We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$222
$210
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$207
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$125
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$130
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,762)
Filter reviews
4,762 results
Traveler rating
2,898
1,225
442
125
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,898
1,225
442
125
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlethe palm courtthe club loungehigh teaexecutive roomchocolate fountainturn down servicesteam roomnew zealandfive star hotelbuffet breakfastvalet parkingan upgradek roadlong flightcity centrequeen street
Filter
Updating list...
4,423 - 4,428 of 4,762 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stayed in an Executive Suite for a couple of nights to recover from the long flight (from London) before we started our 5-week tour of NZ. The suite was large, beautifully decorated and furnished, and everything worked properly. The complimentary Executive Club facilities were spot-on: PCs always available, great breakfasts, tasty nibbles and drinks in the evening. The hotel staff were brilliant - friendly, helpful and efficient without being obtrusive. It was an oasis of luxurious calm - ideal for getting over a long haul flight and charging the batteries for travelling round NZ. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent-UK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Langham Hotel was, for us, a first class place. Having said that, our room was on the fifth floor. Nobody ever explained it to me, but I gather that the higher the floor, the better the room and the more amenities you get. For instance, the fifth floor has three free computers with very good internet access, but on the lower floors I understand that they charge tens dollars an hour or thirty dollars for the day for internet access (New Zealand dollar = plus or minus .7 American dollar). So our wonderful experience with this hotel might not be repeated by those booked into lower floors.

Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was very large and was so comfortable we’d have loved to have taken it home with us. It had many pillows of many sizes at the headboard and a warm quilt-like blanket at the bottom, in case we needed it. The bathroom was average size and very clean. There was a coffee pot for heating water and a supply of instant coffee, which was fine by me. Instant is what I drink at home. However, that pot does not just sit out. I bumped into it behind a door in the dresser. In addition to the refrigerator mini-bar, there is a mini bar, for items they do not cool in the regular minibar, in the dresser. That is where they keep the adapter so you can plug in a US laptop. I forgot mine, so that was especially handy, even if I did have to go to the desk to find out where to find it.

Check-in went smoothly. It only took a couple minutes. In fact, because of our crack of dawn arrival flight, we showed up at seven in the morning, and they gave us our room right away. I don’t remember any hotel in our extensive travels that ever did that. The porter, who brought out luggage to the room, refused a tip. Another first. The hotel has no shops or vending machines, other than the mini-bar. However, there are several mini marts within a couple blocks, where you can buy beverages, snacks and other incidentals. Parking was thirty dollars a day, with unlimited ins and outs. We were able to take the car out several times with no problems other than the five minute wait after presenting the ticket. Driving is not easy in Auckland. There are few through streets and street names just change randomly as you go along. There is virtually no such thing as free parking during business hours. There are even few businesses that provide it. You have to “pay and display” a slip you buy from the ever present parking machines, from which, the longer you park, the more expensive it is per hour. For instance, if one hour is two dollars, two hours will be five dollars. And, they are everywhere. You see them even far back into residential neighborhoods. Even then, it is very hard to find a parking space anywhere – they are virtually always all taken.

The hotel is located close to Karangahape Street, which is the city’s somewhat seedy red light district. However, compared with the red light district in say, Amsterdam it is very tame and, to all appearances, completely safe. The hotel is quite a long way from the downtown area, but they more than make up for it with their free shuttle bus that runs downtown every half hour from early in the morning until late at night. The drivers are very friendly, chatty and will provide any travel information requested by passengers. They even have travel brochures on board.

The reports on the outrageous prices at the hotel restaurants are very true. For instance, the breakfast buffet is $37 a person. However, they are fairly easy to avoid. There are several breakfast restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. If something fancier is desired, you can take the shuttle bus downtown. There is a shopping mall right across the street from the bus stop that had several places you can get breakfast or any other meal of the day, for that matter. There is an Italian restaurant across the street from the hotel. The meal we ate there was more than acceptable and both of our meals together totaled less than one at the Langham. We also drove over to Parnell Street, where we found a lot of very nice and relatively inexpensive restaurants. Parking on the street is free there after six.

We enjoyed our stay at the Langham very much and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoneColumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We booked the Langham for four nights at the end of our trip to New Zealand as it was just a short walk from our relatives house in Grafton.Overall felt it was ok but not quite 5star compared with other hotels we have stayed in.The rooms were fine but general service was disapointing particularly after Singapore hotels.Around 3pm on the day arrived from Christchurch we went to the bar/snack area to try and get a drink and a sandwich.We were told all the tables were booked for afternoon tea,we asked as a residents were should we then.We were sent into the huge buffet restaurant that was being cleared from lunch and sat there alone in splendid isolation.
My wife and I then arranged to take her brother and his wife out to dinner saturday.They had seen a write up about the hotel Italian restaurant,so Saturday morning I asked one of the Concierge staff to book it for me for 7.30pm.
When we went to the restaurant I found no reservation had been made and they were full as they had a lot of diners from a Tuack tour there that night.However one of the restaurant staff saved the day,saying you have booked dinner with us you will have it.
My annoyance and irration were made a little better by the help of that member of staff and the food.
I reception and the concierge desk aware of my annoyance but could have been talking to the wall for more response.
It may be a 5 star coach tour hotel,but not a five star individual tourist hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We arrived on a busy day in the hotel. The bell insisted to take our luggages up in the room. He talked in a very low tone but really not much to sell in the room. I still gave the tip for his effort. The room was quiet. The shower was old fashioned and same as the TV. The laptop powerpoint seemed to be no meaning if you took the free one up on the 5th or 6th floor. The air-condition was also old styled.
The dinner buffet was good with oysters, daily soup and prawns. But the rest of the starters, main courses and desserts were nothing special at all. The steak was very tough and hard to swallow it down. The price was still quite expensive. I couldn't understand the buffet did not include coffee from the coffee machine.
The bar was always very busy but the service was EXCELLENT! The server needed to be praised for his fast service.
The Italian restaurant was closed on Mon, little disappointed with thing likes this in this hotel.
The shuttle driver was always nice service to everyone. But the time was bit too early to close down at night.
Overall, I suppose that this hotel is among one of the better one in this town.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiseguy1282005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

Late review. Very plush indeed but also comfortable and great staff. The hotel is out of the way although only a 20 minute walk to the city, but has a helpful regular shuttle. This was on our long adventure trip so i didnt pack sunday bests so felt a little out of place among some of the other patrons (who seemed to dress for breakfast) - but it seemed to make no difference to the staff they were all very friendly, they were also very helpful and knowledgeable. We like walking so walked to the Domaine (and some other places names slip my mind). This was near the end of a long trip, the rooms and bed were so comfy i didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews