We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group
Nearby Hotels
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$125
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$241
$210
Hilton
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$112
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$103
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$193
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$205
$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,760)
Filter reviews
4,760 results
Traveler rating
2,897
1,224
442
125
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,897
1,224
442
125
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlethe palm courtthe club loungehigh teaexecutive roomchocolate fountainturn down servicesteam roomnew zealandfive star hotelbuffet breakfastvalet parkingan upgradek roadlong flightcity centrequeen street
Filter
Updating list...
4,418 - 4,423 of 4,760 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2010

stayed at the Langham in Feb for 5 nights. we booked the executive floor which included
breakfast , evening cocktails and nibbles. In other hotels we have stayed in, at executve level ,you had the choice of the lounge or the main breakfast room downstairs which gave you much more variety, but having said that the breakfast in the executive lounge was more than adequate offering hot choices. The service in the executive lounge was
very average apart from "Ramondo" who was very good at his job. It was also uncomfortably cold so ladies take a cardi with you ! they also have an odd way of doing
things, they serve drinks and nibbles from 5.30 pm-8.30 pm then from 8.15 pm-9.0 pm
you can go back in for coffee and desert . We went back one evening at 8.30 pm to find
one of the cleaners hoovering !! not very welcoming or professional, and quite a few of the lights were turned off so the whole "experience" makes you feel that you shouldnt be there !! However apart from that the rooms were very nice and they have a lovely pool area. the location of the hotel is not down town but the shuttle bus they provide is good. the front reception programmed our room key wrong twice !! very annoying . So all in all it was good but not great . I forgot to mention one evening having drinks in the executive lounge they just shut up shop 10 mins before 7.30 pm. without saying anything to anybody and of course a complaint was made and the reason given was that they were very busy earlier on and they had to clear, up now that really was not good enough. It is a shame because the Langham is a very comfortable hotel and the ambience is classy but it seems to be lacking something and a few areas need to be improved to make you feel you are staying in a 5* environment.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We chose the Langham intially because we wanted a good hotel with quality beds following our flight from the UK; infact we stayed at both ends of our trip to NZ. On arrival our room was surprisingly not ready for us - but the hotel dealt with it very well and we were soon ensonced in an 'upgraded' room on the 5th floor, although I could not see little difference with room on the 7th floor that we had on our return. The beds were excellant and in fact my only comment was that the shower was above the bath - potential for accidents. Although the 5th floor (& also the 6th) had computers for guests use, we used them on both occasions

The Staff were very pleasant/ helpful and the breakfast as expected.

We caught the airport shuttle on both occasions to the hotel, getting out at Stop No 1, which is 50- 75m from the hotel, although we had a taxi for departures. The hotel shuttle that runs every 30 mins to the city centre was extremely useful, which included an evening visit to O'Connell St Bistro, that was recommended by the Concierge from the Lonely Planet - very good choice.

Finally on our last day we enjoyed the hotel's open air swimming pool on the 3rd floor together with jacuzzi, sauna & steam room

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Having tried most of the hotels in Auckland over the last few years it was a revelation to find the Langham Hotel. Sure the rooms are a little tired (furniture a little old) but oh so comfortable and totally relaxing. We found the staff exceptional, food delicious and overall a wonderful experience. Its the little things that matter, turn down service, chocolate on the pillow, comfortable bed, quiet room and exceptionally clean.
As we spend nearly every second weekend in Auckland it is great to know that we have finally found our hotel of choice.
Next time we will certainly make sure we organise to have the famous afternoon tea, usually booked out in advance because it is so popular.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bele5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed in an Executive Suite for a couple of nights to recover from the long flight (from London) before we started our 5-week tour of NZ. The suite was large, beautifully decorated and furnished, and everything worked properly. The complimentary Executive Club facilities were spot-on: PCs always available, great breakfasts, tasty nibbles and drinks in the evening. The hotel staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful and efficient without being obtrusive. It was an oasis of luxurious calm - ideal for getting over a long haul flight and charging the batteries for travelling round NZ. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Langham Hotel was, for us, a first class place. Having said that, our room was on the fifth floor. Nobody ever explained it to me, but I gather that the higher the floor, the better the room and the more amenities you get. For instance, the fifth floor has three free computers with very good internet access, but on the lower floors I understand that they charge tens dollars an hour or thirty dollars for the day for internet access (New Zealand dollar = plus or minus .7 American dollar). So our wonderful experience with this hotel might not be repeated by those booked into lower floors.

Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very large and was so comfortable we’d have loved to have taken it home with us. It had many pillows of many sizes at the headboard and a warm quilt-like blanket at the bottom, in case we needed it. The bathroom was average size and very clean. There was a coffee pot for heating water and a supply of instant coffee, which was fine by me. Instant is what I drink at home. However, that pot does not just sit out. I bumped into it behind a door in the dresser. In addition to the refrigerator mini-bar, there is a mini bar, for items they do not cool in the regular minibar, in the dresser. That is where they keep the adapter so you can plug in a US laptop. I forgot mine, so that was especially handy, even if I did have to go to the desk to find out where to find it.

Check-in went smoothly. It only took a couple minutes. In fact, because of our crack of dawn arrival flight, we showed up at seven in the morning, and they gave us our room right away. I don’t remember any hotel in our extensive travels that ever did that. The porter, who brought out luggage to the room, refused a tip. Another first. The hotel has no shops or vending machines, other than the mini-bar. However, there are several mini marts within a couple blocks, where you can buy beverages, snacks and other incidentals. Parking was thirty dollars a day, with unlimited ins and outs. We were able to take the car out several times with no problems other than the five minute wait after presenting the ticket. Driving is not easy in Auckland. There are few through streets and street names just change randomly as you go along. There is virtually no such thing as free parking during business hours. There are even few businesses that provide it. You have to “pay and display” a slip you buy from the ever present parking machines, from which, the longer you park, the more expensive it is per hour. For instance, if one hour is two dollars, two hours will be five dollars. And, they are everywhere. You see them even far back into residential neighborhoods. Even then, it is very hard to find a parking space anywhere – they are virtually always all taken.

The hotel is located close to Karangahape Street, which is the city’s somewhat seedy red light district. However, compared with the red light district in say, Amsterdam it is very tame and, to all appearances, completely safe. The hotel is quite a long way from the downtown area, but they more than make up for it with their free shuttle bus that runs downtown every half hour from early in the morning until late at night. The drivers are very friendly, chatty and will provide any travel information requested by passengers. They even have travel brochures on board.

The reports on the outrageous prices at the hotel restaurants are very true. For instance, the breakfast buffet is $37 a person. However, they are fairly easy to avoid. There are several breakfast restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. If something fancier is desired, you can take the shuttle bus downtown. There is a shopping mall right across the street from the bus stop that had several places you can get breakfast or any other meal of the day, for that matter. There is an Italian restaurant across the street from the hotel. The meal we ate there was more than acceptable and both of our meals together totaled less than one at the Langham. We also drove over to Parnell Street, where we found a lot of very nice and relatively inexpensive restaurants. Parking on the street is free there after six.

We enjoyed our stay at the Langham very much and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews