We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avery enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Avery enjoyable stay”
Reviewed December 22, 2008

We only stayed here for one night, but would have liked to stay longer. The bedroom was luxuriously furnished with silk cushions and a velvet throw. Housekeeping was excellent and even included a turn-down service with the customary chocolate on the pillow. The bar area is very stylish and, again, beautifully furnished.

  • Liked — Comfort of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,065
    376
    98
    63
See reviews for
460
2,012
238
905
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

I always turn to this site prior to booking my hotel accommodation. The number one hotel for Auckland, according to Trip Advisor, was the Westin. Unfortunately they wanted $NZ375 a night and they were pretty full as David Beckham and his posse were staying there. A friend of mine (obviously my richer friend), was actually staying there and said that he saw David Bakham in the lobby - but could only see the top of his head as he was swamped with women (sorry Posh!)

But the point of that introduction was that I couldn't afford hotel number one, so I went with the Langham. Now, the location isn't as fancy as the Westin (at the harbour), but the hotel was so cute. I have to give it snaps for that.

I booked a Queen bed room for NZ$220 a night. Upon check-in, I was told that I was upgraded to a King room (yeay!). I was also told that by the front desk that the Customer Relations Manager wanted to meet me and show me around the hotel. HUWAT?! haha, I was meeting up with some friends so I kindly told the front desk that I didn't have the time (to which he offerred that he could show me around the hotel - but I told him that I was busy). How funny.

So from the outside and some of the other pictures that you may see, the hotel looks old and outdated. But it is exactly the opposite! It is warm and has so much character. I have prouldy taken many pictures and posted them with this review.

I had dinner at SJB (hotel restaurant) one night and I had a very yummy Chicken Ceasar salad. Rachelle, who served me, was so kind and even gave me some complimentary bread rolls while I waited.

My room had a massive King bed, 40 inch plasma TV and really nice furniture. The bathroom was a combine tub/shower, but due to the set up of the bathroom sink, the bathtub was in a semi-alcove which was comfortable and stopped the water from splashing everywhere. The bathtub/shower was kind of small though so I would raise this as a concern to larger people as it may be a tight squeeze under the shower.

I liked the character of the furniture in the room. It was asian inspired and very warm and elegant. They had lots of cushions and large fluffy pillows. Mirrors and beautiful ornate lamps. I would love to have a bedroom like this at home.

On the flipside, the desk along with the internet connection was against the wall. Now, I like to have the TV on whilst I'm on my computer but there was no way to do this. Some hotels have the desk at an angle and the TV on a swivel so that you can arrange yourself comfortably -my room did not do let me work comfortably.

My other bugbear is their breakfast. It honestly felt like they used the leftovers from last night's buffet for the breakfast buffet. In my travels, I come across buffet breakfasts all the time (yes the eggs and sausages), and I understand that some hotels have a theme for their breakfasts for example, the Sheraton in Perth WA had an asian section where you could make yourself a congee. These themes are a welcome change to the norm. BUT the Langham's buffet breakfast was just plain weird. They had lamb chops, Teriyaki Salmon, dim sims and miso soup as part of the package. What is that? I was so confused. Then the other dishes looked tired and dull. All I could do was toast a mini bagel. My breakfast experience was such a letdown in comparison to the nice dinner I had the night before at SJB. After this, I just ordered breakfast room service for the rest of my stay.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Langham and I would stay there again but would perhaps ask if they had other rooms that were more suited to business travellers (desk/internet/tv configuration) and I would just order breakfast room service. It's a pity because the restaurant is so pretty.

I actually enjoyed the breakfast room service as they presented it so well on a tray and I got to watch an episode of Orange County Chopper (why, I do not know) whilst I had my breakfast in bed.

  • Liked — Warm and elegant decor. Attention to detial
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kimonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2008

I chose the Langham Auckland for a weekend getaway with my husband due to several recommendations from friends and I was not let down. They went to such an effort to make our weekend special, my husband was so impressed with me. From the moment we arrived the dorrman was so friendly and made you feel sooo welcome.
From the lovely welcome to the room itself, the lovely club lounge ....wow, that was impressive to the beautiful meal we had in Partingtons and of course the buffet breakfast in SPF. This was our first weekend away for some time and I had forgotton what it was like to feel pampered. The concierge were so helpful and recommeded some fantastic shops for us, (some we would have never have found on our own).

The hotel itself is beautiful! We enjoyed our drinks before dinner in the winery- again felt so pampered with excellent service by the staff.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiesshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

After reading various Langham reviews in Auckland and Melbourne, I chose a different hotel in Melbourne, but booked an executive king for my 4-day stay in Auckland. The hotel décor was nice, and the room was reasonably comfortable, however, I usually judge hotels by the quality of the concierge service and this 5-star hotel was terrible. I received wrong information for every request – directions, tour information, tour prices, locations of jazz clubs, shopping information. I found myself verifying everything that I was told on the internet because I was repeatedly given bad information. Maybe we Americans expect too much, however, if you plan to stay at the Langham, bring your own maps, contact information for all excursions, make all of your own arrangements, and plan to do some walking as the Langham is not conveniently located to anything.

  • Disliked — concierge service, location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingThoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Wow! The Langham is amazing. We had a few hick ups but those hick ups were quickly forgotten as the customer service received here exceeded that of ANY other 5 star hotel we have stayed at.

I booked our stay at The Langham a couple of months prior to our arrival, but decided about 6 weeks before our arrival that I wanted to upgrade the room to a king club room. After a week of emails back and forth to the hotel and getting nowhere when I was trying to organise to pay for an upgrade I had decided already that the customer service at the hotel was lacking. On check in a staff member advised me that we had been given a "complimentary upgrade to a king club room", I couldn't help but turn to my partner and say "upgraded to the room I had pre-arranged?" At the end of our stay we were charged for the difference between the original room and the "complimentary upgraded room" but after the wonderful stay I was happy to pay for it as I had already been expected to and it was worth every cent.

From our arrival in Auckland to our departure, the only time we had to touch our bags was at the airport as the staff didn't allow us to carry our bags anywhere. That's the first time in ANY 5 star hotel this has happened for some reason.
The room was an average size but the bed was enormous and comfy, the bathroom big and well stocked with quality products.
Our flight had been delayed (damn Emirates :P) and we had been expecting an arrival at the hotel at 1.30, in time for afternoon tea, however we arrived at 16.30, after afternoon tea was ending so we were able to help ourselves to ice cream from the club lounge. We enjoyed the complimentary canapes, drinks and breakfast buffet in the morning. The staff were so attentive and we were so appreciative of the wonderful service.

Later in the evening we had many drinks in the bar downstairs and the staff were so friendly and happy to have a chat with us. They were so lovely and had a lot of time for us, you really don't see that often from hotel bar staff.

On checking out the concierge took care of our bags for the day and organised our trip back to the airport, offering many options.

This hotel would top our list of hotels. I really hope it's a case of all Langham hotels being as wondering is the Auckland one. We almost canceled our last 2 days in NZ in Taupo JUST so we could return to The Langham in Auckland but unfortunately would have been charged for the cancellation. I wish we had all the same as I know it would have been worth it

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawerau
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

Stayed in the Club room this time and it was excellent.

Service again was excellent and we will be back. everytime we leave this hotel we miss it until we return its got a nice feeling and the staff make you feel at home.

Food was great in the club lounge and its worth the extra upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ntegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights on a business trip. We stayed in an executive king room on the 6th floor. Not a large room but nicely decorated with silks and a marble bathroom. Shower over bath with good water presure. The air conditioning was a little noisy....
Good plasma tv screen and decent mini bar.
We ate room service on multiple nights and found it to be very tasty as well as nice and hot. Little extras like chocolates was nice. Room service was a little pricey. We also drank in the Winery room and found the selection good, althought quite expensive.
All in all, food and wine both in restauarants and room service was expensive but good. Partingtons Restaurant was very nice although little overrated for the price.
Location is not the greatest if you want to be near to the harbour, although good location if heading out to exhibitions centre out at Greenlane as it is close to freeway entrance.
All in all, a high quality but expensive choice.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 66 in Auckland
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing