We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid - dirty, tired, rip off”
Review of Metropolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Metropolis
Reviewed April 29, 2013

the room was dirty - thick dust over all surfaces, scuff marks everywhere, filthy tables, chairs stained, floor stained, there was tape holding the door together, cupboards were scratched.

do they really think people are going to pay for this?

we found a room in another hotel.

Room Tip: avoid this hotel altogether
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 107 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is now the Clarion Collection Hotel Metropolis. When we booked the Clarion Metropolis, we were not exactly sure how convenient its location would be with it being in the CBD. We were quite happy to find that it is extremely convenient. Only a block from Queen St. and a 10-15 minute walk to the ferry dock. We were given a suite on the 27th floor with a view to the harbor and the view is stunning. The people at the front desk have been quite accommodating and helpful. The room itself is very large, but a bit shabby and could use some updating and the super king bed was way too soft. The bathroom is quite nice, and the room has a kitchenette. It even has its own washer and dryer. We got a low internet price that made it an acceptable value for us. Be aware that if you have a car, there is an NZD15 per night parking fee. We would highly recommend staying here if you can get a good rate.

Room Tip: Highly recommend getting a room on an upper floor facing the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

An ideal location at the north end of the CBD, opposite Albert Park. Close to shopping (Queen St), cafés, and restaurants. The apartment was a 1BR with harbour views (27th floor), and had a well fitted kitchen, bathroom, even a washing machine and dryer. It has good cupboard space in the bedroom, and separate sitting area (lounge). One minor inconvenience on the night we stayed - they had a plumbing issue. NO water from 10pm to 5am. I had to call the desk to ask for some water (as you couldn't get it out of the tap). I would have thought the hotel should have been pro-active and delivered bottled water to all rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vossy3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We went for a room inspection and were shown a 2-bedroom deluxe suite with a large balcony for $450 a night, which we booked 4 months in advance. On arrival, it turns out the deluxe suite had been taken back by the owner (which they failed to advise us about). Instead, they had given us 2 x small studio units interjoined, which did not meet our needs at all. We were forced to accept it (at a small, disappointing discount) because they had left it too late for us to find alternative accommodation. There was blood on the bedspread in one of the rooms. Very disappointed, would not recommend anyone stay here.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get the room you have booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tommo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Have just stayed for nine nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom 25th floor apartment with harbour views - Wow. Fantastic location - right in the middle of downtown Auckland - resturants and cafes right on your doorstep. The apartment was fantastic and had everything we could need, with a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer and a fully equiped kitchen (only thing lacking was a sharp knife). The view was absolutely amazing day and night! Both bedrooms had the same amazing view. Beds are very, very comfortable. The apartment we had included a parking space and free wi-fi so good value. The reception is hard to find with our check in being in Kitchener street (next to Victoria Street car park) - no signs except for a very small name carved into the stone wall. My brother was also staying at the same time and he booked through Metro Suites - same apartment block, but his check in was in Courthouse lane - even harder to find as no signs at all for that. Would highly recommend and will definately be staying here again.

Room Tip: Certainly pay the extra for a harbour view on a higher floor - well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank breambay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is well located and offers very limited on site parking. The suites are small apartments and are well equipped. We had a few problems - starting with the address. The entrance is actually on Kitchner Street and is very easy to miss. Do not go to the Courthouse Lane entrance - it is a different hotel! At check in there was confusion about the rate ( we paid more for one night then what our confirmed booking indicated), they did not have any local area maps and only had one key (we did get a second key the next day and they had found a map to photocopy for us). The room needed some maintenance and deep cleaning. There was a very unattractive stain on the bedspread. The bed was comfortable and the staff did their best to be helpful, but this is not a 4 or 5 star property. The location is great - a close walk to the quays, shopping, the art gallery and lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of weeks (Nov/Dec). It's a serviced apartment but they come in and make up the room everyday. The furniture is a little dated but the beds are very comfortable. Location is fantastic...just off Queen St in the heart of the CBD. Reception staff very friendly and helpful as we're the house keeping staff.

Overall not a bad place to stay if only a little pricey.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Residences
AVANI Metropolis Auckland Reside...
#28 of 66 in Auckland Central
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#29 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropolis

Address: The Metropolis Apartments 1 Courthouse Lane, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Ascott Auckland Metropolis)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $145 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metropolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolis Hotel Auckland Central
Ascott Hotel Auckland
Metropolis Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing