We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sheer indulgence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
mackay
1 review
“sheer indulgence”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We had two bookings here - one for two nights and one for another night three days later on our return from Bay of Islands. Initially we were asked if we would like to upgrade to the club floor and seeing one of our nights there was my birthday, we decided to do this. What a fantastic decision. Breakfast as part of the upgrade, canapes and complimentary drinks between 5.00pm and 7.00pm. We certainly got our money's worth and the lovely feeling of being able to wander around the club lounge without having to stay in your room. My special thanks to Raymundo and Peter - the quintessential "butlers" who made our stay so special and enjoyable. Free city shuttle, fabulous bed - what more can I say? Will we stay here again - absolutely!! Would we upgrade to Club Floor - absoloutely!! Thankyou Langham for a wonderful memory!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,498
    1,088
    382
    101
    63
See reviews for
472
2,047
243
923
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2010

A most memorable occasion enjoyed by ages raging from 18 months to 86years celebrating my parent's 59th Wedding Anniversary with family and friends. My parents were collected from the Airport in the Hotel Limousine and suprised at the Hotel with the family welcome. The Hotel exceeded our expectations (we have been before) with room up-grades, suprise amenties in the room and the over all care and attention. Food was plentiful, tasteful, of selectable choice with attention to specific diet requirements. As we spent most of our time in the Club Lounge this was most accommodating and Butler Service is a hotel speciality. The selection of drinks available from fruit juice to beer to wine to cocktails was never ending. My parents were returned to the Airport by the Hotel Limo and the driver went out of his way to locate a wheelchair and helped with their luggage and ticket purchase. As my father was in tears when he left I assured him that there is a Langham in Heaven!!!! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed at the hotel as part of a hotel special. Probably the hotel would have seemed overpriced without the discount. The staff service was variable throughout the hotel. It seemed to go downhill on the busy Sunday at breakfast & checkout, and one of the valet staff even snapped at my husband. But the housekeeping staff were very friendly, as was the shuttlebus driver. The shuttle bus is a great service that helps make up for the location. The gym was modern and quite adequate for a hotel gym.

It was a nice hotel, but probably better to go for an afternoon tea, rather than for staying the night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We booked the five star fling package which includes free valet parking,bottle of wine and 2 fully cooked breakfasts in the hotel restaurant.
I Previously stayed at Stamford Plaza 10 months ago and this hotel easily beat them with the much better rooms ,furnishings,food ,lovely staff etc.
Beautiful spa/pool area
I'm keen to return again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowfarmer350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were visiting Auckland for the NZ Tourism awards and decided to live it up in Auckland. We wanted a place where you didn't get woken in the night by traffic and where you could spend the day by the pool. The Langham fitted the bill too a tee! the breakfasts were beautiful, amazing staff that after three days knew you by name, fantistic service and hospitality.

Being in the hospitality industry we were blown away with the Langham and will be back for sure! Thank you to al the staff we meet,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFairwaysKaikoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Langham - you did not let us down. Fab service which could not be faulted. You are a lesson to other Hotels on how to run a top hotel. Other Hotels in NZ - take a lesson from here. Will stay here again when back in Auckland. Food was excellent and not too expensive. Keep up the good work. We looked pretty closely to find anything wrong and could not(just need to have a check of their curtin liners however as some condensation has caused slight staining and other minor discoluration) - nothing that would worry us and probably unoticed by most.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltownlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The Langham was the first hotel of our 3 week honeymoon in New Zealand and we couldn't have asked for a better start. We were welcomed by the reception staff and shown to our rooms and were extremely happy to disover we had been upgraded due to our honeymoon status. The room was very elegant and luxurious and the hotel itself was clearly a very high standar. Free internet was available to us on several PCs. Only gripe may be that it took about 15-20mins to walk to the busiest area of the city centre - but gave us chance to explore so we weren't too bothered. In summary, fantastic hotel with great staff - but maybe a little business like...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonersAug10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing