We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited us to perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Suited us to perfection”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived in Auckland late on a Saturday afternoon, having travelled from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur, and then via Melbourne.

We were very tired when we arrived, but the check-in was very speedy and we were delighted with the accommodation. We were on a corner aspect with a view of the marina. If we had been staying longer than two nights (with one full day in Auckland) it might have been good to have upgraded to a suite with a full frontal view, but the suite we had suited us well enough.

The in suite facilities were very good, en suite bathroom with bath and separate shower, a washing machine, tumbler dryer (both with simple to understand instructions), iron and ironing board. The kitchenette was adequately equipped with all the basics needed for a short stay. It was all exceptionally clean and well presented.

The Sebel overlooks the marina, which is a very lively place, particularly on Saturday evenings. After a series of long flights I was glad to have earplugs (I am a light sleeper), although the room is very well insulated for sound. Sunday evenings are rather more peaceful. Very good views from the room.

We were very well situated with only a short distance from the door on the marina entrance of the hotel to a variety of restaurants, bars and cafes. We had breakfast at the Mecca restaurant which had a convenient arrangement to charge directly to our bill with Sebel. Alternatively one could have breakfast delivered to the bedroom, for an additional charge.

The Sebel is also very conveniently located for main street shopping in central Auckland, for ferry trips and harbour cruises, and for visiting Voyager, the home of New Zealand's superb maritime museum.

I was, however, rather disappointed with the charge for wifi access which I feel should be made freely available for anyone staying in a hotel

That said, the service and efficiency of the staff, and all the other facilities, made it an excellent choice for a stay in Auckland.

Room Tip: View from higher up floors, e.g. fifth or sixth floors would be much better. We were on floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    496
    124
    53
    24
See reviews for
96
593
70
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Superb. Great location for yachting trips, kayaks, cycle hire & trips to volcanic island. Great food within yards of hotel.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Rooms clean and very comfortable. Will return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnyp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I arrived 7am thinking I would have to drop my bags and go walking until I could check in later but the hotel had an available room and allowed me to check in early. Customer service was outstanding! The hotel is extremely clean and the suite very modern with full refrigerator, oven and washer dryer. Beautiful view overlooking the marina. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlohaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were booked at the Quay West Suites, but were told our room had "plumbing problems" so we were being moved to Sebel Suites. They said no extra charge even though it is a 5 star property. I have had good experiences generally with Accor properties, but this one lets them down. The first room we were given looked over the car park and was dark, very worn furnishings and generally un inviting. We had booked a room with a view and balcony at Quay West so I asked to be moved. No luck unless we paid a higher rate.So they were not prpeared to honour our original level of booking. Then tried to get wifi, no joy only plug and play. Thats no use when you have an iPad. So complained again and advised I was very unhappy with the handling of our booking. Change of Duty Manager, who apologised and we were moved to a harbour view room. While more inviting the furnishings are still tired, cracked tiles, chipped walls, scratched paintwork and the bathroom floor was dirty. Still no wifi, "its coming" I was told.
Internet is $26 a day as is the very limited parking in the basement. Difficult to find the property as well if you are driving and need a car park. Come on Sebel this is not god enough, the brand is usually very good, but a 5 star property this is not, 3 at best in its current condition. They seem to be trading on location, which is in the Viaduct Basin and that brings noise issues.
Apart from the unhelpful Duty manager, the other staff were fine. Good air-conditioning.
The corridors needed a proper vacuum and decor seemed generally tired. The dryer would not work either. Maybe we were given one of the older rooms needing a tidy up, but still not good enough.Also being waterside, dont open the windows and doors as mosquitos will torment you all night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JagmanV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earls Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had a fabulous 3 night stay at The Sebel Suites. After 3 weeks in a Camper Van, the room was sheer bliss with a quiet, comfy bedroom, a large bathroom, full kitchen facilities including a dishwasher, and a good size lounge/diner with TV, DVD and even a stereo. There was even a washing machine and tumble dryer in the room.
The room and balcony looked straight over the Harbour and there was a great choice of restaurants below, although we chose the good value room service which came from one of the local restaurants!
The city centre is only a 5 minute walk too and the public swimming pool opposite is well worth a visit.
The only negative is the lack of free wi-fi which seems mean of a hotel of this quality and price.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Request a room with a full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a one night package break at the Sebel Suites and loved the location. To be in the heart of the viaduct with the restaurants and harbour, it was fantastic. The suite was fabulous, it was clean and well appointed. We stayed as a couple, but our suite on the second floor had another single room and second bathroom, with plenty of space to stay comfortably for several days.....The balcony was great too, with plenty of room for the table and chairs provided. It was great watching the boats and people going by in the afternoon sun...Every staff member we came across was friendly and welcoming, and it felt genuine....There is a but......we appreciated where we were staying would have a down side, staying in the heart of an area like that we expected noise, from the people and music in the bars and restaurants, but the noise made it almost impossible to sleep. It was just as well we had a late checkout as part of the package, as we certainly needed the sleep in! Would we stay again, yes, proabably if we could get a room with reduced noise levels on the harbour side......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a great three days. Apartment super, good facilities, clean and great views of waterfront.
Very happy and comfortable. Easy access to restaurants and sailing trips, staff very friendly and helpful. Only complaint had to pay for WiFi
A wonderful start to a trip to NZ

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Property: The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Address: 85 - 89 Customs Street West | Viaduct Harbor, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Auckland
#15 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#17 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 4.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Sebel Hotel Auckland
Auckland Sebel Hotel
Auckland Sebel Suites
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing