We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viaduct Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A colleague and I stayed at the Sebel Suites in Auckland City for two nights last week. Our rooms were very well appointed. Both had kitchenettes with all of the useful utensils and electrical appliances needed. Mine was a 1 bedroom suite. The "lounge" was tiny and the television in the lounge pointed at the opposite wall (instead of the seating) unless you spun it around. This was the only "odd" thing about the room which was easy to live with. Bedroom also had a television. Views out to the viaduct were stunning. Very handy to a wide variety of restaurants. We chose it because of the location near the Events Centre. Easy access across Wynyard Walkway. Parking was easy in a building next door. Also next door was the "Tepid Baths" which allowed for swimming or exercise in their gym. Reception was fairly efficient. No queues during any of our stay. Air conditioning in the rooms was easy to control and very handy.

Room Tip: The rooms that look out over the viaduct are obviously the best ones. The views are fantastic, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattyandAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear MattyandAce,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at Sebel Suites Auckland. I will have a look at the positioning of the television as it does sound a little 'odd'. We are very fortunate to have Tepid Baths across the road from the hotel. While I understand there is a small fee the facilities are better than any hotel gym and pool complex that I have experienced.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

Loved the location! Nice large room with laundry facilities. Loved the restaurant downstairs. Everything good until the music goes on until 4am. Loud screaming from various partiers Out front from10 - 4. No sleep. Too bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannetteMeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear JeannetteMeda,

Thank you for your recent comments and I am sorry to hear of the lack of sleep you experienced. It is important to receive your feedback so that we can review and take appropriate action. Due to our location in the heart of the entertainment precinct we do expect some noise. It is important that if this noise goes over a certain level then we work with local authorities to address these concerns.

I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your stay and please be assured we will continue to address your concerns.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our agent had requested a high level room overlooking the harbour - on arrival we were assigned a low level room overlooking a brick wall. After some insistence by us we got what we wanted and had booked in the first place and the staff attitude improved considerably.
The rooms were excellent, bedroom, lounge, kitchenette, office, en suite etc and very spacious. Good laundry facilities too
Located on the harbour, lovely outlook, very busy area as you are adjacent to all the bars and restaurants.
Overall a good stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AScottyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear AScottyP,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs. We receive many requests from agents for upgrades and while we try to accommodate as much as possible it is often subject to availability. Our Marina view rooms are very popular and we often advise our guests to book early so we can allocate accordingly. It is great to hear that the rest of your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a Marina Deluxe View Suite and could not sleep at all on both nights due to the reverberating night club and bar music and some kind of machinery noise in the hotel that went through til 4.00am. The deluxe marina view suite was on level 1 opening onto a large filthy balcony above the restaurant bar below. We could not open the doors. The decor, paint and fittings are quite tired. Overall hugely disappointed considering what we paid. If you book here, insist on a room well above level 1.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeGalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear MikeGalina,

Thank you for your recent comments on Trip advisor. It is important that we receive feedback from our guests so we can follow up and take appropriate action. I am sorry to hear that you were unable to sleep during your stay. While we are in the heart of the entertainment precinct and it is expected their is some noise your comments assist us with local authorities to help us manage local entertainment venues to manage their noise. We will continue to work towards managing similar concerns as this obviously impacts our guests. With regards to the balcony this is something I will follow up with my team to address.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First the positives: The rooms are located right on the Marina and are adjacent to many restaurants and bars. Our room was a good size and well appointed. There was access via a lift to the underground car park.The negatives: No wifi in the room. The option is a modem and over $5 per quarter hour. Hardly what you would expect at the prices charged for the rooms. You would need to specify a marina view room otherwise you may be looking at a car park. The car park is $26 per day. Complimentary newspaper was offered but never arrived and first request for it got a disinterested response- did not ask again. There is no fitness centre within the building. Was left with the impression that if you have a view of the marina you should be grateful and not expect anything else. Would not go back. Auckland has a big harbour and there are no doubt plenty of places to stay with water views.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Marina view on higher floors, otherwise consider an alternative location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIchaelandJo477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneE174, General Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear MIchaelandJo477,

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment of your recent stay at the hotel. It is important to receive feedback so we can make changes to improve our guest experience. With regards to WIFI we are currently working with our suppliers to improve the quality of of our internet service. We have recently offered complimentary WIFI in our foyer until we have upgraded our current system. With regards to gym facilities we are fortunate to have a state of the art gym across the road from the hotel. While there is a small fee the quality of the facilities is an advantage.

Once again I am sorry for not meeting your expectations and thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond.

Kind regards

Shane Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here twice in January before and after out flight to the Cook Islands.

We're booked into a one bed suite overlooking the harbour.

The first stay we got a free upgrade to room 114 which has the largest balcony overlooking the boats and restaurants. We were impressed.

The second visit, staff very kindly let up have our room from 7am (early flight back). We were also allowed a late check out which we had kept extending.

Both suites self contained apartments providing excellent kitchen facilities, washing machine and dryer. Comfortable bed. Large bathroom.

We were very well looked after by Savio at reception who couldn't do enough for us. Excellent service (and we had recently stayed at Raffles Hotel, Singapore so high standards!).

Great location and plenty of places to choose to eat. Would we more than happy to stay here again if we should be so lucky to return to Auckland.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VictoriaH105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear VictoriaH105

Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your 2 previous stays at the Sebel Suites Auckland. We are naturally delighted to be put in the same conversation with the likes of a famous hotel such as Raffles in Singapore. Thank you as well for your personal mention on one of our team members, this is very pleasing to hear and will certainly let him know. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great location in the viaduct. Very well priced, super clean and modern. Surprisingly quiet with no noise from a noisy Saturday night. Only gripe ,meaning not a 5 star is the outrageous Internet prices!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee P, Manager at The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Richard S

Thank you for your feedback relating to the Sebel Suites Auckland. The internet is certainly something we are considering with our internet providers to offer a better and more competitive price offering to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#14 of 65 in Auckland Central
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $153 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing