We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Langham, Auckland
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Probably my favourite Auckland hotel. Great service, good food, nice rooms. Love the pool and Spa. The bar is cool the breakfast is awesome. Can't really fault it. I haven't got around to dining at Eight yet but from what I have heard it is fantastic too. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,536
    1,113
    386
    103
    63
See reviews for
475
2,069
250
957
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We loved everything here from the warm welcome in the beautiful reception area and the 4 porters meeting me at my car to help with luggage and valet. We loved our gorgeous room, the turn down service, the heated mirrors that don't fog; the gorgeous decor and lovely amenities. We so enjoyed our dinner at 8 and even more so our breakfast!
The gym facilities are great and the spa and pool rooms kept us going most of the next day! We had late checkout at no extra charge and could seriously not ask for a better stay!! Can't wait to come back!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelliemariee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Great stay, great breakfast and great service.

We were greeted at the entrance with a warm smile and help immediately. Check in was friendly, efficient and quick. The reception and bar are elegant and the style is continued throughout the hotel with lovely comfortable seating at various places.

Our room was very clean and comfortable if not a little tired compared to the rest of the hotel (old furniture in age and style) but quite adequate. There was an iPod docking station (alarm clock), mini bar and almost everything you would need for a stay (iron, hairdryer etc). The bathroom was small with an over the bath shower with a shower curtain but very well stocked and very clean. The bathroom ceiling was low, I could touch it without being on tip toe! It wasn't a problem for us though.

There was a turn down service each night, with chocolate mints and bottles of water provided, bedside lights lit - all that you would expect.

Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate so we paid extra and it was well worth the expense. It was one of the best breakfasts we've been offered within a hotel. So much to chose from, egg bar, waffle bar, fresh fruit galore, cereals, hot food, drinks, chocolate fountain, I could go on! We loved the breakfasts. Probably not worthy the money if you want something very light though.

All the staff were friendly, efficient and professional.

The only downside is the location but it wasn't a big problem for us, just a short (but steep return) walk to the bars, restaurants and shops.

If the rooms are refurbished this would be a nearly perfect hotel, we will be back.

The Number 5 restaurant opposite the rear entrance is a must!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

After our very warm welcome at reception we found our four day experience at The Langham was an extremely good one. Our Classic room was perfectly adequate and the bed would have to be the most comfortable we have ever slept in and we have travelled extensively internationally - great selection of pillows too. In line with many other hotels/motels of the same standard, we would like to have had a plunger coffee pot (or similar device) to make a real cup of coffee in our room, but it was not a major problem. Room service was very prompt and our meals were presented very well - the rose in the vase being a very nice touch. As guests in the Club Room one evening we were most impressed with the delicious, fresh and plentiful nibbles not to mention the choice of fine wines. Therefore we are looking forward to our our next stay at The Langham and it will definitely be on the 9th Floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romin-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

When you are a regular at a hotel chain, or particular hotel, it is always disappointing when that hotel changes the included services. It is always almost always the little things that build customer loyalty.
On arrival at the 1865 desk, (I am a Voyager member), on my most recent visit, I was informed that nightly turn down service (something I see as one of the differences between 4 and 5 star hotels), was now only included with club rooms and suites, the most expensive levels of accommodation. Was the room rate cheaper because of these changes?....No. Is the hotel now a mix of 4 and 5 star accommodation? ......not according to anything I have seen advertised.
I am not sure if these changes are across the Langham group, or just the Auckland Hotel, but as a regular guest I will consider my own loyalty to the brand when there are other very good 4 star hotels in Auckland, at cheaper rates.
When you change the services offered by a hotel you change the perceived value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlakl, General Manager at The Langham, Auckland, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we do value your loyalty as a frequent stayer and 1865 member, and we would like to explain the change in policy more fully. It came about as a result of our customer research, which showed a strong demand for free Wifi in preference to the turndown service. As the internet plays such a vital role for both our business and leisure travellers, the decision was made to introduce complimentary Wifi for all guest rooms, and to restrict the turndown service to our Club and Suite rooms. We genuinely hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Darren Thurlow, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2014

A very nice stay at The Langham. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. I understand that it is a very classy / classic styled hotel but I think i'm more of a bright and modern styled room person. Very nice gym and the breakfast was certainly memorable! We've had the Langham breakfast in Melbourne before so we knew what we were in for but it was absolutely amazing, breakfast buffet, make sure you do it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

It was a very good stay, very comfortable and very nice. The bed is really the softest and most comfortable I've slept on or comparable to the very top hotels around the world. Service was quite good. Several times I've asked for toiletries though and they would just forget to bring it up to the room, but apart from that it was a good stay. Their restaurant seems to be very popular it was fully packed all mornings and evenings, but food there is absolutely delicious, so that explains it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNotes15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.8 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,274 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 67 in Auckland
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Auckland

Property: The Langham, Auckland
Address: 83 Symonds Street | Auckland, Auckland 1061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#4 Green Hotel in Auckland
#4 Family Hotel in Auckland
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Business Hotel in Auckland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5-star luxury Auckland hotel in Auckland's CBD offers: 409 rooms and suites* Dining at Eight restaurant and Palm Court* 24hr business centre* Free Wifi* Spacious meeting & banqueting facilities* Central CBD location* Luxury sedans available for airport transfers & sightseeing* Complimentary inner city shuttle service to waterfront* 24hr room service* Chuan Spa luxury Day Spa* 24hr fitness centre* Heated outdoor pool plus sauna and Jacuzzi* Walking to distance to Auckland city attractions including museum, art gallery, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham Hotel Auckland
The Langham, Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing