your photos else we will dump you."

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneChris4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

Very glad we booked this hotel. Efficient check-in, and a lovely suite with a big balcony and views over the Viaduct Harbour. We got a great rate for a Marina deluxe suite through WOTIF, with a continental breakfast tray included each morning. Suite was spacious, bright and well-finished and we appreciated the washing machine and dryer. We were on the 5th floor but noise was not bad. Location is excellent - right in the centre of things. If we returned to Auckland we'd definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A keen traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon to New Zealand and Australia in December 2009 on a room only basis.

I love this hotel! Our room was modern and spacious with a balcony overlooking the cityscape. The bathroom was lovely with a fanstastic walk in shower. The kitchenette was really useful as well. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bed was king size and fantastically comfortable.

The location is perfect. Right on the harbour next to every bar and restaurant you could ever want to eat or drink in. It's just a stone's throw from the ferry terminal and tourist information centre which was really useful.

It has great underground secure parking where we left our hire car when we got back too late to drop it at Avis.

There were a couple of niggles which didn't really bother us but you may want to consider.
- There isn't all that much storage space for clothes and luggage
- There is noise from revellers on a Friday and Saturday night right up until the early hours
- No free internet (but this seems true of most hotels in Oz/NZ)

This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed in and I would love to return one day to try out a harbour view room. It's the hotel we measure others by now!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_S_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

Clean and spacious room. Great bathroom with bath. Bed sleeps terrific.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudefromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
739 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 763 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Centrally positioned by the marina which has lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. It’s a bit more expensive to get a room with a view of the boats but it does look good. We were conscious of comments about noise from the surrounding bars at night so we chose to get an apartment away from the marina side however on a Thursday it was probably unlikely to be a problem.

We were allowed to check-in early which was a great help following a long flight from the USA. Our room (#224) was at the side of the building with the main windows overlooking a multi-storey car park and a slip road from the motorway. Not attractive, however one of the side windows gave a view of the Sky Tower which is within walking distance. There was no noise disturbance.

The apartment had a well equipped kitchen area with all you would need for self catering and also had a dining table and chairs. The washing machine & tumble drier were useful for travellers like ourselves who were away from home for a while and were limited to how much luggage we could take onboard our flights.

The furnishings and fittings were modern and the bed large and comfortable.

The bathroom was spacious with a walk-in shower (good power-shower) and a bath.

The reception staff were friendly and dealt with matters quickly in our experience. One word of caution was that they underestimated the time it would take to travel from the apartments to the airport when booking our transport and we only just made it for our internal flight the following day - so allow plenty of time. In NZ you can check-in up to only 30 minutes prior to take-off with luggage or 15 minutes if you have none (I think we got there with 31 minutes to go!).

Overall a comfortable, modern place with good facilities and at £88 for the night not too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

Upgraded
Very efficient staff, even the girl in training. Fast checkin and checkout. Very friendly and helpful staff. We booked a one bedroom marina deluxe room for our last night in NZ, and bless the hotel they upgraded us to an executive 2 br room (still with the marina view) which was awesome! We were travelling with our 2yr old daughter, so having a separate room for her (it was a study sized room with a single bed and a desk, with enough room to also put up a portacot) was such a bonus. The apartment was spacious and clean, with 2 bathrooms, including a separate bath, and a washing machine and dryer. Washing powder for one load included.
The views were great, watching yachts etc on the harbour. There is a huge selection of restuarants, and the area is buzzing on a Friday night.
We did hear noise from the bars below in our room (314) at night, but were expecting it having read other reviews and knowing the location. It didn't disturb us or affect sleeping (i dont' think it went on very late into the night)).
The main bedroom had an enormous and very comfortable bed, even bigger than a king size. Full block out curtains.
Excellent kitchen facilities, and a dining table for 6.
Parking below is $25 a night, convenient and secure.
About 30 mins to the airport.
Loved this place, would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing