We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A first class place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Sebel Suites overlook the harbour in the centre of Auckland. They are superbly appointed, with high quality appliances & furnishings. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay again and recommend them to all travellers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Margaret B,

Thank you for your feedback and I hope you had a safe trip back to the UK.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    469
    117
    49
    23
See reviews for
90
565
67
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you want to be close to everything, look no further. Right in the Viaduct area adjacent to cafes, bars and restaurants. Nice water views of the harbour.

Rooms are getting a little tired but still quite OK for a short stay. Remember to use the air-con as no opening windows which made things a bit stuffy. I would stay their again and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be within walking distance to all the action.

Room Tip: 6th floor and ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwingkingGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi SwingkingGoldCoast,

Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip advisor and we look forward to welcoming your back to NZ and the Sebel.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were upgraded to this hotel and were very happy about it. For three adults we had two bedrooms one very large with view of viaduct and one small which was okay for us as the third person expected to be in living room. Plus we had two bathrooms. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is the best and the noise from the bars below didn't bother us at all...we were there Saturday and Sunday nights. Will always stay here in future.

Room Tip: We had marina deluxe which looked over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garanirae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Raewynne H,

Thank you for making comment on Tripadvisor and letting us know about your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Not unhappy but just thought overpriced for what it was. 1 bedroom suite, but thought bedroom small and hard to move around. Had kitchen and laundry and separate lounge area. Clean enough. Think it sad wifi not included and I didn't even think of looking at this before booking as really thought with price it would have some. Was free in lobby. Bit of noise from nightclub over the road on the Saturday night. Very close to waterfront, that was the best thing. Prob would find something of better value next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Jenny B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip advisor. I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectation regarding value for money. Your feedback provides us with considerations on how we can increase our services so that guest expectations and value for money is improved.

Once again thank you I hope you will re consider the Sebel on your next visit to Auckland.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and in a great location for restaurants, bars and walking around the harbour front. Be wary of the noise from the restaurants below if you want a quiet night.

A few things would make it an even better experience.

The hotel entrance has stairs and no porters to help with luggage, a huge detractor on arrival. It was all do it yourself. What's with the rock hard beds ? A comfortable softer bed would have made the stay much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms with views are lovely but come with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbe28syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi cbe28syd,

Thank you for your recent feedback and letting us know about having to carry your own bags up the entrance stairs. We have recently increased our services during departure and arrival times to assist with luggage of our guests.

Once again thank you for providing feedback as it does make a difference on how the hotel tailors its services.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Interestingly the rooms with city views are quieter as the water view rooms overlook the viaduct bar area which gets quite rowdy at night. Set up as serviced apartments you have access to washer/dryer and kitchenette so very handy for bfsts and catching up on washing etc. Very friendly staff right throughout the property and always a friendly hello when walking through reception. Bfst is charged back from the cafe underneath which is also well run and very friendly (good coffee for Auckland as well!). I couldn't fault the stay.

Room Tip: Be careful of waterfront rooms - u may end up paying a premium for no sleep!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear StuckinBangers,

Thank you for your recent comments on Tripadvisor and giving the hotel the opportunity to respond especially from a top contributor. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, NZ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the Sebel Suites in Auckland City for two nights last week. Our rooms were very well appointed. Both had kitchenettes with all of the useful utensils and electrical appliances needed. Mine was a 1 bedroom suite. The "lounge" was tiny and the television in the lounge pointed at the opposite wall (instead of the seating) unless you spun it around. This was the only "odd" thing about the room which was easy to live with. Bedroom also had a television. Views out to the viaduct were stunning. Very handy to a wide variety of restaurants. We chose it because of the location near the Events Centre. Easy access across Wynyard Walkway. Parking was easy in a building next door. Also next door was the "Tepid Baths" which allowed for swimming or exercise in their gym. Reception was fairly efficient. No queues during any of our stay. Air conditioning in the rooms was easy to control and very handy.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out over the viaduct are obviously the best ones. The views are fantastic, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyandAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear MattyandAce,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Sebel Suites Auckland. I will have a look at the positioning of the television as it does sound a little 'odd'. We are very fortunate to have Tepid Baths across the road from the hotel. While I understand there is a small fee the facilities are better than any hotel gym and pool complex that I have experienced.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Business Hotel in Auckland
#18 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing